We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
BROOKLYN
2 reviews
“Not too shabby :-)”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Overall very good. The entrance to the hotel was a little confusing since the on ramp was not on the main route.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Nelson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you return for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    140
    129
    90
    73
See reviews for
264
98
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This HoJo is in strong need of updates. The room interiors have that old musty smell. Place to smoke is directly in the walking path of entring where rooms are. Disgusting ashtray smell goes right up your nose. Carpet was filthy and and made socks dirty. 2 Pillows on King Bed.. called desk for additional.. I was told I would have to come to the desk to pick them up. Ice machine on floor was not working. Closet mirror doors hanging off track and unable to open. A/C unable to regulate... no adjustments could be made. and aimed right at heads when sleeping.. weather was too hot and muggy to turn off so had to keep it on but block it with furniture and suitcases.

Room Tip: this was a very small king room.. double beds room seemed so much larger and more comfy when we loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest; Our entire team would like to sincerely apologize to you for all the issues you faced while staying with us recently. We would like to thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We will use your feed back to help us implement improvements and hope to see you again for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

. as a boy on family motor trip vacations, i can remember the reassuring words of my father "look for a Howard Johnson " with the thoughts of a cozy dinner or a comfortable night stay. and so went a tradition of simple happy memories in the excitement of childhood adventures. today all has changed with time and although the name is part of a huge hospitality empire, i still look for Howard Johnson on my travels expecting a reasonably pleasant experience. and so i will say that this property is quite nice, comfortable, and convenient, however some guests were loud and very disturbing. i thank the staff who treated me so well during my long stay .

Room Tip: rooms facing parking areas can be noisy and weekends can bring rude noisy people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphonns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Alphonns; I too remember my father saying "look for the bright orange roof of the Howard Johnson's" when I was growing up. We thank you for being loyal to the Howard Johnson franchise and for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Sorry to see you had a few unpleasent times due to disturbances you faced because of others. We appreciate you letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sure we will see you again in the near future when your travels bring you through the area once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGATE
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

don't charge 50 buck a day for a dog and if your going to make sure it is posted on the website better I have been all over the country with my dog in bigger and better hotel and citys then the Toms River New Jersey HOJO and was not charged 50 dollars a day for my dog I will never stay in your hotle ever again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Scott; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know the concern you had about not seeing the pet policy clearly defined. I did find that the pet fee policy in place is not as detailed as it should be on our website. Moving forward, with your feedback, we will make the necessary change to have our pet policy and fees associated with it, clearly defined so guests are aware when travelling with their beloved pets. We sincerely apologize that deterred you and your family from having a pleasent experience while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I thought I would give the property another try because if a promotional rate they were offering after disappointing previous experience and found that not much had improved.

It started with an indifferent to unpleasant experience at check-in when the clerk spoke as little as possible and did not attempt to make me feel welcomed or valued as a customer.

The room was small with a dated TV and an extraordinarily uncomfortable bed. The refrigerator mad loud humming noises all night whenever the compressor came on. The decor was drab, dated and in disrepair.

Every interaction with the staff was equally disengaged or unpleasant as the first. When my wife went down for coffee, as part of the free breakfast, on Sunday morning at 10 she was told the breakfast ends at 9, (a little early for a weekend in a resort town but ok) and when she asked again about just getting a cup of coffee the man at the front desk said "our policy is that breakfast ends at 9". Policy? For a cup of coffee? Even if you wanted to sell the coffee it would be nice to provide something to your guests.

The exterior of the hotel is very pleasant and inviting which makes the experience inside somewhat surprising.

The hallways and corridors have the look of a an hourly motel rather than that of a well maintained chain hotel, and certainly not a Wyndham property. I understand that Hojo is a value brand but this property compares very poorly to the Holiday Inn a few blocks east that is in the same price range.

The bar attached to the property Christopher's was lively and fun with very attentive service.

I would stay here again in a pinch but Holiday Inn is a much better choice.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Miusa; Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you coming back and giving us a 2nd chance. We know that repeat business such as yours is vital to our hotels success and I would like to personally apologize that we did not meet your expectations and that you were faced with less than stellar service from us. We will use your feedback to make improvements moving forward. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye Brook, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our way down South, good location to spend a day at Six Flags and right off Garden State Parkway. very reasonable rate, particularly through Priceline, BUT...

It's been many years since we stayed at a HoJo's, and frankly would have expected more from a national chain. Although the hotel exterior and Lobby have been cleaned up and are presentable, the rooms are really depressing. Worn carpet, poor lighting, rock hard beds, tiny bathrooms, you get the point. And a single, queen bed in each of the 2 rooms we had... Didnt realize any hotels did this, particularly not national brand hotels. Apparently there are other rooms with a King or 2 doubles but not available when we arrived.

Service staff seemed to be hard working and helpful, and very apologetic about non working wifi, bed issue etc. not sure if there are better options in the area but we would certainly avoid this place if we came through here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bradfordRyeBrook_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guest, -I would like to personally thank you for taking time to let us know what you enjoyed and did not enjoy. We do take all feed back to heart and this will help us to continue to focus on improving. We apologize that your stay was not up to the standards we adhere too and appreciate your business while in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Wherever you set your expectations for this place, kick them down a notch or two. It is tired and worn out. If this were a private motel, I wouldn't write this review, but for a national chain it's inexcusable. Wireless Internet that wasn't working, in-room coffee that smells like it's 5-years old, pillows that must be 20-years old and are about a 1-inch thick, a bathroom that looks 50-years old, and carpeting that is sooo stained and dirty you won't want to walk on it…shameful. BUT, the lobby is beautiful. Too bad they didn't the money into the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoEvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guest; Our entire team would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations while staying with us and we would like to thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. As an older hotel we do work continuously to make improvements as we can but fell short during your stay. We take all feedback to heart and will use yours to help us implement improvements for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,216 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#26 of 39 in Seaside Heights
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing