We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOL AT JERSEY SHORE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Tuckerton B&B and Inns
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOL AT JERSEY SHORE”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Travelers seeking an off-beach Jersey Shore experience combined with personal touches should consider J.D. Thompson Inn, southern Ocean County. Innkeepers Catherine and Lorenzo are kind and gracious hosts who provide great leads on the best local restaurants and activities, as well as made-from-scratch, made-with-love breakfasts.Their midweek packages also keep this cozy mid-1850s stagecoach inn competitive with area chain hotels. In the spirit of an honest review, however, I need also to share three mild concerns experienced during my two-night stay. Although my wife and I slept well on a wonderful mattress, loud traffic from East Main Street (Route 9) was disturbing until well into the evening. And though convenient to restaurants and the Tuckerton Seaport, some of the inn's grandeur (check out the backyard gardens) is lost due to its location in Tuckerton's nondescript central commercial area. Finally, I'd like to see the inn reduce its collection of Victorian decorations that add, in my opinion, more "stuff" than charm. These concerns aside, Tuckerton is an ideal base for the shore visitor more interested in history and nature than tanning, and Catherine and Lorenzo will welcome you to J.D. Thompson Inn as they would their family.

Room Tip: Room #1 bed is delightful, but location in house picks up a lot of traffic noise. Rooms in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coachlobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for the third time at this very charming B & B in Tuckerton in early May. We always enjoy the great hospitality and friendliness of the owners, Catherine and Lorenzo, who welcome us like family. This time we stayed in room #1, which we believe is the largest room in the house. It is tastefully decorated and nicely appointed. For the hosts that were participating in the BassMan Half Triathlon that weekend, Catherine made sure to provide a very convenient "breakfast on-the-go" in the early morning with croissants, coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, and fruits. I was able to enjoy the nice breakfast they served later on Sunday morning, with a delicious omelet, toasts, and an antipasto made of roasted eggplants, sooo good!
This is our place to stay every time we go to Tuckerton and highly recommend to anyone visiting the area and needing a place to stay in the center of town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side a bit quieter since they are not facing the street. However, if you'd li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a wonderful B&B located in Tuckerton. Room was tastefully decorated, clean and Catherine's hospitality was first class. This was our overnight stop on the MS Coast to Coast bike ride. Enjoyed a restful night. Breakfast was self serve with everything you needed. On the expensive side, but well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I will be performing at the local libraries and need a place to hang our hats for a while and stay overnight.. We will be coming in on Friday night and staying till Sat afternoon. And although we have never been there..I feel compelled to write a review. Catherine, (who shares my name) was so polite and well spoken and extremely accommodating.. Because of the bad weather predictions, she assured us they we would not be charged a penalty if we could not make it this weekend.. How many hotels would do that for you? The answer is... None..

Oddly enough we had originally made a reservation at a small flea bag hotel.. I found out through the library that it was 40 minutes away from where we would be performing.. It was then that the library suggested the JD Thompson inn which was 5 minutes s away.. boy am I glad she did.. This place is GORGEOUS!! The pictures on the site are lovely.. Clearly I will be writing another review when we return.. I cannot wait for Friday!!!!

Room Tip: Room 5 looks beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I booked a two night stay to celebrate my husbands birthday. Our check in date turned out to be a cold and snowy day. Katherine ( the owner ) called and emailed me to offer me the option of cancelling without any penalties because of the weather, which was very nice. We came in anyway, and we were glad we did. The inn was beautiful and immaculate. Not a drop of snow or ice on any path and generously salted. The breakfast the following morning was yummy and very generous. We sat and chatted with Katherine and her husband Lorenzo as if we were old friends. They are perfect host. Will defenitley be back.

Room Tip: We had a room with a fireplace, but every room we saw looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmgjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. I wanted a place with comfortable beds near wildlife refuges and easy driving distance to beach. The bed was very comfortable, and tastefully chosen antique furniture was a bonus. Another big bonus was all the information from the owner for local touring. She offered this info from the very first reservation email and was fast in answering any additional information.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniefolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We came here on a whim because there was a great deal on Living Social. We have never stayed at a B & B before but we were well pleased. The owners were very accommodating of our food allergies. They gave us great tips of places to go and things to see in the area. We'll definitely come back when we want a quiet place to stay close to all the action of Atlantic City and LBI.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 5 seem to be a smaller than the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuckerton
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
8.0 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
116 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
60 reviews
12.9 mi away
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
6.1 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 7 in Beach Haven
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 149 E Main St, Tuckerton, NJ 08087-2661
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Tuckerton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tuckerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy romantic elegance on the Jersey Shore at the beautiful J. D. Thompson Inn, located in the historic town of Tuckerton, New Jersey. All our rooms are furnished with fine antiques and offer all modern amenities. Enjoy a delicious breakfast in our lovely dining room overlooking the garden. Visit the Tuckerton Seaport, bicycle in the Pine Barrens, Wharton State or Bass River forests or relax on the beach at Long Beach Island. Atlantic City is just 25 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing