We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably Would Not Stay Here Again”
Review of Surrey Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surrey Beach House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ventnor City
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Probably Would Not Stay Here Again”
Reviewed 24 April 2009

The location is great - just steps from the beach. No on site parking and if the tides are high you have to move your car to a main street a block away. Our first floor suite, while large, was next to the condo and the lights at night made the bedroom as bright as daytime. Never saw anyone from management. I felt we paid a lot of money for just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarchessadePolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    14
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
14
35
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Overall I wouldn't recommend the Surrey Beach House. I found the property overpriced for the amenities $279.00 (incl. tax). There were no beach towels or chairs to enjoy the beach at a 'beach house' property as well as no continental breakfast. Most of the time there wasn't anyone at the front desk so it was difficult to gain local advice or check out and if there was someone you felt like you were imposing on them. When I asked to use the bathroom right after I checked out -- the manager told me to go to the local porta-potty; well sorry but no thank you and no thank you to Surrey Beach House! In my opinion a couple would have a better experience for the same price staying at a local bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank phillynycgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2008

great location, just steps from beach and boardwalk (no amusements or shops) so what's not to love about that. in the off season you do get a better rate and amenities in room (no parking on site), but if your room is near the porch be prepared for visitors and their kids to be having a great time outside your window and the front lights to be on all night without the benefit of blackout shades. if you are in the hallway near the reception area you also hear the phone, voicemail, clack-clack of shoes as guest return at night. on the other hand you can walk to the hilton on the boards and feel safe; there is a great find called lisa's italian market a block away on atlantic; and if you love rustic italian try the new 'red room' on dorset, yum.

so why am i neutral about surrey beach house....they should try sleeping on the beds, maybe you get a better one away from noise for booking direct with a higher nightly rate. when i stayed here in 2007 i gave management the suggestion to correct the same issues. luckily for me i signed a lease for a single family house for my next trip to ventnor which has a great beach, and sac-o-subs will deliver lunch to you on the beach;)

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vista4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

Pros: great location, nice room, very clean, owners rebated me one night's board when i checked out early

Cons: huge condo property next door has blazing lights on all night in their parking garage, so my room was lit up like day all night long, making it difficult for me to sleep

Also, virtually no cell service in my room (maybe a plus for some!) but if I recall, there was no room phone, so I felt a little out of touch, being away from my kids.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capemay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2008

We stayed here for a night in February when we went to see a show in Atlantic City. The accomadations were, simple, comfortable & clean and the staff was great. Being the off season we got a great rate. We live in Cape May (where I work in a Bed & Breakfast) which is only about 40 mintues away but we were able to take a cab to the Borgata (less than 10 minutes) for dinner, drinks and the concert and not need to worry about drving all the way home afterwards. The rooms at the casinos can be really expensive, espeiclally for one night stays during special events so I highly reccommend the Surrey Beach House for a perfect date night.

  • Liked — Homey
  • Disliked — Rooms were a little smaller than typical hotel....it is an older (renovated) building and it didn't bother me but some people might want more space
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank katievz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We rented 2 rooms for Fri and Sat nights, July 27 and 28. The property was much nicer than it appeared in the photos, everything was clean and new. The beds were soft and very comfortable. Location is great, just 1/2 block from the Boardwalk and there is a bank (open on Sat) and bike rental shop at the corner on Atlantic Ave. One negative is the inn does not provide parking, so you have to park on the street. Surrey Ave is all metered (hence the need for the bank to get enough quarters), but you can park all day for $4.50 on the street and free after 6 pm. We did manage to find plenty of parking for free on Atlantic Ave, just a one block walk. The only problem we had was the tub drain was extremely slow, and even after we had the handyman plunge it and put drano down, it did not improve. The manager said the pipes are old. There are 2 lovely verandas, one covered downstairs and an uncovered one up, which has nice chairs and a view of the ocean. The rooms have small kitchenettes with mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker, which we found very useful. My room with 2 double beds was a corner unit upstairs and had a very nice ocean breeze coming through all night.

Overall, I totally enjoyed staying at Surrey Beach House. Price was $250 per night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — old pipes
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank free2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

We recently took a mini-vacation to Ventnor, a beach town about a mile from Atlantic City, NJ. We were very lucky to get a last-minute weeknight reservation at the Surrey Beach House.

Positives: The managers were friendly but unobtrusive and answered emailed questions really quickly. Comfortable beds, flat screen televisions, and kitchenettes in most rooms. Breezy, nicely furnished common-area decks. Very clean and well-kept. Excellent location--just a few steps to the beach and a less than two mile walk on the boardwalk to the casino area of AC. We loved the place for its character and tranquil, relaxed feel.

Negatives: It all depends on what you're looking for. If you are looking for something luxurious, this may not be the place. As I mentioned, it has the 'character' of an old building, including slow plumbing. While we had no problem finding street parking on a weeknight, there is no lot or assigned spaces.

Overall: we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning before the end of the summer.

  • Liked — Location, amenities, service
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JerseyGirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor City
2.4 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,054 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic City Oceanfront-Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,780 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,469 reviews
3.8 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
17,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surrey Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrey Beach House

Property: Surrey Beach House
Address: 109 S Surrey Ave, Ventnor City, NJ 08406-2856
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ventnor City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ventnor City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Surrey Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated boutique accommodations are located along the famed Atlantic City Boardwalk, just steps from the beach. Surrey Beach House is nestled in the historic seaside town of Ventnor and offers the perfect place for a romantic getaway, business traveler, family reunion or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Surrey Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surrey Beach House Hotel Ventnor City
Surrey Beach Hotel
Surrey Beach House Ventnor City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing