We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toms River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
600 Main, A B&B and Victorian Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 2 Toms River B&B and Inns
Manahawkin, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tara”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Upon arrival at 600 main, my husband and I were pleased with how cozy and welcoming the house was; what a wonderful way to spend a night. Although we live so close, we felt like we were on a mini vacation. The house brings you back in time, it is so charming. Sue and John are the most gracious hosts that when we left we felt as if we made life-long friends. On top of that the food is more than amazing. Every tiny detail made the experience memorable. The rooms were also incredible; everything, down to the bathrooms, was restored, which made you feel as if you were staying in the 1800s. We stayed in Queen Alexa, which was homely and cozy. Sitting on the front porch is a nice way to spend a Sunday morning. We are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The location is just perfect. It's on a main st. But it is relatively quiet with friendly neighbors. The building itself is well preserved inside out with modern amenities. It has a good history that makes it more interesting. The atmosphere is surprisingly pleasant and had a friendly vibe. It does not have that musty smell that most old homes have. The food is good and the host, Susan is very gracious and accommodating. I will definitely go back and I will recommend it to friends and co workers and to my family,too. I had a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelhands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Upon arriving at this bed and breakfast, you feel it embraces you. The charm and careful details that have been lovingly put into this beautiful mansion will transport you into another era. When you walk through the front door, everywhere your eyes land, you see artistry and classic comfort. I had just had recent major surgery and I was headed for the king size bed for a nap that afternoon. My husband took plenty of pictures while I rested in the softest, most welcoming bed I have experienced. We enjoyed the many extras that were provided. Very high quality everything! Just a tip....if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back side of the house. We were in the front king size room and the traffic was always there, even with our white noise machines. If we return to that area, we would stay again and ask for a different room location. We highly recommend this lovely getaway, as many others before us had done.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at 600 Main B &B while celebrating a family event in Toms River. It was very convenient for many of us to stay together and enjoy the service and food of a wonderful breakfast in such a comfortable setting and with class but, not stuffy. And, not having to get in a car to drive and or wait in line at one of the many diners in town...just added to a relaxed atmosphere.

The rooms were very comfortable and loved the look of original bathrooms that were in each room and quality of towels.

Sue & John are doing a wonderful job hosting, cooking....,homemaking!

Next time will look forward to spending more time rocking on the beautiful front porch.

Room Tip: Great for getting a number of rooms together when traveling w/group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine9499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Happily, a family event in Toms River, New Jersey provided the opportunity to stay at 600 Main. With family members in almost every room, we had plenty of opportunities to experience what this establishment has to offer. Everyone agreed that it was a superb find. Who knew that Toms River had such a fine Victorian Inn? The historic building has been impeccably and lovingly restored from the deep wrap-around porch to each room and landing in the house. The hosts, Susan and John, were a pleasure to be with. Warm and yet highly professional, they made our stay a total delight. After a marvelous night's sleep, we enjoyed an exquisite breakfast prepared by Susan. Each item was more delicious than the last AND a feast for the eyes as well. We hope to return to 600 Main. NOTE: This is much more than a B and B. There are many possibilities here, including teas ($25 per person) and other meals. Depending on traffic, Toms River is about 1 1/2 - 2 hours from the Main Line. East on Route 70, then southeast on 37; right on Main Street and you're there before you know it.

Room Tip: some rooms are more spacious. Let Susan or John guide you about the choice of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stripes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A friend celebrating her birthday invited several of her friends to join her for tea at 600 Main. The place is absolutely gorgeous, it's like stepping back in time to the mid 1800's. Hardwood floors, crown molding, stained glass windows, richly designed wallpaper and all the "tea accompaniments" (including "tea" hats) made this experience a delight. The tea choices were varied; the scones were the best I've had in NJ - lightly crisp on the outside and a delicate balance of muffin and biscuit on the inside; sandwiches were tasty leaving tastebuds satisfied and lovely desserts to end the meal. We were even able to check out two of the unoccupied rooms which were light, airy and just begging for you to snuggle in. Even tho we live only 20 minutes from this B&B, I'll definitely make a booking for an overnight or weekend with my hubby. Don't tell him tho,... it'll be a surprise! LOL PS - I rated the location of this B&B as "average". It is on a quiet main street in Toms River, which is not a bad location because the surrounding area is quite lovely. However for me, an oceanfront or in the middle of the woods location would be "excellent".

Room Tip: I can not speak to all of the rooms but the two we saw were perfect. I suspect there could be no &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I'm always a little skeptical about a "B&B". You never know what you're going to get. Often shabby, sometimes someone's private home and often shared bathrooms. But not at 600 Main in Toms River. This B&B is what you've always imagined the most comfortable, charming, romantic Inn to be. The Innkeepers, Susan and John Notte, add much to the allure of the Inn with their gracious hospitality, going above and beyond to ensure every little detail and desire is accommodated. The tearoom is a huge bonus and worth a special trip to enjoy. The finger sandwiches, petit fours and pastries are divine and the selection of tea is remarkable. Also enjoy an exceptional collection of teacups and teapots! As for the Inn itself, the breakfast included is varied each morning and delicious every time. The rooms and furnishings are clean and tasteful. The beds are very comfortable with nice linens and pillows. Water and snacks are provided around the clock. Beautiful sitting rooms are available for reading or visiting. It's hard to imagine a nicer place to spend a few days. I strongly recommend 600 Main as the perfect getaway. A peaceful retreat and a gem in Toms River, it's a destination in itself.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLBCarbondale_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
1.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
2.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
18.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 600 Main, A B&B and Victorian Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 600 Main, A B&B and Victorian Tea Room

Property: 600 Main, A B&B and Victorian Tea Room
Address: 600 Main St, Toms River, NJ 08753-7456 (Formerly Victoria on Main Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing