We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level Contributor
314 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We attended a function at this hotel and decided to stay the night. Check-in was easy and quick. Room was bright, clean and had everything we needed. Food at event was very good. Would recommend and stay again. Valet parking is available, we used street parking since it was easy on off season. Close to many stores and places to eat downtime. Only several blocks to beach-easy walking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvandenbraak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thanks for taking a moment to share your wonderful experience with others! It's gratifying to hear you enjoyed everything from the food to the rooms, as we put so much care into all aspects of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    65
    30
    15
    15
See reviews for
77
118
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My wife treated me to an excellent birthday dinner at the Reeds in Stone Harbor, NJ. This was our first visit. It was cold outside but very pleasant inside. Theresa our waitress offered seats by the fireplace and it was a welcome suggestion. The French Onion soup was very good and the crab cake my wife had was one of the best she has had. My 8oz filet was perfectly prepared. Prices were within reason for the excellent meal, Don't skip the delicious in house made deserts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
I'm happy we could make your birthday dinner that much more special, Bob. Thank you for sharing this with others! We always appreciate compliments about our food and service, so I'll make a point of passing along to the team; Theresa, included. Until next time, take care.

Best wishes,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
567 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here over New Year's and what a pleasant surprise. Apparently they've only been open 6 months. The suite was absolutely beautiful. Lovely view of the bay, very tastefully decorated--one of the nicest places we've stayed. It wasn't cheap for a room over New Year's ($300+) but we were very pleased with the accommodations. The staff was exceptionally friendly. (We did not eat here.) The bed was very comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annehassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you so much for the five-star review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over New Year's—can't wait to pass along your compliments to the rest of the team. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We selected to stay at the The Reeds due to limited off-season availabilty and a reception we were attend was held there. However, once there it was the right decision. The staff was really nice and attentive. The bartender Susan not only poured great drinks but was super friendly and was a great conversation. Conner at the front desk remembered our names the enitre weekend and would give a great saluation everytime we saw him, even talking about the area like a tour guide. The valets were even really nice although it was cold and raining when we first arrived.

Our rooms was warm and inviting (even in the dead of winter). Great looks and feel. Didn't need the a balcony to enjoy the view and feel like we were at the beach. the only down side is that the hotel does have alot of reception/wedding/celebration areas and the second night we were there there was a party in one of the banquet rooms that we could hear really well in our room. Thankfully it was over at 10pm. My advice is sit at the bar, enjoy some drinks and people watch until things quiet down. Hopefully, the hotel will set a no-noise time of around 10pm so all can enjoy the hotel.

We had lunch at the reception and the food, halibut and filet, were amazing and if indicative of the food at the resturant, you will want to eat at the Sax or outside resturant (can't recall the name) when it is open during the season. Speaking of the deck...that area is one of the highlights of this spot (similar to the lawn at Congress Hall). I could see it packed with people at sunset in the summer.

It is off season and I don't think the occuapancy was very high during our stay but the service was excellent. It is a small hotel and after the new hotel growing pains this should be on par with the likes of Congress Hall in Cape May for service and quality in a small location. My only hope is that if the managment wants to keep hotel customers a priority and the hotle not just become an banquet location, they need to figure out a way to place some priority on the hotel customers. Maybe a VIP area at the outdoor bar and resturant, or a couple of free drinks or late night snacks at the bars to keep overnighters from their rooms until the partiers calm down would keep everyone happy.

Room Tip: The Bay view rooms have suberb views even if you get one without a balcony. It might be a little lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
From all of us here at The Reeds, thank you for sharing your five-star experience with us William L! What you describes is exactly what we strive for here at The Reeds daily, and it's gratifying to know that we delivered. We also appreciate your recommendations and observations - they can only assist us in continually improving. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hotel is beautiful and a welcome and needed addition to Stone Harbor. From opening week when they ran out of wine to spotty service in food venues they seem disorganized and mismanaged. Two weeks until Christmas and they have no menu for dinner yet. Undecided what they're going to do. That means I have to decide to go elsewhere. I need to make my plans for the day and can't wait on them. Sorry, I was looking forward to quiet dinner with my wife but really unheard of that a restaurant doesn't have plan in place 2 weeks prior to major holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieY20, Manager at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We actually just completed our pre fixe menu for Christmas and are now accepting reservations. We would love to accommodate you and your wife so please contact as soon as possible to reserve your date and time, as we are receiving many requests. If we don’t get to see you, we wish you a very happy and healthy holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Amboy, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a top-notch venue for weddings. The staff bends over backwards to assist in every aspect. I highly recommend. The amenities are excellent. Location couldn't get any better. Close to everything in Stone Harbor. Walk to the beach or meals. Great views of the bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieY20, Manager at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Michael, We're thrilled that you enjoyed everything from our ambiance to our service while at The Reeds. We really appreciate your recommendations and hopefully we will see you back in again soon.

Best,
Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our daughter's wedding was held at The Reeds this past Saturday. The only word to describe it was "Perfection!" We booked the wedding with Julie, the sales manager last January, when there was only a foundation. Needless to say, we were a little nervous. However, Julie's presentation was wonderful and we felt confident it was going to be a fantastic holel. Our event planner, Leslie took over and was outstanding. We had numerous meetings and phone calls and she took care of every single detail. Every guest raved about The Reeds, from the hotel to the appetizers, dinner, cake and brunch the next morning. Many guests said that the entire weekend at The Reeds was "Magical." Best of all, my daughter, Megan and her husband, Drew, had the "Best night of their lives." Thank you Julie, Leslie and the entire staff of The Reeds!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieY20, Manager at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Barbara, thanks for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that your daughter's wedding was exactly what you dreamed it would be. We love to hear the word "magical" because we really do strive to create an unforgettable experience. Thanks again for your recommendations and we hope to see you and the family back again soon.

Best,
Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Harbor
1.0 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
8.2 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
424 reviews
11.5 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
178 reviews
12.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reeds at Shelter Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reeds at Shelter Haven

Property: The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Address: 9601 3rd Ave, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247-1930
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Stone Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reeds at Shelter Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reeds at Shelter Haven is a signature 37-room hotel resort intimately connected to its natural surroundings – with a blend of sweeping waterfront views and refined interior aesthetics, complemented by clean, contemporary décor splashed with coastal style. The property is designed for individuals seeking a new and distinctive experience along the southern New Jersey coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reeds at Shelter Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing