We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyview Motel(Fort Lee)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cliff(New York City)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
95
95
56
27
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
95
56
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanquet managerplanning processhigh school reunionbar mitzvahnew jerseyhousekeeping staffquaint townguest roomscocktail hourking bedfamily weddingvery nice hotelthe entire staffrooms are largeinto nycbagelsshuttle service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

At first glance, this hotel seems very nice. Unfortunately, other than the pleasant & completely helpless staff, there is nothing good about it at all.
THE AIR CONDITIONING DOES NOT WORK. They gave us a box fan. According to the surly PM maintenance chief, he has lots of fans to give out. We met people from another floor having the same AC issues.
The room was not clean.
There was dust in the drawers, on the pictures, on the headboard, on the TV.
The hotel is seriously understaffed.
The bed was lumpy & the pillows were uncomfortably soft.
The wifi did not work on my iPad & none of the staff was able to help.
The automatic toilet is set incorrectly & flushes when you raise the lid, wasting 7+ gal. of water every time.
The tub is missing its drain apparatus, although there is a rubber plug.
The shower head is clogged.
The elevator by our room was unreliable, according to one of the housekeepers, it breaks down all the time. We had to climb stairs to get a different one.
The safety/night lock on our door was installed upside down, so it didn't work.
The breakfast buffet was a rip-off. At $12.95 per person, I expect something better than overdone, lukewarm scrambled eggs, scorched French toast & stale croissants.
The restaurant staff were both inattentive & rude.
We HATED this hotel & want our money back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Anywhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEGartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for writing and for taking the time to speak with me regarding your concerns. We take these comments very seriously and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. Should your travels take you to our area again, we do hope that you will stay with us so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the type of service that one has come to expect and deserve from the Clinton Inn Hotel and Event Center.

Sincerely,
Donna Italia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

At first glance, the Clifton Inn Hotel looks like a nice hotel. The public areas and ballrooms look very elegant and the rooms are spacious with very nice decor. The front desk person at check in was pleasant but harried. The housekeeping woman who brought the rollaway bed was very nice and helpful. That is where the good points end. On closer inspection of the room, the tops of the mirrors, headboard, lampshades, TV and photos we dusty and the drawers had not been wiped out either. The hallway carpets are somewhat clean, but could use a good steam cleaning. There is supposed to be free internet, but it was wonky and did not always work. The brand new toilets have a serious problem: when you lift the lid, the toilet flushes automatically even before using it, meaning, instead of using 5 – 7 gallons per flush, you are using 10 – 14 gallons. The a/c in the room did not work properly (it was blowing out warm air) and we called the night maintenance person who did some adjusting. A few hours later when we returned to the room, the a/c was still not working properly. We asked the night maintenance person to come back and look at it. He offered to give us a box fan to help cool the room (I have never been in a hotel with a/c that required a box fan to help cool the room) When we asked him to check the room temperature with a temperature gun, he rolled his eyes but returned with the device. The room was 75 degrees. When we simply asked for his professional opinion, he not only did not answer, but became defensive and rude. My wife went down to the front desk to speak to the night manager and the maintenance man appeared there. He again became offensive and rude. Apparently, after speaking to other guests and hotel personnel, we found out the entire hotel has serious a/c problems. The pillows were cheap, much too soft and not at all comfortable. And the room temperature remained at 75 degrees. Needless to say, we did not sleep well. The service in the hotel restaurant was also underwhelming and the buffet food was lukewarm at best; the hotel appears to be understaffed and overburdened. The reviews on Priceline we 80% positive but I can’t figure out where they are coming from. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REALGrunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for writing. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. Please know we take any maintenance issues seriously and performed a thorough investigation upon receiving your feedback. I appreciate you acknowledging our spacious rooms, elegant décor and friendly staff while providing us areas of opportunity to improve the guest experience. We strive to provide an enjoyable and satisfying stay for each guest. I am at your service if you would like to discuss further.

Sincerely,
Donna Italia, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We happened to stumble upon this hotel by accident in out travels down south. We needed to sleep for the night and most of the "big" name hotels were sold out, we pulled Clinton hill off of the internet, and hopes for the best. It was a little off of our route but They had availability. They were so great! Got us right in a room and we opened the door to a clean, spacious, updated room. The bathroom was spotless! Great flat screen tv, coffee maker, and comfy beds. They even gave us a hot breakfast in the morning free of charge! The town is adorable with cute shops and a quaint movie theater. Would definitely travel a little of the beaten path to stay here again, so glad it worked out the way it did!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffbooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your kind review with us and other travelers. It’s nice to know you enjoyed our spacious clean rooms, breakfast and friendly staff. It’s encouraging to hear that our hard work is affecting the guest experience. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our team! Thank you taking the time to write.

Best,
Donna Italia, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Soma, the front office manager, at Clinton Inn in Tenafly is amazing! He was very helpful and accommodating - and it was a real pleasure to collaborate with him. He and the whole team were so helpful and courteous!! No matter where (unloading our car, in the lobby, the elevator, or the hallways) - they all asked if they could help carry stuff and always with a smile. And whatever we needed - they were quick to provide.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Greeneyedmama73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Greeneyedmama73,
Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Clinton Inn Hotel. Incredible reflections likes yours on the excellent service delivered during your stay highlights our core objective in providing exceptional guest experiences. Thank you especially for recognizing Soma's efforts in service. His sincere hospitality and eagerness to help leads him to enhance each guest visit. I look forward to sharing your compliments and hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thank you again!

Kind regards,
Donna Italia, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband went to Tenafly HS, and it was a rather "old" reunion!!! We had a blast. The room was sizable, comfy bed, nice brunch in the a.m., and the staff was most helpful. We stayed there 25 years ago..........and we'll go again, given the chance. Lovely little town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Karen B,
We're happy to hear from you and thank you for choosing the Clinton Inn Hotel while attending your husband's high school reunion. We appreciate your complimentary feedback on our accommodations and helpful staff. It's wonderful to hear you had a blast and enjoyed a comfortable stay. We do hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing!

Kind regards,
Donna Italia, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews