We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Strathmere Motel

Strathmere Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Strathmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathmere Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathmere
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The Strathmere Motel feels like a 50's roadside motel. It's definitely no frills, and you shouldn't expect anything else. Bring your own pillow, for sure. And expect road noise, if the windows are open.

The motel is a short block to the beach, which is massive and doesn't require a beach badge. They have a hammock and other chairs/tables in the "back yard", and the rooms on the 2nd floor have a patio with tables/chairs as well.

Good breakfast place a few blocks away.

Owner was there most of the weekend, checking people in and repairing some stuff.

Our room had a really nice tribute to a fallen Marine from Afghanistan. Assume the other rooms did as well. Marine and Irish flags are flying proudly on the site of the motel.

If you have the right expectations, you should enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CM247, Owner at Strathmere Motel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dan, thank you for your review!

We sincerely hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return to enjoy Strathmere with us again. If you have any other comments or concerns please email us at manager@strathmeremotel.com .

Thank you again and have a great summer!

Be well,
Strathmere Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed for two nights in July, family of four. Room was tight but clean. Price was cheaper than anything in OC or SI. Just needed a place to shower & sleep. Close to beach. AC unit old & bit noisy. Not for anyone looking for high end accommodations. Parents & kids too wiped to care anyway. Your at the beach. Not there to hang out in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lew42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Strathmere Motel last summer. We had a great weekend and were able to walk to the beach and restaurants in this quiet, safe town. The manager was friendly and the motel was clean. The motel is not upscale but there have been recent renovations and updates. Great location, great price, great service! Will be stayin there again, this year.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Turquoisesea44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

For the price and location (beach block) we got a clean room with a great location. This is not a high end hotel, however they don't advertise as such or charge crazy rates. The manager was nice and offered assistance. I would recommend this motel to friends who want a clean, safe and cheap place to stay at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Modoc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Anchor, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My husband and booked this motel so we could be with our family. We expected just the basics but were extremly diappointed when our bed was not changed or made up, no clean toewls and there was very little to no hot water for showers. When we returned from our beach day we had to find our own towels and due to a very bad rain storm the tiolet did not flush, so another trip to the utility clost to find the plunger was needed.
We love Strathmere, but I do not think we will stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BlueLiz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strathmere hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathmere
10.3 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
122 reviews
6.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
334 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
121 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
415 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hyland Motor Inn
Hyland Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Cape May Court House
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmere Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmere Motel

Property: Strathmere Motel
Address: 513 Commonwealth Ave, Strathmere, NJ 08248
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Strathmere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathmere
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing