We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 600 Main, A B&B and Victorian Tea Room

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toms River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
600 Main, A B&B and Victorian Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 2 Toms River B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was our very first stay at a B&B and we hit the jackpot! From the moment we me Susan, our hostess, we knew our stay would be incredible. The attention to detail, the warm and welcoming surroundings, the peacefulness all combined to make this an immediate favorite. The photos on Trip advisor are accurate. The accommodations are spotless and lovely. The breakfast is a special treat. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and look forward to returning. It is a very beautiful B&B.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NYCookielady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

After a long plane ride from Arizona and the drive to South Jersey, 600 Main and its friendly, helpful hosts were a unique and welcome haven. The surroundings are tasteful and functional, the service is friendly without being intrusive and in total a unique environment. We have traveled widely, including Europe, Hawaii and throughout the United States. In our experience this setting is in a 5 star class.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilgrim170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I, along with our two daughters, were visiting family in Toms River. Fortunately, we came across this treasure at 600 Main. This is perhaps the most beautiful Victorian home I've ever seen. The home is immaculate! The owners were so friendly and hospitable, as well as their personable staff. They really catered to our needs. We stayed 4 nights in the Queen Alexa Suite. I cannot say enough about breakfast w/ freshly brewed coffee. They served our daughters their very own pot of uniquely flavored tea with one hundred fancy tea cups to choose from. The food is remarkably creative and original with several courses. I liked the original 1800's shaving sink in our room. Very comfortable bed! On Memorial Day, the Toms River HS marching band, the antique John Deere tractor club and the entire parade cruised by the front of the house. Very small town USA.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The B&B - We're not from the area but we never had a problem finding anything we needed. The owner, Susan, was extremely friendly and helpful, not only with directions but also with recommendations when asked. 600 Main sits on a well used but quite road, along with a few well-stocked antique shops and diners. (If you'll be there for any amount of time, 600 Main is only a couple minutes drive from Rt 37, which offers locations such as McDonalds, Checkers, a grocery store and an entrance to the Parkway.) The breakfasts were exquisite! We stayed for a whole week so we were treated to a variety of tasty foods such as moist scones, Taylor Ham sandwiches, delectable quiches and a variety of baked goods purchased from local bakeries that were well worth the trek Susan made. As for the room, it was well kept, peaceful and beautiful. The bed was a luxurious king-size and the bathroom had a lot of charm. (We stayed in the Princess Victoria.) Outside the room there is a small communal refrigerator stocked with bottled water where guests can keep food and/or beverages of their own. If we visit family in the area again, we may try the Lady Samantha.

The tea room - We attended tea one afternoon and it was enjoyable. The event starts with a menu of available teas, of which you may select quite a few, as well daily specials. From there, small appetizers are offered (soup, celery salad, etc.). To round off the experience, finger foods are enjoyed, both savory and sweet. If you're so inclined, they have hats you can wear while you lunch and with an impressive collection of tea cups, there's a design for every taste.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I have been coming to Toms River for seven years, twice a year, to visit two sets of elderly relatives. We've stayed in every chain hotel from Asbury Park down to Toms River--never finding anything comfortable and most needing a long driveway to/from on the Parkway. That is, until we found 600 Main right in Toms River itself. As you can see from the pics, it's an 1889 mansion with five rooms on the second floor, each decorated in style and with fascinating pieces of furniture and original wooden floors. None of the rooms are done with plywood partitioning or anything modern (as with many other older B&Bs which try to modernize): these are the original, solid, rooms with solid doors, but each has had a bathroom added (some in the 1930s, some more recently). We stayed in the Queen Alexa room with a very comfortable bed (we had to ask where they got the mattress topper from !), and had an opportunity to walk through all the other rooms as well..each fascinating. There is a common, open, area on the landing of this floor which has a stocked refrigerator and a Nespresso machine. The original carved wooden staircase with its tall stained glass windows gives access to this floor (i.e. no elevator). The ground floor has five large public rooms all decorated to a Victorian style: the owners use these for Victorian teas and lunches which are also available separately both to guests and to local groups. When we arrived, one room had a group of red hatted and purple wearing ladies having a grand time, and the grand piano was playing in the main hall. This entranceway is huge with parquet flooring and a large unusual yellow brick fireplace: one such party in one room in no way affects guests entering or leaving given the size of the rooms and the pocket doors. You can also have dinner in the B&B by prior arrangement either downstairs in one of the public rooms or in your own room (and how many B&B's offer that?). Sue and John are wonderfully suited for this business..excellent outgoing and welcoming personalities, and Sue herself is the cook and baker. Breakfast e.g. was a multi-course offering of baked scones, apple French toast, yoghurt, fruit, juices, home-made lemon curd, coffee and, of course, tea served in one of the many pots and cozies on display. There is a very large parking area, off street on the house's private property, behind the house. A large wrap-around verandah also was inviting altho' it was too cold still for us to try. What was especially pleasing to us from a colder climate still was that the dogwoods were in bloom and our room on the second floor was, at the garden side, surrounded by their red flowers--I uploaded a photo of this. We travel a lot for pleasure and business: this is surely one of the few places we will look forward to coming back to.

Room Tip: All five rooms are good: the website indicated which ones have the larger sized beds though, and onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew02459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Our two-night stay at 600 Main exceeded our expectations. The location was perfect and far surpassed area hotel accommodations in value and ambiance. The innkeepers, Sue and John, were friendly and not at all stuffy. Breakfast was excellent and our king bed was very comfortable.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Experiencing this wonderful venue will blow you away, from the moment you walk through the front door. As I searched for the perfect Victorian hat to wear to my tea, I transformed into a house guest in a beautiful decorated home. I was greeted - welcomed, by very friendly staff. The piano planned as my friend and I chatted over which tea we were going to try. I became engrossed in the environment almost forgetting it was 2014. The luncheon experience included tea and four perfectly selected courses ( celery salad, scones, a variety of mini sandwiches, tray of assorted pastry). Susan Notte, owner walked about smiling and chatting with her guests. After finishing our delicacies, we toured this fabulous building seeing antiques individually appointed to each richly decorated room. From the waiting room, through the dining areas, sitting room, bedrooms and bathes this old Victorian home will transform you into a character from "Somewhere in Time". This venue is a must try!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carlin920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
2.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
1.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 600 Main, A B&B and Victorian Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 600 Main, A B&B and Victorian Tea Room

Property: 600 Main, A B&B and Victorian Tea Room
Address: 600 Main St, Toms River, NJ 08753-7456 (Formerly Victoria on Main Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing