We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wall Township
Orange, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Checked in, saw room and immediately checked out. Room had foul odor, bedspread had burn marks, floor did not feel 'stable', staff did not speak English fluently, failed to read reviews prior to booking, but so happy I checked out immediately! Looked like I was in a 'seedy' place!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea58048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    4
    0
    20
See reviews for
4
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

DO NOT STAY at this disgusting, flea-bag "motel". Rooms were filthy, staff was barely literate, smell was foul! As the reviewer below me notes, sleep in your car before you book a room at the "Slum on the Shore's" motel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jw1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wall Township hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Booked this place over the internet because it was "formerly the Comfort Inn." They are liars because the former Comfort Inn is three properties north on the same highway. Paid $269 each for two rooms for a family wedding. Their idea of curb appeal are three stained, filthy, wet mattresses propped up against the building in front. This faces a dilapidated swimming pool full of weeds. We could not pull into the parking space in front of the room due to the mounds of garbage piled up. The rooms were without a doubt the most disgraceful hotel rooms that any of us had ever seen. The smell made us gag. The furniture and carpets were stained, ripped and had cigarette burns. We immediately asked for our money back. The desk people could not have been less accommodating and refused. When we were trying to get our money back, another young man staying there complained to the desk clerk about the roaches in his room. They were not interested. I called customer service for the 800 number for the Comfort Inn and got a supervisor named Chuck who was as ignorant as the staff at the Rodeway Inn and refused to offer us any assistance. Choice Hotels will never get a dime of my business. This includes all of their properties: Comfort Inn, Comfort Suites, Quality, Sleep Inn, Clarion, Cambria Suites, MainStay Suites, Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Econo Lodge and Rodeway Inn. I am writing next to the CEO, Stephen Joyce. I have names and details and am not going to let this go until I get my refund!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anonymous60827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

This is the worst stay of my life. Dirty, noisy, falling apart, advertising misleading, nasty front desk clerk. Enough said.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaribbeanBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

Long story short… Myself and three friends went down to the shore area because of the nice weather, we started heading back my car started acting up so we needed a place to stay until the next day. So because I’m only 19 and both friends were 18 getting a room was difficult, so we finally came across this hell hole. It was 80 a night for 2 pp, we had 3 so it came to be like 120 with tax. The rooms look nothing like the photos!! OK we go to the room and first of all ITS FREEZING, the heater in the room was off and half way broken, all the header units in the hallsways were turned off too, the bathroom had a broken window, the beds were harder then rocks, and didn’t look that clean, also there was no phone in the room. There was no breakfast offered in the lobby the next morning

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Djonemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2007

Oh where to start.. On line their website boasts this as the "Rodeway Inn" get there and go past it because the sign outside say "Roadway Motel". Okay. Pull in and see the sign "No refund after 10 minutes". That should have just read "turn back now." There was a large group of us celebrating our friend's, who lives close by to the hotel, Birthday. We all had adjoining rooms, which was fine as there was about 20 or so of us, so we could all just chill out in peoples rooms and open the doors between. One friend opened her adjoining door to find the frame was being held on with tape, and fell when she opened it. My shower head had mold all over it and my mold allergy flared up even with the window opened. The topper was when the police came by and told us the hotel was known for seedy activity and someone called in thinking we were a prostitute ring. Just what you want to be thought of while celebrating with all your friends. The police officer said the hotel is a know drug and prostitute den. Awesome.. Members of our group also got approached by people there looking to buy drugs. Thats just not our thing.
The website says it was "recently renovated". They need to put more $$ in. The flooring after the middle door was soft, almost bouncy. Felt like whatever was there would snap at any moment. Just needs more $$ put into it, and maybe some "do not disturb" signs so you feel like you are at a hotel and not an hourly place. ugh.

Next time we will stay in Belmar.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2005

To say that it was a nightmare would be putting it lightly. After paying $100.00 for one night my wife and I were put in a room the looked as thou
it had not been cleaned in a year. The bathroom was full of mold, the blinds were filthy and broken along with the window. There was mold along the baseboards in the bedroom, the blanket and comforter had burn holes in them. The microwave was disgusting. The toilet bowl was not secure to the floor. Even the bible in the room was torn and covered in I have knoe idea. If I and my wife were not stranded for the night we would have been better off sleeping in our car. Please beware this place should be demolished and rebuilt.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall Township
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Wall at Monmouth Shores Corporate Park
2.0 mi away
Sea Girt Lodge
Sea Girt Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sea Girt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.6 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
3.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#3 of 6 in Neptune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1837 Highway State Route 35, Wall Township, NJ 07719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Wall Township
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wall Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Wall
Wall Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing