We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre rooms, rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Our stay at this hotel was a disappointment: the room was old and not very clean, and the staff was horrible and extremely unfriendly (especially for breakfast). One of the worst place I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Guest, I would like to personally thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are disappointed as well that your stay was less than pleasing and we did not live up to the professional standards we adhere too everyday. We appreciate your feedback and business while in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I ran the Seaside Half Marathon on October 14th and stayed at The Howard Johnsons in Toms River for the weekend. We had a wonderful stay. We have been there a couple of times this year and the manager, Jawad remembered us right away and greeted me with a smile. I feel that the staff provides a personal touch that is not seen in alot of other large hotels. Check in was efficient and our room was very clean which is what I look for in a hotel. The housekeeping service was wonderful. I found the WiFi to be pretty quick with an easy sign on. There is a bar and restaurant onsite which is very nice. All of the rooms have a mini fridge which is convenient. Another hotel in the area is by request and if available only on the mini fridge which I find inconvenient when you are staying for the weekend so I'm very happy with Howard Johnsons. The only amenity missing was the shampoo but this was not a problem as we usually bring our own. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room with a kind size bed that included a desk and two chairs. It was a little cramped by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJOceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We appreciate the compliments for our staff, accommodations and overall service. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank RAY M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
SEAFORD
1
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Check in staff was great (Dan & Manager), brought extra pillows to our room & refused a tip! But dead & live crickets in the room were not fun. We were told by late night staff to use a hairdryer to scare away the crickets (not easy when it was attached to wall on the other side of the room) and that the bug spray was to smelly to use. We also had an extreamly bright wall light (main room light) missing its cover so we couldnt use it & desk lamp had no bulbs. Becauae we had an event to attend we just dealt with it. The beds were so soft, those outdated covers & the scratchiest blankets made sleeping a chore along with the constant chirping from the cricket. Breakfast was sadly to crowded & depleated to enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for chosing the Howard Johnson Toms River. We appreciate all feedback that we receive as it helps us to grow and improve where we need too. I'd like to apologize that we fell short with the expectations with you on the overall condition and comfort in your room and will address that with the staff. We welcome to opportunity to have you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The staff was accommodating and the location was excellent. We like the restaurant in the complex and we ate there a lot. The carpet was dirty on the stairs. The is an old complex that they are updating. We liked the extra electrical outlets. I thought the bed was a little too firm for me but my husband liked it. It was quiet and we appreciated the elevator with all of our luggage. We stayed for a total of 9 days, so it was home away from home. It is not luxurious but is comfortable and a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Guest; Thank you for making the Howard Johnson Toms River your home away from home while your were travelling! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review letting us know what you did and did not enjoy, all feedback we receive helps us to grow and improve were we can. We welcome to opportunity to have you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,277 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
6.1 mi away
Best Western Leisure Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: £62 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing