We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trenton
Oakland Gardens NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were in town to attend the swearing in ceremony of new attorneys which took place at the War Memorial (conveniently located next to the hotel.) Every person we dealt with at the hotel was nice, courteous and helpful. We got help bringing our bags up to the room. We asked for more towels and they came quickly. Requests for directions were met quickly with smiles and assistance. There isn't much to do near the hotel at night, and you wouldn't want to walk around so we just ate in the lounge/restaurant. They had pub style food which was perfectly fine, like you would get at a Chili's (for example) and reasonably priced. If you were hungry, the breakfast buffet was OK at $12; if you weren't, you could you buy a muffin and coffee at a "stand" next to the front desk. We got a room with two double beds. Although the bed was firm and comfortable, I've come to the conclusion that two people really need a queen sized bed to sleep well. There was a thermostat in the room but the temperature varied wildly--the difference between 67(too cold) and 68 degrees (sometimes too warm) was jarring. Perhaps the thermostat needed an adjustment. All in all, if I ever have reason to go to Trenton again on business, I would stay at the Lafayette Yard.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    45
    58
    44
    60
See reviews for
68
29
19
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here the last few years with the Trenton Marathon. We were told by the marathon planners that even though it was no longer a Marriott, it would be the same level of service.

Boy, were they wrong. Check in was the longest wait I've ever had, restaurant was horrible... almost like everyone who helped plan our stay wasn't there (new management team so maybe they aren't). Will definitely stay in Ewing or Hamilton next time I'm in the area, no matter who the host hotel is.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Quixote114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. The hotel have been making changes and improvements will be made. Please allow us to service you again in the near future and you will not be disappointed.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trenton hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed here for the Trenton Doublecross Half Marathon and 10K race and I believe the hotel was at full capacity as a result of that event. Although it didn't appear that the staff was used to handling that high volume of guests for the most part they tried to make it work. The hotel itself was okay. Pretty clean and the staff was fairly friendly.

The parking wasn't an issue because although it $13 for overnight, there is a way that you can go in and out multiple times without having to pay the fee again and again.

The sleeping rooms definitely can use some updating but the beds were very comfortable and the bedding appeared clean. The beds were full instead of queen size, but I guess that as well as the location is what helps keep the room cost so affordable.

I didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel because I was just in and out for the race, but I found it odd that as the advertised host hotel Lafayette Yard didn't offer complimentary late check out to the guests. Some of my companions told me that when they requested late checkout they were told that the courtsey could only be affored to 10 sleeping rooms on any given night. Weird. So basically, we were SOL.

I mean, the half marathon started at 8am and the course was open for approximately 3 and a half hours after that. The last finishers would really have to hustle to get back to the hotel, shower and change to make it out before the noon check out time. I requested late check out and I was still locked out when I returned to my room after the race. NO BUENO

If the relationship between this hotel and the race continues, the hotel should be more knowledgeable about this type of niche clientele and be prepared to be more accomodating regarding the needs of running racers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZPhiDivah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. The hotel have been making changes and improvements will be made. Please allow us to service you again in the near future.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

had a wonderful overnight stay. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Room was clean and very nice and bed was extremely comfortable. Restaurant staff and food was great. Just a totally pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldr07960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed just one night. The hotel is tired and needs TLC. I feel I paid too much $100 bucks and then got dinged to park $13. This might be a $100+ hotel in the future, but not now. I probably would have been happier at Motel 8 for $50 bucks.

Person who took care of me at the front desk was nice. Should have explained the parking price points to me. I could have paid less because I was leaving first thing in the morning... Actually, just include parking for free.........

I was born in Trenton and wish I could be more positive, but I can't.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULwithJUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
To Our valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center for your recent stay in Trenton.

Were grateful that you took the time out to review us on Trip Advisor. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. The hotel have been making changes and improvements will be made. Please allow us to service you again in the near future and you will not be disappointed.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Lafayette Yard Hotel and Conference Center the next time you're in Trenton.


Sincerely,
General Manager
Ben Zabala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

First class hotel, but...
Check in at night was professional but a little quirky. Room was spacious, Good a/c and quiet. Good Internet. Breakfast Buffet was cook to order, a nice touch. Parking was free. Room was well cleaned and provided with shampoo, soap, etc.

The area is okay in the day, not for walking around at night. No places to eat besides the hotel. The hotel finishes are worn. Not everything works.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CactusPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to say a few words about our hotel. A quirky desk clerk well as long as he was polite and helpful I guess I can live with quirky. The rooms are spacious and the hotel is often referred to as a nice stay and we are glad you found it to be that way as well. We look forward to your next visit to the area and hopefully another visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is "okay". The common area on the main floor smells like some kind of fruity cleaning product. The rooms are "alright" - dated and pretty clean but nothing spectacular. My ironing board was broken and would not stand up - I ironed by laying the board on the bed. Wifi was free - that's a plus. A couple of good little local restaurants nearby - a deli and Cafe Ole.
When we booked we thought we were staying at a Marriott, so we went in with Marriott expectations. If you book - don't think "Marriott" and maybe you will not be disappointed.

Biggest problem is unfriendly front desk staff. Grumpy staff make for grumpy guests. One employee literally SIGHED into the phone at me. Some customer service training would be helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PriusGirlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Z, General Manager at Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for taking a minute and reviewing our hotel. I am sorry if my team came across grumpy. I can assure you this is not the norm we pride ourselves on treating each guest with respect and professionalism. If we failed to meet your expectations in this area I apologize and I assure you the matter will be addressed at the hotel. I am glad you found the hotel suitable for your stay and we hope you give us an opportunity to show you our improved hospitality on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
6.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hamilton
Residence Inn Hamilton
#3 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ewing Princeton South
7.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Ewing Princeton
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Newtown
5.1 mi away
Howard Johnson - Princeton/Lawrenceville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites

Property: Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites
Address: 1 W Lafayette St., Trenton, NJ 08608 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Trenton)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Trenton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites located in the downtown heart of Trenton welcomes you to a hospitality experience. Easily accessible from major routes, NJ-27, US-1, and I-295, the hotel is convenient for any traveler. Out of town? Not a problem. We are just a hop, skip and jump away from Newark International Airport and Philadelphia International Airport. Doing business in Trenton, Princeton and Bucks County, PA has never been so easy. Trenton, state capital, houses the NJ State House, NJ State Planetarium, Sun National Bank Center and Arm & Hammer Park (home of the Trenton Thunder), and lays off the beautiful Delaware River. Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites is within easy walking distance of all government buildings or in a drivable distance of 15 minutes to all of Trenton’s hot spots. Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites features exceptional amenities including 37” flat screen televisions, robust high speed Internet, a grab & go bar with Starbucks coffee, business center and fitness center. The hotel has a state of the art meeting and conference facilities. The on-property restaurant and lounge is ideal for an important lunch or dinner, or simply to unwind with delectable food and relaxed vibes. Whether you are bringing your family, your briefcase, or both, the Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites ensures your accommodation to be exceptional and stay extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lafayette Park Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenton Marriott At Lafayette Yard Hotel Trenton
Marriott Trenton
Marriott Lafayette Yard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing