We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just spent Saturday night here to ski Sunday.

The hotel room was okay. The paint was fresh with no gashesin the walls from skis that I expected. Room was a good size with sofa and kitchenette (but smelled from the last guest's breakfast). Wood trim was nice and in great shape. Bathroom was roomy. Great water pressure in the shower and bath towels were surprisingly nice. Rug seemed clean enough. I wonder if it was just a coincidence that the room phone didn't work to call the front desk?

The downsides....... Walls and ceilings are paper-thin with a lot of noise all around. Bed was AWFUL! Not a stitch of comfort from the rock-hard bed and scratchy linens. Headboard was attractive but painful if you hit the molding all over it. Tiny TV (good channel selections). Could not manage the thermostat - just opened the door and window to cool off. Curtains did not darken the room once morning came.

Our biggest turn offs....... Checkout is Noon which isn't bad these days. If you want late checkout, not a problem.... with a fee of $50 for 2 hours. The room keys are deactivated at Noon. I was trying to get my last bit of luggage out at 12:06pm and couldn't get in the room. Had to go to the front desk to reactivate the key and was sternly reminded of a Noon checkout.

Overall, the hotel is crawling with children on the weekend who run everywhere with little attention from parents. I think many of the unit owners get comfortable to think they own the hotel an can do what they want. I didn't use the outdoor heated pool, but every child in the hotel did use it late in the evening.

There is no restaurant on site, but there is a lobby bar that for some reason thinks you keep red wine is a freezing cold refrigerator. There is some sort of very limited bagel/muffin breakfast at the bar in the AM, but recommend you go out (see Mixing Pot reviews).

Skiing was okay too. I'm a terrible skier and thought I wouldn't survive the ice. Only the lower trails were icy. Higher up (greens) were pretty good.

Red Tail pub had much to be desired with weak drinks and very unfriendly service IF you were over 35. The young bartenders seemed to give fine service to their peers.

We'd probably ski here agan, but unlikely stay here.

Room Tip: Be on 4th floor so you don't have the loud noise overhead from the above room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunFunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

For as expensive as this place was I expected top rate service! I was sadly mistaken. There was a stain on the carpet of our room that looked like blood. The fridge made a high pitch noise all night. There was a stain on our sheets that also looked like blood. I called housekeeping and they changed the sheets and maintenance tried to fix the fridge but it still made a loud noise. The vending machines did not work. The lobby bar closed early on Saturday night and the only place to hang out was the lodge which had a horrible band playing and you had to pay 25$ to go see. We made reservations for 10 at the restaurant and they seated us at two different tables not letting us know ahead of time. The staff was friendly but not very informed or coordinated with each other.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcclureat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Awesome experience in New Jersey. I have started skiing here last year as it is close to home and I have little ones learning to ski. We decided to get a room for the night as ski conditions after storm don't get any better then after this latest storm. Plus I did not feel like dealing with the roads. Hotel is great and super clean. Rooms are well appointed and perfectly maintained. Outdoor pool was just what the kids wanted. Thank fully we packed bathing suits just in case. Just like the ski area the precious owners have put a lot of money into this place and it shows both in the hotel and in the main base area. Great day trip place but if you are looking to spend the night this is the place to do it.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Madskiervt109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Appalachian in a private rental. The room was clean and exactly as pictured. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. They told us how to access the room, called shuttle service for us and made reservations for us. The location is perfect. Right on the mountain with ski in/ski off options. The shuttle service makes getting around the resort easy and convenient. Underground parking was a nice perk and was included with our stay. The hotel bar is teeny tiny but hey, it still serves booze. Also, the pool and hot tub are open. Out first night we drove into town for dinner. Our second night we used the shuttle service to go to the sister hotel, Mineral Springs Spa and have dinner there. We would definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

If it has been more than a year since you have visited, GO! The additional activities, amenities, accommodations and restaurants are really great. Fortunately our snow conditions were great. But the addition of the Alpine Coaster, zip line, and Soaring Eagle ensure fun regardless of conditions. The staff is plenty and friendly. The lessons and instructors are great. Our son (2 days before turning 7) took a group lesson which was just ok. The 2nd day we put him in a private lesson. If you can afford it...do it! He got more out of the 1 1/2 hr private lesson than he did from 5 hours of group. His instructor Ingrid was awesome. I also want to note for repeat visitors they have moved and improved the learning area. It now includes 2 magic carpets and multiple areas for different skills (turns, hills, etc). And the snow tubing area "Drop Zone" has also been moved, improved & expanded. Also shuttles run very frequently between all areas of the resort. Kudos Mountain Creek! Keep up the great work,

Room Tip: The Appalachian is the option if you want ski on ski off. Very convenient for our family with two k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildmanjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends whilst travelling the States. Found the room clean and tidy with nice surroundings. Used the swimming pools which again were clean. Staff were all very pleasant and the room itself was huge! Was like our own little house instead of a hotel room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed here this winter with a friend and our 5 kids, and it was perfect for us. Our room was very spacious (2 bedrooms, 1 living room w/ pullout couch, 2 bathrooms, kitchen w/ bar area) and, even better, it was about 50 feet from the chairlift. We could sit on the back porch and watch the kids as they came down the bunny hill. Staff was very nice. Outdoor pool and hot tub were heated enough that even I was willing to go in and the kids had a blast swimming. I agree with other reviewers that this was not the cleanest or most luxurious place for the price (and I certainly wouldn't come here if it were just me and my spouse), but for a family ski vacation with easy access to the slopes, it was perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VermontMama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
3.2 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,859 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#2 of 6 in Milford
384 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
1 mi away
Minerals Hotel
Minerals Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vernon
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary

Address: 200 State Rt 94, Vernon, NJ 07462-3323
Region: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Vernon
Price Range: £144 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Creek offers luxury hotel and vacation condo rental lodging for your Appalachian Mountain vacation in Northern New Jersey. The surrounding Vernon Valley area offers fantastic dining, 12 golf courses, antiquing, wineries, horseback riding, apple orchards, quaint shops, stunning state parks, the Space Farms zoo, hiking and of course, world-class snowboarding, skiing and snow tubing in the winter. Your perfect family getaway or romantic weekend to remember awaits you. We'll exceed all your expectations at Mountain Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary Hotel Vernon
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian And Black Creek Sanctuary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing