We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Summit Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westminster Hotel(Livingston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Garden Plaza Hotel(West Orange)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
216
106
94
70
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
106
94
70
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshat taverncocktail hourhighly recommend the grandcharming hotelpresidential suitenew jerseywedding venuehigh school reunionflat screen tvbreakfast buffet isthe entire staffbusiness tripbed was comfortableinto nycshort hills mallshuttle serviceteresa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Overall, nice hotel. Staff is very helpful. Damien and Koen were extremely helpful at the front desk; they helped me find a room that fit my preferences and help me schedule a shuttle pick-up from the airport. The breakfast that is included for hotel guests is very good as well, I look forward to coming back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steve412014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a great review of your stay with us. We work very hard to provide a comfortable experience for all of our guests, and when it is recognized it means a lot to us.

I also want to thank you for recognizing Koen and Damien who have been excellent additions to our team.

We look forward to hosting you again when your travels take you back to the Summit area.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have stayed at the Grand Summit hotel in several occasions and all I have to say about them is that it is a great place to be. A place that one can call "Home Away from Home". The staff is super nice and professional. We visited the restaurant and the staff there made us feel at home and took good care of me, my son and my daughter. It was a great experience.

Frantz Anacius

Room Tip: Corner suites are best!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanacius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Franacius,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such a great review of your stay with us. We work extremely hard to provide a home for all of our guests, and to hear it described that way meant a lot to us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel when your travel takes you back to the Summit area.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent New Years Eve at the Grand Summit Hotel, as we have been for the past 8 years. Our group consists of 4 couples. We had a great time at the Hat Tavern. Dinner and drinks were perfect and the entertainment superb. After the ball came down at midnight we retired to our beautiful rooms. In the morning we all enjoyed an excellent complimentary breakfast. I would highly recommend the Grand Summit Hotel to anyone looking for a great time, great service and a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear David,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a great review of your stay and time with us. We work very hard to provide the kind of experience you described here, and we were very pleased to learn that you had a great time at our New Year's Eve celebration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel takes you to our area again.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Was there for New Year's Eve and stayed in Hotel. Once we pulled up no valet parking and no bell boy in sight. The lobby was dated and carpet filthy the Elevators also dirty. This can be a grand hotel but thru need to clean it up. The rooms were ok but very cold you Gould feel the wind coming from window. The chairs were stained and the bed spread also dirty. Called front desk they moved us. The Tavern they have also gloomy and dirty floors. Not for me anymore.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Joe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us. We were very disappointed to hear of your experience at our property.

While the lobby is historic, it is often one of the most celebrated parts of the property that is highly regarded by our guests. The carpet in the lobby was recently replaced, so I am disappointed to hear that you found it to be unsatisfactory.

We offer rooms that are completely renovated in addition to our more classic rooms, so I was pleased to hear that we were able to move your room when you found the first one to be below your expectations. While the age of the building does make it more drafty than a newer building, most of our heating units are new so I was disappointed to hear of your room being cold.

We welcome the chance to host you again and to the opportunity to demonstrate the comfort and service our customers have come to love and expect.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Grand Summit Hotel is situated in the heart of the beautiful Summit, NJ. It is definitely a sophisticated hotel that has all the needs for families, friends or couples. It is old world charm meets modern accommodations. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. The rooms were big enough for our family of four and updated with Bose stereos and TV. The staff was the best part of the hotel from the time you check in to the time you check out the staff is always friendly and willing to meet your needs. The complimentary breakfast is awesome. It is a fresh and wonderful assortment of hot and cold selections. The well decorated lobby has a heartwarming fireplace by which to enjoy a free cup of Starbucks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear George,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your family, and we were very excited to hear that you loved the hotel.

We look forward to the chance to host you again when your travel takes you back to New Jersey.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews