We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Day!”

Insectropolis, the Bugseum of New Jersey
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Toms River
Attraction details
Manchester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Day!”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Took my grandkids in October 2012. There was a really good lecture with hands on different spiders, etc. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. The displays were extensive and the interactive educational computers with games were REALLY fun! My grandson want tp have his birthday party there this year!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaMandStevenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bronx ny
Level Contributor
237 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great collection of insects!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was a great museum! Great collection! very good price and worth the money! The guy that gives the touch presentation was great!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wearetheones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Creepy, crawly and all around entertaining”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is a wonderful place to take your children, especially those little boys who love bugs! We recently had my son's 6th birthday there and what a hit. The kids loved seeing and petting all the bugs. The termite tubes were another favorite attraction. The guided tour that they give for parties and field trips is excellent. Their guides are great at dealing with children and keeping them interested and under control. The location is set up in a variety of rooms that have different color tile on the floors to enable the guides to keep their charges in one place by telling them that they have to stay on the same color floor as the guide is on. As an educator I found the idea was well thought out and very effective. The kids had a blast and were thrilled with our event.

The staff helped us to organize the event even providing invitations, recommendations for a location for pizza for the party, goodie bags for the kids and helping to set up the food when our tour was over. If you are looking for a field trip or birthday party location this one is tops. If you are only looking for a day trip with your kids this is still a fabulous place to take them.

My son has been there three times this summer and is still asking to go back again.

Overall this was a wonderful place and we will definitely be going back again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank teensandtoddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Little Gem in the middle of no where!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

If you have little kids or are a big kid yourself...this is certainly a great 'rainy beach day' place to visit. Was able to pet scorpions, tarantulas and hissing cockroaches. Great little educational place!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sherilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Buggy!”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We recently went to Insectropolis with friend as a last minute idea. The trip started with a 20 minute presentation on bugs including a "petting" opportunity. My oldest (10, almost 11) stayed interested through the whole presentation, and even remembered what she learned later that night! My youngest (5) kept getting distracted, but managed to sit through it. He loved touching the bugs! They had some really neat exhibits, and we had a lot of fun. It is a smaller attraction so i wouldn't plan a whole trip around it, but worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Insectropolis, the Bugseum of New Jersey also viewed

 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Insectropolis, the Bugseum of New Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing