We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hoagies Around”

Giovanni's Italian American
Ranked #9 of 138 Restaurants in Vineland
Restaurant details
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Hoagies Around”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I am a vegetarian so I get a hoagie with FRESH mozzarella and roasted peppers. It's amazing every time. We live around the corner so whenever we have friends over and we want to nosh, we run down to Giovanni's to grab some hoagies and everyone loves them!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank reanbean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Real Deal Deli”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Forget About It! I walked in this authentic deli and spent ten minutes just looking at all of the italian goodness on the shelves! I ordered turkey and swiss sandwich. The sandwich was huge, off the charts great bread, fresh meat, cheese and I couldn't finish half, let alone the whole sandwich. I wanted to buy the olives, tomatoes, you name it and take it all home. The deli showcase full of all kinds of salads, peppers and I will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadDogCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is not on the main drag, my Brother-in-law told us of a "real Italian" deli. When we walked in the Love theme from "The Godfather" was playing. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I know they open at 7:00 a.m. for breakfast, with such items as a eggs and prosciutto hoagie. I had their version of a muffalata my husband had their premo italian. Both were very tasty. while we were waiting I drapped on the case and admired the cheeses, meats, salads and nice selection of roasted long hots, roasted eggplant, artichoke hearts, mushrooms, roasted bell peppers and olive salad. While I was draped on the case the gentleman at the counter asked if I needed assistance and I explained I was only admiring the beautiful cheeses, he leaned in closer, looked me in the eye and said, I have mozzarella in the back that has cream in the center. They have a small but very good section of groceries, breads, hand made ravioli. When we left Dean Martin was singing, "That's Amore' "-and I was in love. If only they shipped!

As this is a grocery, this is take out only, which is not uncommon for a good hoagie shop in South Jersey.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieWinter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I am fortunate to live near Giovanni's so I order at least a couple of times a week. Salads are enormous and very reasonably priced. They sill have $4.99 Italian Hoagies. Grandsons favorite place for breakfast sandwiches also

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hokies13vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giovanni's Italian American also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Italian American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing