We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Customer...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I've stayed here several weeks in a row for business. Location is convenient to northbound and southbound Garden State Parkway. The staff is first rate -- helpful and friendly. Breakfast is excellent and the rooms quiet. I would recommend this hotel if staying in the Toms River area.

Rated excellent for business travel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin_Man_112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your excellent review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for complimenting our staff. We appreciate your recommendation, and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I stayed one night because we needed to attend a family gathering. The room was quiet. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was more than we could have hoped for. We were well rested and ready to begin our day.

Room Tip: I like the No smoking policy at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m27mascola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for the 5 star review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your compliments about our staff and breakfast. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel, as did many others who attended a family member's wedding reception last weekend. The service was very good as was the food.
The check-in was easy and the breakfast the next morning was plentiful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank iminpa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review! We truly appreciate your compliments, and we're so glad you enjoyed the wedding reception! We're happy your family members enjoyed the hotel, and hope you stay with us again in the future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Enjoyed staying at the hotel for the weekend while my family conducted an estate sale at my grandmother's house. The hotel was convenient to get to, only 5 minutes from the Garden State Parkway, and there were many dining options within a 10-15 minute drive. The bar was solid. There was a Halloween party going on in the bar, and the place are hopping. I enjoyed having a couple of beers and my fiancee was very happy that the bar had Woodchuck Amber Cider. Would definitely consider staying here again if the need ever arose.
There was also a wedding that night in the ballroom, but they never disturbed me at all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east wing are away from the ballroom. The ballroom hosts weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYMetsFan1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be so convenient. Thank you for your compliments and feedback, and we're glad you enjoyed Ike's Pub & Grill. Your review will be shared with our staff and management. Thank you again for staying with us, and we'll see you next time!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Honestly I think this is a great hotel to stay at if you are trying to go to one of the nearby attractions (we went to Six Flags Great Adventure) for a couple of days. The hotel itself has a spacious lot that wraps around the hotel with side doors that can be accessed up until midnight by key card; you can start using the doors again with a key card at 6am I believe. Because this hotel wraps around with the outdoor pool in the center of it, it does have a strange set up. The two sides of the hotel with rooms are completely separate with no corridor inbetween so you have to go downstairs through the lobby to get to the other side. I only know this because we had to go downstairs and go through the lobby to get to the other side of the hotel where the gym was located on the 2nd floor.

Also (I am sure for security purposes) you have to keep swiping your key card to access the corridors where the hotel rooms are located, which was only annoying at check in because we had to go up the stairs with luggage and balance that in our hands along with waiting for the person with the key card to swipe in. So be ready to have your card handy from the parking lot until you get into your room as you will have to use it a couple of times.

Nearby are all sorts of restaurants and convenience stores though you should note that most restaurants seem to close early in the area but that might be because I live in the city where most restaurants stay open until midnight, here most things shut down at 10pm or earlier. There is a 24hr CVS right down the street that comes in handy.

If you are visiting in the summer and want to sleep in a little bit (until 10am let's say) ask for a room facing the parking lot for a quieter nights sleep. We were in rooms facing the pool and as early as 7:00AM there were screams and shrieks of children already in the pool at that time. I didn't mind because I was already up but I heard my friends groan about it while I was getting ready for the day. Also the second floor gives you a little extra time to sleep without the knock of the housekeepers as they clean from top to bottom at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor facing the parking lot give you extra sleeping time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your hotel review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your compliments and your feedback. Your review will be shared with our staff and management. Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What can you say about a place like the suburban sprawl of Toms River? (The old town itself may indeed be a very different & better story - we just do not know.) The main drag of rt. 37 is a dreary mess of NJ suburbia. We knew we'd have to find somewhere to stay there eventually, due to family commitments, but we were not optimistic. The Clarion is just fine. We were there twice quite recently, and had no problems, and the staff was serious & professional. Quiet, clean & comfortable. Nothing to get excited about, although the b'fast is good, as these things go. We stayed in room 221 on our first stay and then 121 on the 2nd stay. 221 seemed quieter event though it was a crowded weekend when we were in 221, and a quiet midweek when we were in 121. We will have to go back soon, and will stay here again. Inexpensive.

Room Tip: 2nd floor seems quieter than 1st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and feedback, and are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Your review will be shared with all of our staff and management. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We recently returned to Toms River for a family event and stayed at the Clarion Hotel. This used to have a different branding within the Accor System and I am not sure why the upbranding took place, though our stay was comfortable and without any complications.
Our positive take-aways… The check-in process was smooth and without any complications. The lobby is highly utilitarian – like a roadside hotel – and the front desk is an afterthought alcove. From personal experience in the area and from our experience during our stay, this hotel derives a significant portion of its revenue from parties and functions like weddings and conferences. At the time of our arrival (10:00 on a Friday) one of those functions was still in progress. However, overnight guests were in secure and relatively sound-isolated wings off of the lobby.
Our room was clean and well maintained. There were no broken or malfunctioning furnishings. The default setting on the flat screen TV was rather loud which concerned me that I might disturb other guests, but the initial screen is also the channel guide – a good feature. The hotel is older and the rooms seem to be larger than many of the currently constructed hotels.
Some downs (but not that bad). As I mentioned, this is a function revenue hotel. I imagine that there are rooms where sound can be an issue, and, while an active security presence could easily be seen, there may be a need for it. Our bed was firm to hard. We were exhausted and slept quite well, but were not sure what would have happened in a second night. Periodically, our in-room alarm clock would buzz for no apparent reason – leave a wakeup call instead. Finally, this hotel does NOT offer a free breakfast. They DO have a very expensive breakfast buffet, but make your plans accordingly. The hotel does not represent the buffet as free. They do not advertise it as having a charge either. There is a coupon included for the breakfast with your check-in read it carefully.
In the end, I would stay at the Clarion again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiverRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate all of your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again, when you return to the Toms River area. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
3.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
199 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
6.7 mi away
Best Western Leisure Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River

Address: 815 Route 37 W, Toms River, NJ 08755-5015 (Formerly Quality Inn Toms River)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: £70 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Inn Toms River, we have been upgraded to become the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center. We have replaced our guest room furniture & bedding in every room including beds, bed covering, linens, pillows, blankets, etc. We have flat screen televisions in all guest rooms and recently added 14 new HD TV channels to the programming. All of our guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and a coffee maker. We recently added a new exercise room, and expanded our business center. We feature meeting rooms and two ballrooms for all of your banquet needs. Come and enjoy casual dining in our onsite Ike's Pub & Grill, with 50" HD Plasmas in the bar, and an upgraded sports package with NFL Sunday Ticket. We feature an outdoor pool & sundeck, and offer free wireless internet access throughout the entire hotel. Onsite parking is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Toms River Hotel Toms River
Toms River Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing