We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, clean, and a HoJo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We needed a one night stay in the Toms River area, and this place didn't break the bank, was close to our destination, and was clean. There was nothing outstanding about this hotel either positive or negative. Our only disappointment was the tiny breakfast bar and the crowded seating and location for a hotel of this size; one would expect a larger space for the breakfast crowd. I cannot imagine what the breakfast area must be like during the height of the beach season. Overall, this was an acceptable place to stay for our overnight, and, as I noted, it was the best price of any other hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mary; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your evening with us and appreciate your review. We appreciate the feedback regarding the breakfast area and understand it to be a bit small, we will share your remarks with the management and see if that area can be improved upon for our guests comfort. Thank you again for selecting the Howard Johnson Toms River as your place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

This place is in SERIOUS need of a renovation! Carpets worn out & dirty looking, rotten woodwork in the bathroom... horrible first impression! I was SO glad I was only there for 2 nights! It will be my last choice in future accomodations in this area!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side away from the street.... Traffic noise is LOUD!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lafff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We do wish you had a better time as our guest and appreciate you bringing these items to attention. Rest assured they will be looked into futher and the proper steps taken to correct this.

We would like to personally apologize for your unpleasant experience you had. We hope you reconsider a future stay as what you expereinced is not typical of the high standards we strive to achieve.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Howard Johnson Toms River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Margaruite S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Karla A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Griselys C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,277 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
6.1 mi away
Best Western Leisure Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: £63 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing