We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Venue for 1st Communion Brunch”
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Mountainside, New Jersey
1 review
“Fabulous Venue for 1st Communion Brunch”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I recently held my son's 1st Communion brunch at The Grand Summit Hotel. The food was absolutely delicious and the staff very attentive to our every need. Even my hard to please guests could find no fault! I highly recommend this hotel and to contact Teresa Garcia to coordinate the event. Teresa is top notch and handles all details and special requests with ease. The brunch exceeded my expectations and I would definitely look at The Grand Summit Hotel first for future events.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyBennett2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Cindy,

We are very excited to hear of your wonderful feedback from the First Communion Brunch you hosted with us recently for your son. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your family and friends, and we are delighted to hear that we impressed even your most discerning guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting future events for your friends and family at The Grand Summit Hotel.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    98
    85
    64
    25
See reviews for
147
61
31
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have recently held my wedding at the Grand Summit hotel as well as stayed there. The experience by all measures, far exceeded my expectations. Theresa from the catering department was exceptional as was the entire front of the house staff. I would strongly recommend this hotel for large/small events as well as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Michael,

It was an absolute pleasure hosting your friends and family for your wedding day. It is experiences like this that make what we do so special. We consider ourselves fortunate to have the opportunity to host families like yours on what is one of the most important days of your life.

We thank you so much for the wonderful praise of the experience you had, and look forward to having you back at the hotel as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

When my sister was rushed to a nearby hospital and in critical condition, the staff at Grand Summit Hotel was indispensable to us. Being from Texas, we were far from home, unprepared, exhausted & disoriented. They were very accommodating, kind and supportive. Every staff member made us feel at home. The hotel was truly a safe haven in the storm in many ways and I was so grateful to come back to the hotel at all hours of the day and night feeling safe and comforted in the beautiful clean surroundings. The complimentary breakfast buffet was delicious, and Jillian who was there most mornings, made us feel welcome and sincerely cared for every day. The Hat Tavern was also a great place to get a bite to eat at night. Always warm & excellent food and service. Thankfully my sister got better and was able to go home, and we did as well not long after. Thanks to all who made us so welcome for 3 weeks, we are so grateful for your hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper5360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear HappyCamper,

We cannot thank you enough for the wonderful review you provided us from your stay with us.

We work very hard to provide the type of experience you describe, and when it is recognized it means a lot to us. Unlike the big chain hotels, we really strive to connect with our guests and create a home for them when away from family and friends, and I am grateful to hear that you really appreciated that.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again when you return to the wonderful town of Summit, NJ.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We love this hotel and the staff makes you feel at home. We got married here and have returned a few times over the years. They include a generous Buffett breakfast which you don't often see now in hotels. I highly recommend it and if you need an outstanding venue for a special event or wedding this place was perfect. Teresa was our wedding planner/events director and we adore her!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDMOM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear MDMOM24,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review of your experience at our hotel. It is serving customers like you that makes our job so rewarding, and when it is recognized like this it means the world to us.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again, and thank you so much for the tremendous appreciation you have expressed about your experience at The Grand Summit Hotel.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,021 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,071 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here almost 40 years ago, and surprisingly, very little has changed - the lobby, the rooms, etc, making it looks really outdated. The carpeting looks dirty, but in fact I think it's clean, just old. The gym is extremely basic but everything works; they give free passes to the nearby YMCA, which (not surprisingly) had undergone major changes compared to the last time I was there! Service is very friendly, otherwise this would be more like a 3*motel with a 4* facade. Great location, at walking distance to many restaurants and to the Summit train station.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Lam,

Thank you so much for taking time to provide us with a review of your return to The Grand Summit Hotel. We were very disappointed to hear that while you provided us with some wonderful comments, you did not find our room product to meet your expectations.

I wanted to inform you that we have just completed the renovation of a large section of our rooms in the hotel. Many of these rooms have hardwood floors, tumbled stone showers, and some even have a small kitchen area. While many of our guests prefer the classic rooms, these rooms have become the choice of many of our travelers who prefer a more modern decor.

I hope that you will call me personally when your travel takes you to our area again so that we may offer you a number of room options including the room I have just described.

Thank you for your feedback and more importantly your business. We appreciate it very much.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Many things aren't functional: bathroom light behind the door, no outlet for the coffee maker, tv too distant from bed or sofa, loud heater. Elevators are disgusting. Breakfast is not recommended except for the nice Sbux coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aagainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear aagainseville,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay with us. We were disappointed to hear about your experience, and would have very much liked the opportunity to introduce you to one of our brand new rooms where I believe you would have been more comfortable.

While our traditional rooms are usually very well received, many of our guests prefer the new rooms with hardwood floors and tumbled stone showers. If you will give us a chance to show you what we have to offer when you travel to our area again, it would be our pleasure to show you these fantastic rooms. I am sure you will be pleased.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Built in 1868, the hotel certainly does not show its age. In fact, the old-style construction gives the place a timeless quality that sits well amid a quiet neighborhood. A short walk --- or an even shorter ride in the hotel shuttle --- lands the visitor at the nearby train station, placing New York and environs within easy reach. The hotel restaurant is unpretentious, but the food is moderately priced and tasty. While a bit outside the usual ring of New York hotels, the Grand Summit is a great alternative for those with a relaxed schedule, or those who don't need to be in the heart of Manhattan in order to enjoy the greatest city on Earth.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Jeff,

Thank you so much for writing such a beautiful review of your stay with us. We work very hard to provide the kind of experience you detailed for all of our guests, and when it is recognized it means a lot to us.

We look forward to the chance to host you again when you return to the great town of Summit.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
1.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
5.8 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Property: Grand Summit Hotel
Address: 570 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Region: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing