We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and wholesome food”
Review of Tavlin

Tavlin
Reserve with OpenTable
Tavlin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Tenafly
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Israeli
Restaurant details
Harrisville, NH
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious and wholesome food”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I recently had lunch at Hamsa. We had the following:
Hummus plate - extraordinary; falafel - good; Israeli chopped vegetable salad - excellent; fresh pita - fresh and served hot (did it just come out of the oven?); Hamsa potato salad - a delicious concoction of potato, eggs, and some pickled tangy red peppers; and cole slaw - tasty, creamy and not too sweet. We loved the food and had enough leftovers for another meal at home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daktuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“For those seeking Israeli/Arabic food”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Hamsa serves food that would be considered very average in Israel and in Arabic countries. In Tenafly, it might brings smells from home to those coming from that region of the world, but nothing more than that. I felt the food was also overpriced compared to other nearby alternatives

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“deplorable service”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The food here can be tasty. I used to stop in periodically a few years ago on regular trips to the area and I'd get a falafel or pastels.

Last week I was in town and made an order for delivery. The lentil soup was great and the pita was fresh.

So I want to be fair but honestly I must say the service is deplorable. It was horrible years ago and it is still horrible. I had hoped that maybe, just maybe, service had improved. But it hasn't.

Along with the lentil soup, I ordered what was supposed to be talapia patties and rice. I called because the rice was missing and the "patties" looked like some kind of unidentifiable meat in a black goopy sauce and huge chunks of unidentifiable potatoes or eggplant. I spoke to the manager and he outright refused to offer even 1/2 a refund on the dish, which I thought was a reasonable compromise. He said he'd call me back when he wasn't busy, but he never did.

That's the downside of this place. If you want decent food and don't mind being treated horribly, stop in. Otherwise, I agree with other reviewers - plenty of options around where you are treated decently.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Z Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Persian with attitude”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The food here is usually fantastic. The only complaint is with the takeout, which can take way too long. Be prepared to wait.

Helpful?
Thank gourageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Humus(!), but that's it...”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

If you're a humus fan - this one's for you!
As someone who considers himself a humusologist, this humus is one of the best around! The humus is Arabic-Jerusalem style, like the type of humus you find in Abu-Gosh (an Arab village outside Jerusalem). It is thick (not watered down with tahini) and together with a couple of thick pita breads - it is a meal. You can also try a couple of humus variations, like the one with beef or with mushrooms - they are all great!
Unfortunately (and surprisingly) the rest of the food there is almost uneatable and extremely over-priced...

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel2andFr0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tavlin also viewed

 
Teaneck, NJ
 

Been to Tavlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing