We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I understand the gold medal, but ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

With Clarion you expect a bit more, especially if the hotel just won a gold medal.
We drove south to Toms River on April 30th. The trees, including the Dogwood, - blossomed to excess. The term; - “Garden State” is an understatement. It should be “The Garden State With No Equal”.

I was not let down, but I was disappointed. My reservation was more than 6 months back in time and we had asked for easy access due to my wife's disability. We were given a room on the second floor without a lift. In another part of the building there as a lift for the guests on the 2nd floor?

I would chose one of the rooms 201-233 if you plan to use the exercise room. I would not choose the rooms 217 or 219 as these are adjacent to the exercise room. The rooms with the odd numbers will keep you our of the morning sun. From our room 249, we had to walk down a flight of stairs, across the building, - past the reception and up a new flight of stairs. Quite a tour, but again, -the last flight of stairs could be swapped with the lift.

When we arrived there was a truck with equipment to the ongoing convention that occupied the handicap place closest to our room. W had to park at the other side of the structure and with a rather long walk with heavy suitcases, which ended in fighting our way up the stairs. to our room.

The room was nice, the bathroom was decent with plenty of space to to all your ointments. I could not lower the temp on the AC unit however, and it was a bit noisy. Traffic noise from highway 37 was almost non-existent.

Breakfast is an extra $5 but it is well worth it with sausages, bacon and scrambled eggs.

Apart from thees hiccups, the staff was very accommodating and polite. It is not a tall hotel, but there are a lot of rooms. There is a bar on the ground floor and there is always a staff-member around to ask for help. Internet was impeccable for the whole stay. I was not “thrown out once”, - a novelty!

The hotel however, was not easy to find without GPS. It is located close to highway 37 with exit to the mule road. There is a sign as tall as the mountain of Sinai, but we were a bit stressed at the time. (Drivers in the Garden State are much more accommodating though, -than those in the Big Apple. Those are outright “fast and furious” and to help another driver in the wrong lane is probably considered an earthly sin. No so in the Garden State.)

It is a very nice hotel and I can understand why they recently were awarded a gold medal. I just fell between the safety bars apparently? You will have to pay for your breakfast.

I was absolutely flabbergasted by the havoc the storm Sandy had caused along the shoreline. You hear about the damage, but to actually see thousands of houses off their structures or just leveled into rubble, it was heartbreaking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phagerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to our area, and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us, and will be reviewed closely. Again, we apologize, and hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

I just checked out today, and I would have to say this is one of the best places I have ever stayed at!!!! I was at this hotel for well over 40 days. My room was always clean, the service was always top notch! Al the bartender never seems to forget a face or name, very friendly, always going above and beyond customer service! Mike and John the 2 managers that I saw on a regular basis were always helpful; from suggesting restaurants, places to go, and even moving their car when a parking space is needed. Rosa in housekeeping always did an awesome job taking care of my room. Vera in breakfast friendly, kind, and helpful. Sandy and Brooke at the front desk honest, helpful, nice, kind, I mean I just can't say enough about these 2 people. I know I left severe people out sorry, but there is only a 200 character min. I would like to say to the owners of the property it is hard to come by great customer service, or even employee's that are as dedicated as the one's at the Clarion in Toms River, NJ, I just hope they are rewarded in an way that is equal. So, if you are going to be in the area stay at the Clarion!!! I give it an outstanding review!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitzi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Clarion Hotel Toms River. We appreciate your feedback and compliments, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognizing so many of our staff members! We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I can not say enough about the staff of this hotel, they go out of their way to make sure that you are taken care of. I have been working with the hotel for the lasat 2 months - sending members of our team to the Clarion and alll reviews are GREAT!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and compliments, and we're happy that all of your associates are enjoying the hotel. We look forward to seeing everyone again soon!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel for business travel. It was a very pleasant experience. The front desk staff was very nice. My sleeping room was very comfortable. Great value for the money. The breakfast buffet was a good value with basic breakfast items. Nice way to start the day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifetrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Clarion Hotel Toms River. We appreciate your feedback and compliments. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Pros: clean.
Cons: old, dark, creepy guests.

I heard someone at the frontdesk tell her coworker about a person who had returned who in on previous visits bothered the guests. So, they let this person return? Twice in two days I saw "creepy guests." Once while going to use the business center. I didn't want my sister walking alone so my husband went to her room to escort her down. Another time I sat in the lobby with my niece until her boyfriend came down. I didn't want her staying in the lobby alone with the creepy guests. We ate at the Crystal Diner down the road instead of buying the Clarion breakfast. Breakfast at the diner is very good, dinner is ok/good -- depending on if you order diner food. I'm glad the Clarion was at least clean. For that reason alone, I would return but only if there was no other place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSSPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us, and will be reviewed closely. Again, we apologize, and hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A quick weekend trip for a hockey tournament in Tom's River, NJ. Hotel room was quite spacious and very clean. Bed was very comfy. Also had refrig and microwave which is nice. Ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Breakfast was hot and fresh with plenty of choices. Dinner was a special treat. The french dip steak sandwich was truly wonderful. This was also one of the quietest hotels I ever stayed in. Despite seeing plenty of people around, I did not hear any when in the room. Will definitely stay here again when in Tom's River.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAM789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I travel to Toms River, NJ at least twice a year on business and the service at the Clarion is Awesome! The staff there are very accomodating, pleasant and will go that extra mile to satify their customers. The complimentary breakfast provides a great variety of food that actually taste great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timmie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
3.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
201 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
16.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River

Address: 815 Route 37 W, Toms River, NJ 08755-5015 (Formerly Quality Inn Toms River)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: £73 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Inn Toms River, we have been upgraded to become the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center. We have replaced our guest room furniture & bedding in every room including beds, bed covering, linens, pillows, blankets, etc. We have flat screen televisions in all guest rooms and recently added 14 new HD TV channels to the programming. All of our guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and a coffee maker. We recently added a new exercise room, and expanded our business center. We feature meeting rooms and two ballrooms for all of your banquet needs. Come and enjoy casual dining in our onsite Ike's Pub & Grill, with 50" HD Plasmas in the bar, and an upgraded sports package with NFL Sunday Ticket. We feature an outdoor pool & sundeck, and offer free wireless internet access throughout the entire hotel. Onsite parking is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Toms River Hotel Toms River
Toms River Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing