We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel, Neat Town”
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Dallas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Classy Hotel, Neat Town”
Reviewed 1 September 2007

This was my 10th year to stay at the Grand Summit for an annual business trip. It is convenient to the Newark airport and a good place to stay on route West. The hotel's primary strength is its service. We had booked four rooms, but one traveler was sick on the day of the trip and we needed to cancel a room after the 24 hour cancellation deadline. Although the hotel's telephone reservation clerk offered no mercy or even hope of mercy when I called to cancel, the manager upon our arrival graciously waived the cancellation fee without question. Thanks to their staff for being understanding.
Their happy hour is unbelievable. It could easily have been our evening meal, with good wine, beer, and drinks all offered free. When you also add the free hot breakfast, with a full buffet, the value gets even better.
As others have noted, the town itself is wonderful and quaint, with all the downtown stores within walking distance.
What a wonderful place to visit!

  • Liked — Service, and high quality flat screen TV and Bose stereo in rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rjmartintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    98
    85
    65
    25
See reviews for
149
61
32
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2007

Although the hotel website shows nice modern rooms, not all rooms have been updated. Our room was poolside so we had to walk outside the hotel to get to our room and it seems that the entire wing on that end featured old rooms:
- old/stained carpets
- cigarette smell
- old bathroom fixtures
- Entire room looked dated/old
As we were there for a wedding, we arrived too late on the first night (night of the rehearsal dinner) to complain and had to wake up early to prepare for the wedding the next day, it was just a very busy weekend for us and we would have liked to have been warned ahead of time by reception that our room was not in the main part of the hotel and not renovated.
We sent a letter to the hotel to complain and have not received a response so far.

  • Liked — nothing special
  • Disliked — they were old
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirkdigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2007

We would like to thank Jimmy Thornton and the fantastic hotel and banquet staff for making our daughter's wedding day a memorable event. From the beginning to end, from booking the date a year and a half ago, to checking out the next morning after the wedding, everything was exceptionally smooth, gracious and delicious! Our guests have been calling all week to tell us what a fantastic time they had, and how impressed they were with the scrumptious and beautiful cocktail hour, dinner, hotel rooms, etc etc etc!
Many thanks again.
Cindy and Bart Mondino, Maplewood, NJ

  • Liked — large room, very comfortable bed, everything very clean
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2007

Last weekend, we celebrated our daughter's wedding at this magnificient hotel.
From the day we signed our contract (March 2006) until the day of the wedding, Jimmy Thornton, Director of Catering, was continuously available via phone & email to answer and assist with all of our questions & concerns. This gentleman is an "expert". His answer is never "no". He can accomplish anything.
The delicious food at the cocktail hour could easily have fed double the amount of guests we invited. The food, service and set-up were more than we could have ever imagined.
When the doors opened to the Grand Ballroom, the decor was breath-taking unmatched only by the chateaubriand w/lobster tail dinner.
Walter Curtis, Restaurant Manager, was excellent at setting up our Hospitality Suite.
Christina Rodriguez and Michelle Gordon were forever patient and helpful with our room blocks and Presidential Suite.
We had 32 rooms booked and every guest was pleased with their room/suite.
The groom's parents hosted a wonderful, delicious brunch the following morning/afternoon at the hotel.
COMMENTS from our guests the past 3 days: "The wedding of the century", "The most elegant wedding we have ever attended", "The best food ever at a wedding", "What a cocktail hour"!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chavabanksarriamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warren, nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Our only daughter was married at The Grand Summit Hotel last week. It was truely a magnificent wedding. Everything was perfect just as we knew it would be. The cocktail hour was spectacular and dinner was just as good. The staff could not do enough for us to make the evening memorable. We had many guests stay at the hotel and everyone was very pleased with their beautiful,newly decorated rooms. The complimentary breakfast the next morning was an added bonus. Thank -you to the entire staff at The Grand Summit Hotel and especially to Jimmy for helping to make my daughter's wedding absolutely wonderful. It was a wedding everyone will be talking about for a long time. I can't believe it's over!

  • Liked — Clean, beautiful
  • Disliked — nothing-everything was perfect
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank momme425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2007

This is a 2 star hotel for a 4 star price. The rooms are badly in need of renovation, especially the bathrooms. The staff is in need of training. It feels like they are "playing" hotel. I was not impressed with the overall cleanliness of the hotel, including the room. This place is living off a reputation established long ago but no longer is deserved. Sometimes there is a fine line between historic and just plain old. The attention to detail and ambiance necessary to pull off historic is lacking and the summit is turning into a dirty old hotel

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ilikehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2007

When we first arrived at the hotel, I felt a bit reluctant because the place is older (my husband made the reservations), but my opinion changed very quickly! The place is nicely appointed, very clean, the service excellent, and the food top notch. As New Yorkers, we tend to view our accommodations with a critical eye; however, everything was great. The folks there deserve to be commended! When we travel to that area in the future, The Grand Summit will be our first and only choice!

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taymarjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
1.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,022 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
499 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#1 of 1 in Springfield
47 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
788 reviews
5.8 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Property: Grand Summit Hotel
Address: 570 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Region: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing