We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place ever if you bring your own food!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best place ever if you bring your own food!!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I am in love with the simple beauty and location of this hotel. You truly feel as tho you are in your own condo overlooking a mountain paradise.

We went off season so unfortunately there was no food or even coffee onsite. We had to drive to Dunkin donuts about 1/2 mile to get coffee and even further for breakfast. However, you can make your own coffee and breakfast in the beautiful amenities this location provides.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniellaM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    69
    36
    37
    25
See reviews for
143
66
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york, N.Y.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Is a shame how people have the nerve of charge for something they don't give, like a Appalachian hotel same as Black Creek, charge for a room almost $300.00 per night, when the place is so nasty, beds spread smell like a homeless blanket, big stains on it, like someone was in honeymoon and want it to show it! A/C filters so dirty that all you breath is dirt, bathrooms are far away from been clean, you find pubic hairs on toilets and all over the floor, towels have bad stains, and shower curtains mold all over, is not pleasant you walk in with kids to stay for a weekend and enjoy water park, when in the bottom of night stand I saw a used condom!!!! Whom check this rooms? How you rent a room like this? Called the manager and and she said "I'm really sorry but all I can do is give $50.00 discount, I told her is not about money!! I need a clean room, later they sent a housekeeping lady that talked my ears off! And she told me, I don't recommend this restaurants as well, they serve old food, if you walk into their kitchen you maybe puke!! Really???? It means the place is a joke! a ripoff Will never go back to than nasty place! Stay away from them...

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Armybutterfly312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Have stayed at all 4 lodging venues with access to MountainCreek skiing/biking/water parks. Each has its own positives. This post is about Appalachian and Black Creek Sanctuary but there are people who have made comments below that apply to the other 2 properties - Mineral Springs and Great Gorge. This is misleading as they do not mention this in their posts. Appalachian and Black Creek Sanctuary are newer properties built in the 2000s with up to date amenities. Both have outdoor pools and hot tubs (but only Appalachian's is open year round). Appalachian Hotel/Condos is a beautiful ski-ink/ski-out 4 story hotel, located next to the brand new Red Tail Lodge at the base of Vernon Peak. It's a great place to stay for beautiful views, easy ski/bike/water park access. Black Creek Sanctuary is a gated community of condos across the road and below the Vernon slopes. Slopes can be accessed by walking a bit and crossing the foot bridge to the Red Tail Lodge area. It's condo units are beautiful and very nicely equipped. Great place to stay if you are looking for a quieter, peaceful property or are coming with a group of people and need a larger place to stay. It also has access to a creek below it where one can canoe. Both Appalachian and Black Creek are close to the Hawk's Nest Restaurant (beautiful restaurant with mountain view!), Schuss Bar and outdoor Biergarten at the Red Tail Lodge. Mineral Springs is the 3rd property mentioned by some below. This property is a large hotel about 30-40 years old. It has been updated but it is not like the new properties. It is down the road from the others at the base of Granite Peak. It has access to a quad chair lift (usually the last to open and first to close each season). Mineral Springs has a full sports club (dated though) and an indoor pool with outdoor access + other outdoor pools. There is also an indoor basketball/ court, handball and tennis courts, great for keeping kids occupied. Mineral Springs doesn't have the upscale feel of the others but it is a great place for children/teens (if you don't mind the smell of the chlorine from the pool when you enter the building). Kites Restaurant and Bar is also located on premises. The last is Great Gorge Village. This is also a gated community of condos on the mountain on Granite/Bear Peaks. Many have direct mountain access but these condos are also about 30-40 years old. This is just fine if you get a renovated unit just make sure you don't get an original, foul-smelled unit if you stay here. If I had to stay at one of the properties again, I would probably choose the Appalachian. It has the access to everything, it's new, has a nice ambience and maintains the upscale feel I prefer (not the place to stay if you're looking for a noisy venue though). All properties have shuttle access to all amenities.

Room Tip: Appalachian -Top floor is the best, has higher ceilings and great views, 1st floor also has higher c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank viknats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just returned from the picturesque Black Creek condos after a family reunion. We had booked approx. 10+ units, arranged for a full dinner, brunch the next day, etc - safe to say we collectively spent thousands of dollars for a memorable weekend. While we had a wonderful weekend, enjoyed the comfortable rooms and had a lovely dinner at the Appalachian - we all left with a healthy dose of disrespect from the HOA/management that apparently a previous poster also experienced! We scouted out many locations for this event and chose Black Creek for its open lawn area, with gas grills and picnic tables. We intended on using these for a Sat. Afternoon picnic. As we began setting up, we were informed that we could not use this area - BECAUSE WE DIDN'T HAVE A PERMIT!? We were told we didn't sign the proper contract for this type of set up - even hinting that we may have been too loud the night before (although NO Security personnel ever came around telling us this). Our family rep had to then make several calls, two supervisors came down and eventually said we could use 2 of the gas grills and only 2 picnic tables (for over 60 people). The same gentleman who initially informed us that we were not allowed to picnic, then stood guard at the pool entrance the ENTIRE time, checking our wristbands to make sure we had permission to use the pool. While we were trying to help some of our elders find a place to sit down, we began to realize that our cars were being TICKETED for the bumbers hanging over the curb by 6 inches!!! Like the previous poster expressed, it was comical how badly they did not want our presence there - duly noted!!! Next Family Reunion, we will NOT darken the doorway of Black Creek Sanctuary! I would, however be remiss if I didn't mention the staff from the Appalachian, very helpful and pleasant to deal with!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kewood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We wanted to get away for a night but not too far from home. When I booked the Appalachian I was praying it looked the the website picture and when we pulled up surprising it did. We always go to the water park and thought about staying and this time we did. From the two bedroom suite to the view from the room , to the staff all was AMAZING a personal thank you to both Dennin Schmidt and John you guys were wonderful and helped our staf become even more comfortable. This place is definitely on our to-do list. We are looking into going back in September for October Feast!!!

Room Tip: Bring your own food
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank China R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at the Black Creek Sanctuary for a family reunion this summer. The Black Creek Sanctuary is a development of privately owned 2 and 3 bedroom condos just down a road across from the Appalachian hotel. The condos are rented out by the Crystal Springs Resort company, but privately owned which became problematic for our stay. The condos themselves are ok and in decent shape having been recently renovated. They are not slopeside, so you will need to drive or take the shuttle to the mountain/water park. There is a pool complex for the condos that we used. In the kiddie pool, there were what we initially thought were small rocks but turned out to be poop! We reported this to the facility people, and they came and took care of it. Now, here is where the story gets interesting. There were many children at the pool, but by the time we reported it (after about an hour in the pool- disgusting, I know), there was just us (a large group with many children, including one 2 year old) and some other people with older kids (including at least one homeowner I guess). Naturally, the maintenance person asked us if the 2 year old had "done it", but this poop was noticed before we went in the pool, and I personally inspected his swim diaper which was clean. The next morning, we returned to the pool complex, but were met by a security guard and a woman who turned out to be a homeowner, and told we were not allowed in because we were checking out that day. When we pressed the matter, the woman told us she was a member of the homeowner's association, and that the truth was we were not allowed back in because our 2 year old had pooped in the pool. We vehemently denied this, but she said she had followed us back to our condos yesterday, and had proof! Of course, no proof was shown, but we were not allowed in the pool. I almost felt that even if there was no turd incident, we would not have been allowed back at the pool due to "preconceptions". We complained to the management, who in all fairness, did what they could, but because the Black Creek Sanctuary is privately owned, they had no jurisdiction so to speak. There were so many things wrong about this situation, that it was comical. Anyways, be aware of the ownership/management situation of this property, and that at least some of the owners are hostile to renters.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BTmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great place to go in the winter if you are from NY, only 45 minute drive from Manhattan. Beautiful scenery, inexpensive and fun. We heard from many people they are open in the summer.. Can't wait to visit again.

The hotel is outdated but not bad, if you are looking to snowboard or ski just a quick drive from the city then this place is right for you.

Room Tip: overlooking the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
3.2 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
10.4 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary

Property: Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary
Address: 200 State Rt 94, Vernon, NJ 07462-3323
Region: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Creek offers luxury hotel and vacation condo rental lodging for your Appalachian Mountain vacation in Northern New Jersey. The surrounding Vernon Valley area offers fantastic dining, 12 golf courses, antiquing, wineries, horseback riding, apple orchards, quaint shops, stunning state parks, the Space Farms zoo, hiking and of course, world-class snowboarding, skiing and snow tubing in the winter. Your perfect family getaway or romantic weekend to remember awaits you. We'll exceed all your expectations at Mountain Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian And Black Creek Sanctuary
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing