We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trenton
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and Clean”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were visiting New Jersey for Drift Car Racing and every hotel was booked in the area. So we drove 30 minutes south toward our home and used GPS to locate the nearest hotel. This hotel came up in our search and had availability. Hotel was clean, quiet, just what we needed for rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlynn_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Quiet and clean and rest are all words that we in the hotel industry strive to hear. Most guest that check in to hotels are not looking for any surprises they are usually weary travelers looking for a quiet, clean hotel that treats them with kindness and respect. If a hotel is able to provide these traits to a guest you usually have a very satisfied guest. Which it sounds like you were so we thank you staying and thank you for saying you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    47
    59
    45
    66
See reviews for
71
31
19
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed at the hotel last week for work while putting on a trial at the courthouse a few blocks away. The staff was absolutely incredible and they were truly bending over backwards to make sure that our stay was pleasant. If I had any requests, the staff was more than willing to help (for example, rush copy jobs or scanning documents). They took the time to know your name, as well as our client who met us there every day.

After an extremely stressful day at court, it was wonderful to walk into the lobby and to be greeted by name and asked if I needed anything. We ate our meals at the hotel and I loved their blue cheese cobb salad. My room was spotless, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the products were great (Bath & Bodyworks). I saw one review that stated there was no mini fridge in the hotel and that's not accurate. There is a fridge in the dresser under the tv. In addition, we were not charged for WiFi.

I was familiar with the city of Trenton and I was a little nervous that the hotel would be shabby since it was no longer a part of the Marriott chain. Far from it. I hope that when the Wyndham people take it over that they realize what a treasure they have with their current staff and it continues to have the friendly boutique hotel versus the cold corporate atmosphere that you sometimes get with a chain.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor and overlooked their courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDF833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Wow what kind words towards our staff and our hotel. Change is never easy however seeing that people recognize the effort the staff is making to put everyone at ease and feel welcome goes along way. The hotel will continue to upgrade over the coming months and we hope as we improve you stay with us again and enjoy our hospitality. Thank you for reviewing the hotel and for noticing the effort of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel is probably old and rumor has it Marriott is selling it and that could be the first sign of BEWARE! The lobby is ok and they have free computers to use. The staff was nice but my room was extremely damp as everything including my next days boarding passes got damp just by sitting on a clean and dry countertop. I was also told by a shuttle driver not to leave the hotel at night as it was a bad neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffh1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you had an issue with your room I have followed upon your issue and found the source of the problem and have corrected it so I thank you for pointing it out to me. We have transitioned from a Marriott to an independent hotel (Lafayette Yard Hotel)however we hope to maintain the same standards that our guest are accustomed to and to exceed their expectations of service going forward. We look forward to your next visit as well as your next review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I just stayed at this hotel for one night, which was only a couple of days after they changed ownership. This hotel is no longer a Marriott, but now the Lafayette Yard Hotel & Conference Center. Considering the hassle the staff must go through to accommodate guests in the middle of changing ownership, they did a pretty good job. I stayed here for a business event that was taking place in the hotel. There were around 50 guests staying with our group, and there was some confusion with parking fees and hotel billing, but the staff eventually straightened out the problems.

Overall, the hotel is okay. My room and the hotel was basically clean, but the hotel has a bit of an older feel to it. The fitness room was decent, but nothing exceptional, and the water cooler was completely empty. Plus, the TV on my treadmill wasn't working. The hotel is conveniently located within Trenton, but the fact that they charge for parking and don't include breakfast is a turn-off.

Hopefully the new owners will upgrade this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godiva0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Transitioning a hotel always presents its own set of challenges and I apologize for any inconvenience. However I am happy to hear we were able to straighten things out and hopefully made your stay a pleasant one. The hotel will be doing some upgrades in the next few months so I hope if the opportunity presents itself in the future you choose to visit us for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

I was in Trenton on business and stayed here for that time. While the hotel itself wasn't bad, it certainly was not what I have come to expect from the Marriott chain. They charge for WiFi which is usually included in the hotels I stay at, no mini fridge in the room which forces you to either venture out for a meal or ear at their restaurant at which the food was cold and rather tasteless. Other than that, I have no major complaints about this place.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As of June 15th we are no longer a Marriott we are now an independent hotel called the Lafayette yard hotel. This has allowed us to do such things as expand the menu and add mini fridge to some of our rooms and offer free WIFI. I hope on your next visit to the Trenton you try our hotel again and see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing
Red Roof Inn Princeton - Ewing
#1 of 3 in Lawrenceville
260 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Ewing Princeton
5.1 mi away
Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Oxford Valley
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newtown
5.1 mi away
Element Ewing Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites

Property: Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites
Address: 1 W Lafayette St., Trenton, NJ 08608 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Trenton)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Trenton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites located in the downtown heart of Trenton welcomes you to a hospitality experience. Easily accessible from major routes, NJ-27, US-1, and I-295, the hotel is convenient for any traveler. Out of town? Not a problem. We are just a hop, skip and jump away from Newark International Airport and Philadelphia International Airport. Doing business in Trenton, Princeton and Bucks County, PA has never been so easy. Trenton, state capital, houses the NJ State House, NJ State Planetarium, Sun National Bank Center and Arm & Hammer Park (home of the Trenton Thunder), and lays off the beautiful Delaware River. Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites is within easy walking distance of all government buildings or in a drivable distance of 15 minutes to all of Trenton’s hot spots. Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites features exceptional amenities including 37” flat screen televisions, robust high speed Internet, a grab & go bar with Starbucks coffee, business center and fitness center. The hotel has a state of the art meeting and conference facilities. The on-property restaurant and lounge is ideal for an important lunch or dinner, or simply to unwind with delectable food and relaxed vibes. Whether you are bringing your family, your briefcase, or both, the Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites ensures your accommodation to be exceptional and stay extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lafayette Park Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenton Marriott At Lafayette Yard Hotel Trenton
Marriott Trenton
Marriott Lafayette Yard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing