We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset Hills Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge(Basking Ridge)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Hotel(Somerset)
US$97
US$83
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
57
41
37
42
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
41
37
42
53
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My daughter had her wedding several weeks ago at the Somerset Hills Hotel. I must admit because we never attended a wedding at the venue we were apprehensive. We chose the venue because my daughter and her husband wanted a hotel setting where they could have the wedding (outside area was charming) and reception without having to transport the guests. The wedding was great! Everything from the food to the service was more than we could ask for. Steve our maitre'd and Gina the catering manager met all our needs and could not be more accomodating. I would recommend this venue to anyone who asked. Our guests all said that they had a great time at the wedding. I know our family did and couldn't be happier with the entire day. We read other reviews of the hotel and were a little concerned but we had no problems with any of the rooms. All were clean and we have stayed in beautiful hotels in the past. We were highly satisfied with the entire experience. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Check in was fine, the room was dated, bedding was fine but clearly the room and hall ways were tired, neglected and in need of some help with peeling wallpaper, chipped wood work - - but the shower head must have been replaced with inexpensive plastic type and the massage parts in the middle do not work only because housekeeping is too lazy to clean these heads properly and unclog them. Black mold in the showers are very unappealing and raise questions on skill set of the housekeeping department OR the lack of funds. The breakfast area was unattended but it is not a buffet so this was not enjoyable way to start the day and when finally served, it was eggs that were very runny and barely cooked bacon (I know I should not be eating this) and watered down coffee.

Room Tip: Stay at the Marriott Courtyard nearby OR Indigo
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowdogflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The staff are generally friendly and helpful, and the bar is good with an excellent range of draught and bottled beers. Otherwise the hotel is poor. The rooms are a good size, but poorly maintained - tatty furniture, peeling wallpaper and basin unit damaged by water soaking into the frame. The aircon is noisy, and the controls did not work properly. Breakfast choice limited, the same everyday and not best quality. No hot water one morning. Room service was erratic, and cleaning barely adequate. The swimming pool has 6" green water and rubbish at the bottom. Unless you want a decent beer avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We would not recommend this hotel. While it looks quite nice from the outside.....quaint and colonial it is a disaster in the rooms! Discovered bedbugs at midnight. Then found phone was not working when we tried to call the front desk. Ugh! We had to prove to them they were bedbugs. We took a video. Finally moved. Other guests in our party also had stink bugs, broken lock, broken air conditioning, a tub that didn't drain and a toilet that overflowed. The wall paper is separating at the seams....the place is just beat up. We felt sorry for the maintenance man. What really made it worse was the girl at the front desk....Simyan (Simyar?) kept telling us the manager would be right up to speak with us. NEVER happened...want to know why? THERE IS NO MANAGER ON SITE!
Plus we were also promised the pool would be ready (Memorial Day weekend - HOT) The pool has 8 inches of green water with a hose laying in the middle of it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank traveller2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewhotelier, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

In life may a statement be true ot untrue the written word prevails and there is very little one can do to erase the thought in the minds of others. This is one of those cases and I will do my best to explain in broad strokes what had actually transpired. This guest was here with a wedding group and at 5 am in the morning she did bring to the attention of the Night Auditor that she noticed what she referred to as a bedbug in her room. The Night Auditor went to the guestroom and being a hospitality oriented person thought he was doing the right thing by agreeing with the guest. Management then met with the guest shortly therafter addressed the concern and stripped the room in her presence and we turned up nothing. We then had our outside exterminator inspect this room and they also did not turn up with any signs. As a preventative measure we had this room taken off line and treated anyway. We take every guest concern serioulsy and this is no exception. We aplogized for the inconvenince, did not charge her for her stay, greeted all the guests in her party with V.I.P. sevice and we enjoyed having this group with us. As stated in the opening of this email once the written word is in print it is difficult if not impossible to defend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Rooms are very dated and need refurbishment -small TV's ,cracked tiles in bathroom ,no central light switch etc.
Not unclean and fine if your are only sleeping there on a business trip for example but better hotels within a couple of miles radius.
Good points -location -very convienient opposite a strip mall with a selection of decent restaurants /coffeee shops / ATM etc
Also bar ,although understaffed and expensive ,has a excellent craft beer selection both international & US -check prices first as you could be paying $15 for a small bottle of Rochfor tor Duvel if you are not careful....
Would I stay here again ? not my first choice in this area but if theMariott & Indigo were full probably would for convienience
Staff are helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinVisitorDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews