We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, charm, charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Vernon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2008

We stayed at the lovely Alpine Haus B&B while visiting friends who live nearby. What a gem of a place! All the rooms are charming and comfortable. The owners are very experienced at running a B&B and know what their guests expect. We stayed first in the Edelweiss Room....very sweet with a high bed and wonderfully comfortable mattress and linens. We extended our stay, but since the room we were in was booked, we moved to a larger room, the Violet Suite, which was even nicer. The Violet has a nice sitting area, a fireplace, and a large bath with both a shower and jacuzzi tub. Again the bed was dreamy. If you are looking for a quiet room, I would recommend the Violet Suite, or any room that doesn't face the busy road out front. The breakfast served by the owners was nicely balanced (fresh fruit, muffins, cereal and a hot breakfast entree). While there is no choice of breakfast, and the breakfast time is at a fixed time, the breakfast was served nicely. If you expect a larger, made to order breakfast, there are restaurants nearby. We would gladly stay at the Alpine Haus again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MsEllen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2008

I stayed here with my girlfriend for one night this winter. We had booked at the last minute, and the only room available was the Alpine Pink room, a smaller sized room on the top level.

The room was immaculate and nicely appointed in a grandmother style. Although small, the room was very cozy and had a view of the slopes. The sheets were incredibly soft and the blanket was warm, which was good, since we didn't know to turn on the space heater at night and it got rather cold.

If you're 6 feet or taller, I wouldn't recommend the Alpine Pink room, as the bed was rather small and with the footboard made it pretty cramped.

As this is an old building, there is a fair amount of noise that passes between the rooms. The incredibly noisy bathroom fans, televisions and road traffic could keep you up. But bring earplugs and you'll have no problem falling asleep on the luxuriously soft beds.

Breakfast was adequate but uninspired. We were presented with a fruit salad of crinkle-cut mellons. A muffin, toast, jam, some sort of baked egg and cheese thing, and three mini sausage rounds, all of which tasted good and filled us up, but all of which you could have bought pre-made at wal-mart a week earlier. They have a lot of room for improvement on this front.

The location is the best thing about this Inn (assuming you are skiing at Mountain Creek and driving from NYC). You can easily walk the 100 yards or so to the ski lodge, although since there are no sidewalks it might be safer to drive, as silly as it seems.

The friendly owners can help you find dinner in the area too. You can drive a short distance to some decent fine or family dining establishments.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would recommend this inn to others.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamblinnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

This was the 3rd B&B that we stayed at together.... WE went on Memorial Day weekend!! The room was perfect.. Very cozy and quaint... Allison and Jack were excellent hosts!! Their recommendations ROCKED!! We were planning on taking a hike the 1st day we were there and they recomended Wawayanda State Park... We took a hike on one of the trails and then the best thing ever happened to me... WE got ENGAGED!! What a wonderful engagement weekend we had!! I couldn't have asked for anything more!! Thank you Alpine Haus for the memories!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

This was the second time we stayed at a B and B and we were a bit nervous since our first experience was not good (at some place in Vermont). We were pleasantly surprised! The rooms were quaint and the beds were comfortable! The best part was breakfast! The inn keepers start you off with fruit and muffin and then a nice hot breakfast to start the day! Plenty to do in the area and the inn keepers gave excellant restaurant recommendations. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank karn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank escalantegaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Spiritus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Breno T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
3.4 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,878 reviews
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area
16 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
696 reviews
1.2 mi away
Minerals Hotel
Minerals Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vernon
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 217 State Rt 94, Vernon, NJ 07462-3305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Price Range: £113 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing