We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeBary Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
DeBary Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Summit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a quick over night at this very lovely inn 8/8/14. The inn is beautifully appointed and quite comfortable. We like the use of minisplits for AC, as they are quiet and provide an even temperature. We stayed in room 7 and it was very nicely decorated and we slept well. The bathroom had just a shower which was perfect for us, and the stream was great. The orange scented bath products were very nice and refreshing. Breakfast was simple, Greek yogurt, fruit [dried and fresh], nuts, and coffee cake. We saw a toaster, and butter and jam were out, but no bread, but that was fine. Also we learned there would be a hot option, but we had finished our breakfast, so we did not wait. Fruit and Greek yogurt are always a wonderful option for us anyway. There was plenty of orange juice as well, and the coffee is wonderful, they use a good, local roaster. Something we found interesting [because we are tuned in to the needs of elderly parents] was the comfort of stair climbing. Some old homes have steep stairs. The stairwell is designed with short risers, maybe 6". Each step is deep. What this means is ascending and descending the stairs should be easier for some that find stair climbing more challenging. Overall this is a lovely place to stay, and we will return again when visiting our local friends! We are also very grateful that the inn allowed us to book for a single night, as many B+Bs require a 2 night minimum.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    47
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
45
60
31
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying here several times with my husband. Its a wonderful Inn. Charming, quiet and perfectly situated near the train. The rooms are all nicely appointed and very comfortable. The common areas are lovely from the library/parlor with cozy fireplaces to the round sun filled breakfast room. You feel like you've been welcomed into someone's stately private residence with a note on the table that says 'make yourself at home'. Highly recommend the DeBary and look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a must stay place. Charming old Victorian House with great history and walking distance to great restaurants and shops in the quint little town of Summit. The train depot is a five minute walk. You are mere miles from New York City but a world away. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and very accommodating. Great indoor / outdoor spaces. The other guests I met at the Inn are very friendly and feel lucky to be at the old house. I will be back and the two people I recommended it to, loved it as well. Don't miss this gem!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

It all started before we even arrived at the Inn. Not enough parking.
When we entered at 3:00pm there was no one there, just a note indicating our room. However this was not the room we had confirmed.
When Kate came to the front desk we explained that our changed room was unsatisfactory. She said that our original room had air conditioning issues and there were no other rooms, although the room list at the front desk clearly indicated that someone else was in the room we booked.
The issues with room #3 which we were changed to are numerous beginning with the fact that we requested a room not on the first floor. The room we booked was on the third floor, room #3 is on the first floor. However, that is not the most egregious issue. The web site indicates that all rooms have private bathrooms, not our changed room where the bath is across a fire exit corridor, clearly not private. It was explained that we could lock the door to the corridor. We did this although it seems to create a hazard if an emergency required this fire exit to be used. We now had a semblance of privacy, but now we had to go outside through a side door to re enter the hotel. I know this seems complicated and requires separate keys for the room, the bath and the outside door ( try to figure this out in the dark )
It is so complicated that our bath was not cleaned because the staff couldn't find the key even though there was a duplicate at the front desk. After a full day in NYC we were unable to shower due to no clean towels and no one on call. Additionally the air conditioner is operated by a remote control that is kept at the front desk. It controls the temp for all the rooms in the Inn. Therefore, you have to return it immediately, hopefully you do not get hot or cold at 2am.

Breakfast is another issue. We were not expecting a gourmet breakfast but for three days we had the same refrigerated bread from a bag. In fact on our third morning it was served in the bag straight from the refrigerator .The bananas were also over ripe, brown spots. How about some fresh bagels,croissants, danish, etc? The Inn is located in walking distance to a lovely upscale town. There must be a bakery there. Most B&Bs support local merchants.

Leaving on a positive note the Debary Inn is a lovely old Victorian home with fabulous restaurants in walking distance and easy access to transportation. We also did receive an adjustment to our bill but it did not in any way compensate for the discomfort we experienced.

Room Tip: Do not choose room #3 if you expect privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oak9119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Rooms are comfortable,clean and quiet. Wonderful and varied choices for a continental breakfast to start the day. Nice indoor and outdoor areas to lounge and relax. I'll stay there next time I'm in the area, and I'd recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was a most unique experience for my wife and I. The history of this bed and breakfast was fascinating in itself and so was the City of Summit as well as the train depot. The neighborhood was so beautiful, clean and peaceful and just a few blocks from the train depot, fine dining and a City that rolls up the streets by 9:00 P.M. Katy, the Innkeeper was second to none. She was the most hospitable and accommodating person you will ever meet. She lives a few houses away and was there early in the morning with a great cold breakfast, fresh fruit, cereals, hard boiled eggs, pastries, coffee, tea, etc. and a fresh "Good Morning" to everyone. The entrance and reception area is spacious with a warm feeling of home with a formal area off to the right with a grand piano for those inclined. There is a second sitting area with a large flat screen T.V. to bring you the wake up news and the dining/breakfast area is quiet, private and beautiful views of the outside trees and landscape. There is a porch wrapping around almost half of the house if you like the outdoors. The room (14 or 8)were spacious, quiet and comfortably controlled with an air conditioning system from a remote at the reception area. The bath/shower area was very comfortable and everything about the room(s) were warm and cozy. The whole facility was clean, maid service was great and the stay was much nicer than I imagined. It wasn't like the Marriott Marques in Times Square that we had just spent a week in but it was different in a positive way. Not in the Big City with the clickety-clank of hustle and bustle but more sedate and peaceful. It was a great little town very convenient to the City by rail in 40 min or by limo in about 30-35 min. We hope to have the opportunity to return again for meetings at Celgene.

Room Tip: Take the Innkeepers advice as it will depend upon the number of people as well as availability. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hifliangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location within walking distance to restaurants and local shops. In my case I could have walked to my business location.

Staff were friendly, and I managed to use the free wfi for work when I arrived in the early afternoon - excellent.

The continental breakfast was good. The room was small but comfortable and overall excellent value for money, especially compared with local hotels.

Overall an excellent stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
0.8 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
6.3 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeBary Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeBary Inn

Property: DeBary Inn
Address: 265 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-3607
Region: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Summit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeBary Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in a quiet residential street in Summit's historic North End. The DeBary Inn is newly remodeled and redecorated, and we have taken great care to make sure that you are comfortable and feel at home. Located at 265 Springfield Avenue, in an amazing neighborhood that is renowned for its magnificent Victorian homes, the DeBary is just one block from chic restaurants and charming boutique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your DeBary Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debary Hotel Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing