We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this boutique hotel!”
Review of Surrey Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surrey Beach House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ventnor City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 July 2007

We recently took a mini-vacation to Ventnor, a beach town about a mile from Atlantic City, NJ. We were very lucky to get a last-minute weeknight reservation at the Surrey Beach House.

Positives: The managers were friendly but unobtrusive and answered emailed questions really quickly. Comfortable beds, flat screen televisions, and kitchenettes in most rooms. Breezy, nicely furnished common-area decks. Very clean and well-kept. Excellent location--just a few steps to the beach and a less than two mile walk on the boardwalk to the casino area of AC. We loved the place for its character and tranquil, relaxed feel.

Negatives: It all depends on what you're looking for. If you are looking for something luxurious, this may not be the place. As I mentioned, it has the 'character' of an old building, including slow plumbing. While we had no problem finding street parking on a weeknight, there is no lot or assigned spaces.

Overall: we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning before the end of the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JerseyGirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2007

This is a fantastic property that has been updated with very comfortable rooms with everything from high quality linens and toiletries to new beds and flat screen cable TV's with built in DVD players. The Managers have tons of "locals" insights for things to do and places to eat in and around the area and are available for questions as needed. We were able to relax on both the upper porch looking out onto the beach and the lower shaded porch while enjoying lunch/dinner and cocktails. The location is an nice, leisurely walk up the boardwalk to the casinos, restaurants and shopping areas. This property gives you the advantage of a quite beach location with the ease of getting into the tick of the Atlantic City Boardwalk and casino scene. I look forward to my next stay at this great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TKMWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2007

This is a perfect place to get away from the crowds in AC and not be too far away. Stayed in the one bedroom King suite. Very impressed!! Had 2 bathrooms, a nice bedroom with a 15" LCD TV, separate living room and a separate full kitchen with table. Private entrance to our place made it easy to access without having to go in the main entrance all the time. Staff is the best! A stones throw away from the beach! Will definitely return- highly recommend to everyone!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank runningman5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2006

Charming guesthouse that is tastefully decorated. It's located practically on the beach. Also convenient to several very good, inexpensive restaurants. The management was very helpful and easy-going.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BriWms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2006

The beach house was cute, clean and the managers are very nice. The beds are very comfortable, we loved the flat screen TV and having a mini fridge in the room.

The beach house is right by the beach, so it was nice to come out and feel the cool breeze and hear the waves. The boardwalk is about 5 minutes away driving distance, with all the restaurants. Wawa is around the corner, which was convenient.

I probably wouldn't stay there again because you can hear the people next to you and all around. It was torture for me since I'm a very light sleeper. Oh, and the bathrooms might need a little updating. The tub grossed me out a bit because it had mold around the spout and the soap holder.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank daffund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2006

When traveling to Ventor/Margate/Longport, there are not too many hotel available in which to stay (at least nice ones). We were pleasantly surprised by the Surrey Beach House. It has recently been remodeled and it is under new management as of April 2006. The staff is very pleasant and accomodating (they allowed us to check out of the hotel at 3:00 instead of the normal noon check out time). The hotel is clean and has some modern amenities such as flat screen televisions with DVD players. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is one building over from the beach and boardwalk. The rooms have kitchenettes and there is a Wawa a few blocks away where you can stock up on snacks and refreshments. We will be returning to Ventor later this summer and we definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2006

Please ignore the "bizarre staff!" review from 2002. I believe the establishment is under new management since then.

In any case, we enjoyed our stay at the Surrey Hotel (aka Surrey Beach House). The property is well managed and rates are good value. The location is just a few yards from the boardwalk and the beach. The rooms are comfortably sized with bed(s), a table and chairs, a chest of drawers, a TV and a small but serviceable bathroom.

Our room included a kitchenette (with microwave, refrigerator, a two-element electric stovetop) and plates, pans, glasses and flatware. Maybe the one negative for self-catering guests is that the nearest supermarket is not within what most Americans would consider to be walking distance. (It was a little more than a half hour's walk each way.) For guests without a car, the #505 bus stop is a block and a half away and the bus route terminates just a half-block away from the supermarket in Margate, the adjacent town.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ValueValueValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor City
2.2 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,931 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic City Oceanfront-Boardwalk
2.4 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
18,697 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surrey Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrey Beach House

Address: 109 S Surrey Ave, Ventnor City, NJ 08406-2856
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ventnor City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ventnor City
Price Range: £60 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surrey Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated boutique accommodations are located along the famed Atlantic City Boardwalk, just steps from the beach. Surrey Beach House is nestled in the historic seaside town of Ventnor and offers the perfect place for a romantic getaway, business traveler, family reunion or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surrey Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surrey Beach House Hotel Ventnor City
Surrey Beach Hotel
Surrey Beach House Ventnor City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing