We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A carefree getaway so close to home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We wanted to get away for a night but not too far from home. When I booked the Appalachian I was praying it looked the the website picture and when we pulled up surprising it did. We always go to the water park and thought about staying and this time we did. From the two bedroom suite to the view from the room , to the staff all was AMAZING a personal thank you to both Dennin Schmidt and John you guys were wonderful and helped our staf become even more comfortable. This place is definitely on our to-do list. We are looking into going back in September for October Feast!!!

Room Tip: Bring your own food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank China R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at the Black Creek Sanctuary for a family reunion this summer. The Black Creek Sanctuary is a development of privately owned 2 and 3 bedroom condos just down a road across from the Appalachian hotel. The condos are rented out by the Crystal Springs Resort company, but privately owned which became problematic for our stay. The condos themselves are ok and in decent shape having been recently renovated. They are not slopeside, so you will need to drive or take the shuttle to the mountain/water park. There is a pool complex for the condos that we used. In the kiddie pool, there were what we initially thought were small rocks but turned out to be poop! We reported this to the facility people, and they came and took care of it. Now, here is where the story gets interesting. There were many children at the pool, but by the time we reported it (after about an hour in the pool- disgusting, I know), there was just us (a large group with many children, including one 2 year old) and some other people with older kids (including at least one homeowner I guess). Naturally, the maintenance person asked us if the 2 year old had "done it", but this poop was noticed before we went in the pool, and I personally inspected his swim diaper which was clean. The next morning, we returned to the pool complex, but were met by a security guard and a woman who turned out to be a homeowner, and told we were not allowed in because we were checking out that day. When we pressed the matter, the woman told us she was a member of the homeowner's association, and that the truth was we were not allowed back in because our 2 year old had pooped in the pool. We vehemently denied this, but she said she had followed us back to our condos yesterday, and had proof! Of course, no proof was shown, but we were not allowed in the pool. I almost felt that even if there was no turd incident, we would not have been allowed back at the pool due to "preconceptions". We complained to the management, who in all fairness, did what they could, but because the Black Creek Sanctuary is privately owned, they had no jurisdiction so to speak. There were so many things wrong about this situation, that it was comical. Anyways, be aware of the ownership/management situation of this property, and that at least some of the owners are hostile to renters.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BTmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great place to go in the winter if you are from NY, only 45 minute drive from Manhattan. Beautiful scenery, inexpensive and fun. We heard from many people they are open in the summer.. Can't wait to visit again.

The hotel is outdated but not bad, if you are looking to snowboard or ski just a quick drive from the city then this place is right for you.

Room Tip: overlooking the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This motel is very well kept, clean etc. Staff was very helpful, had to leave a day early no problem. Bed was very comfortable, updated tv, refrig and microwave. This is the only motel for many miles. Breakfast area was small but food was good. The standard fare for Quality Inns.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My granddaughter had stayed here several years ago for ski trips and thought it was great. Earlier this winter I read some negative comments on Trip Advisor and almost did not book again, but we are so glad we did. The location could not be better for skiing Mountain Creek. Parking is in a heated underground garage with elevator service to the ski locker rooms; the ski lifts are right outside the doors. Our unit was as nice and clean as our earlier stays when the hotel was newer. There is a huge new lodge with three restaurants next door. We liked the Schuss restaurant for wood-fired pizza and very nice starters. The more formal restaurant does not allow children under ten, so we did not try it, but Schuss was fine for us for a weekend. If we were there for an extended period, I would just cook in: the kitchen is clean and well-equipped for simple meals. The staff at checkin were very helpful and efficient. We will definitely be back next winter.

Room Tip: Slopeside with balcony is my favorite choice here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed for 3 days starting on Presidents day 2013. We rented directly from an owner for much less than what the hotel would have charged. We did not have internet or TV service which according to the hotel was a problem unrelated to them. We rented a 2nd floor 1 bedroom condo with a mini kitchenette. Our unit was clean and everything other than TV/internet was in working order. The front desk was friendly and helpful and loaned us some games and DVDs since we could not watch TV. We are a family of 5 so this condo provided much more room than the typical hotel room and we were able to make some simple breakfasts and lunches. There were no laundry facilities in the condo but the hotel has a few machines guests can use which work with quarters. Our kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub on a rainy February day. The pool is heated but it would be much better if it was indoors. The exercise room is tiny with only a few pieces of equipment. The location at the base of the ski slope was great for the convenience of going back and forth. Grand Cascades and Minerals require one to drive or take a shuttle in order to reach the ski lodge. The sound proofing in the hotel is not the best, We did hear a good deal of noise from the hallway and the heating system was noisy as well. The heated underground parking was a nice feature. You do not have access to the pools at Grand Cascades and Minerals when you stay here. We were told the fees to use those pools range from $50 to $100 per person per day if you are not staying at one of those hotels, so consider staying elsewhere if you want more than a basic outdoor pool. If we ski at Mountain Creek again we would consider staying at the Appalachian. With kids convenience is sometimes more valuable than amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Appalachian for the Presdients weekend. We had a great experience. The hotel looked brand new. It was very clean, cozy and comfortable. The entire staff was very friendly and always willing to go out their way to assist.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
3.2 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,848 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
1.0 mi away
Minerals Hotel
Minerals Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vernon
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary

Address: 200 State Rt 94, Vernon, NJ 07462-3323
Region: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Vernon
Price Range: £146 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Creek offers luxury hotel and vacation condo rental lodging for your Appalachian Mountain vacation in Northern New Jersey. The surrounding Vernon Valley area offers fantastic dining, 12 golf courses, antiquing, wineries, horseback riding, apple orchards, quaint shops, stunning state parks, the Space Farms zoo, hiking and of course, world-class snowboarding, skiing and snow tubing in the winter. Your perfect family getaway or romantic weekend to remember awaits you. We'll exceed all your expectations at Mountain Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary Hotel Vernon
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian And Black Creek Sanctuary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing