We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Oakdale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 8 February 2007

When we first arrived at the hotel, I felt a bit reluctant because the place is older (my husband made the reservations), but my opinion changed very quickly! The place is nicely appointed, very clean, the service excellent, and the food top notch. As New Yorkers, we tend to view our accommodations with a critical eye; however, everything was great. The folks there deserve to be commended! When we travel to that area in the future, The Grand Summit will be our first and only choice!

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taymarjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    98
    85
    65
    25
See reviews for
149
61
31
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2006

The Manager went beyond expectations by making restaurant reservations for us at the last minute. Because the hotel van was delayed, he even took us there himself! This was in spite of three wedding receptions and a class reunion at the hotel the same weekend. Great service.

  • Liked — Old fashioned rooms decor in historic hotel.
  • Disliked — Creaky and slow elevator. Restaurant mediocre.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigBluMarble
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

Just had an extended stay at the Grand Summit...and had a wonderful experience. Its an old classic warm hotel -- a perfect alternative to the sterile big chains. The Grand Summit is old -- but the charm is definitely there. In someways...its a walk back in time.

We were especially charmed by the staff members, who were always accomodating and cheerful. (and in one case went WAY out of the way for a sick guest!)

If you're looking for an old "grand" style hotel -- for a reasonable price -- the Grand Summit is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBluMarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2006

I had my wedding reception at the Grand Summit Hotel in October 2005. Teresa, our catering manager, was great. She was very helpful with every detail of our big day. The room we were given was an executive suite. The room was extremely clean, very big with a huge bathroom. This hotel is a perfect location for a wedding reception or even just for a business trip. Everyone is very friendly and helpful with anything you may need I would highly recommend!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank kb1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2006

Unfriendly, inflexible people operating a dated property. What more could you want? I will never book/stay here again. I'll sleep in the park first.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Manager, staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Schmengy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

My sister and I stayed at the hotel for the first time at the end of December and loved it. It had a lot of charm yet had modern, updated rooms and amenities. The staff was wonderful. The front desk clerk was chipper at any hour of the day or night and was willing to do anything she could to help us (including calling around local sushi places to see if anyone could accommodate our 10pm weeknight craving). Room service food was good and came piping hot (we ordered some snacky-type food to tide us over), and not outrageously expensive. One night we brought in a bottle of wine and called housekeeping for an opener; a gentleman showed up in two minutes with 2 wine glasses and a corkscrew, and opened the bottle for us. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet which included many healthful (and filling) selections. We didn't use the gym (shame on us), but it had the latest equipment for a quick workout. The location of the hotel is perfect for a short walk to the center of Summit, which is a beautiful town with some GREAT shopping and restaurants to suit any taste. The airport was just 25 short minutes away, and was very easy to get to. I would definitely stay there during my next visit to the area.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FloridaJoyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2006

I stayed at the Grand Summit for one night. It's not grand.

Rooms are very small and seem a bit dated. If you're a business traveler, there's no room to work. If you're a pleasure traveler, there's no room to move. Let's put it this way -- it's a place to sleep and nothing more.

The Happy Hour in the lobby is nice. The food in the restaurant is good, but not cheap. Restaurant sevice was very good. No morning paper. I didn't try room service because there was no place in the room to eat.

It's okay for a night; I wouldn't want to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MisstheDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
1.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,022 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
496 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#1 of 1 in Springfield
47 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
788 reviews
5.8 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Property: Grand Summit Hotel
Address: 570 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Region: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing