We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warren
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We showed up to Somerset around 2am after coming in from Pennsylvania where we were staying with family. Joseph A. at the front desk went above and beyond to get us into a hotel room even though the hotel was nearly sold out. We had already endured a bad experience in the state of NJ but Joseph turned our experience around, got us a room, and even made us feel extra welcome with complimentary breakfast. If I ever came back to NJ I would definitely to back again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashems89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at The Somerset Hills Hotel with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    39
    36
    39
    53
See reviews for
55
34
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

No refridge or microwave in room.Room very dated . Won't stay here again. Strong odor of cigarettes in the hallway. Furniture old and very uncomfortable.I had expected more from this hotel.Should have read the reviews before booking. I don't have anything positive to say about the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank ginny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warren hotels

new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I almost booked this place for my upcoming wedding, however, once i began dealing with them, i found to be the staff worse than the hotel staff in the movie THE SHINING. This hotel has the absolute WORST customer service in the entire world. The front desk manager (female) is a bobbling idiot who cant tell the difference between a hotel reservation and room and cant even spell a word let alone write a coherent contract. The General Manager was nothing short of rude. I wouldnt let my dog stay in this hotel, let alone a human being. The toilets were out of order, from the time that i attended a wedding last year, and the same toilets were out of order a year later. The hotel claims its under going renovations/slash a busted pipe, but i have no doubt it is the careless, rude, and moronic staff in charge of the place that has let it run down to this level of disaster of epic proportions. This hotel is disgusting and i advise against anyone ever staying there.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank weiner23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent INQUIRY about sleeping rooms at The Somerset Hills Hotel, for your out of town guests, for your upcoming wedding at one of our competing wedding venues in the area. We appreciate your comments but feel the need to explain the current condition of our lovely hotel. We have posted signs all over the hotel announcing the renovation of the entire hotel, which we realize is inconvenient for some of our guests although the majority of them haven't been inconvenienced due to the renovation and the entire renovation should be completed by the summer. The majority of our weekends are for wedding blocks and we are extremely sensitive to our brides' needs and realize that this is a very special time and try to meet all of their concerns. After speaking with you I realized that we would not be able to meet your specific needs and offered to hold your guest room block at our sister hotel across the street. After you declined any further assistance we felt that again we wouldn't be able to exceed your expectations considering the renovation. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had an executive face-to-face meeting in NJ. I had eight Directors and VPs fly in from all over the world and suggested that they stay at the Somerset Hills Hotel.

After the guests checked in, they found out that the hotel's hot water system was broken. They were unable to take a shower for three days. We all understand that these things happen, but the worst part of it was how the hotel management handled it. They did not offer a room at another hotel, any kind of perk (e.g., a beer at the bar), or even an apology.

This is an old hotel and there are much better options. The Courtyard Basking Ridge is across the street and a much nicer hotel. Stay away from the Hotel Indigo since this is run by the same horrible management as the Somerset Hills Hotel.

Unless you like staying at a rundown hotel with poor service and a real possibility of no shower in the morning, stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 624njp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, General Manager at Somerset Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your VIP guests' recent stay at The Somerset Hills Hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Unfortunately the hot water was out for 1 1/2 days and as you mentioned these things do happen occasionally but we did had our maintenance staff working tirelessly into the late evening to make sure that the hot water would return, which it did, the next day. We did look into moving our guests to another area hotel that night for all of guests that the water affected in case we could not get the issue corrected that evening however the only other hotel was sold out. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider having your VIPs stay with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience and an awesome newly renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We usually stay at this hotel's sister hotel the indigo in which all of the staff are incredible . The indigo was booked so we tried this hotel. My family and I were so disappointed upon checking in to find this hotel's front desk staff horrible . No offer to help my daughter and I carry in our bags . After checking in my husband and I used the computer in the lobby to send off some important docs - my 11 year old daughter was sitting close to us and complained about the bad language and use of personal cell phones by the front desk - we hurriedly got our business done and checked into our room. We will always choose the indigo over this hotel only because the quality of staff cannot be compared .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Yayan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Looks good from outside but there it stops. Business centre is a storage room, no telephone, basically a cupboard. It was cold and the aircon/ fanheater was inadequate. The thermostat system did not work so I dismantled it. One of the two telephones did not work. Problems in dialling out internationally. Bar closed for refurbishment. Pokey restaurant got my breakfast order wrong and only stewed coffee available not freshly made. Overall dark and depressing but for one night who cares.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manning, SC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

In the past, we were a bit dissappointed but things have really changed. Substantial clean-up and redecorating has made quite a difference and all for the better.
The night manage, Pierre was both helpful and courteous, making us feel welcome and comfortable.
We'll defintely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobOZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
#4 of 4 in Basking Ridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
5.8 mi away
HYATT house Bridgewater
HYATT house Bridgewater
#1 of 6 in Bridgewater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Hills Hotel

Property: Somerset Hills Hotel
Address: 200 Liberty Corner Rd, Warren, NJ 07059-6793
Region: United States > New Jersey > Warren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset Hills Hotel, Central New Jersey's hidden gem offers boutique style accommodations and full service features including 111 spacious guest rooms, The Tap Room bar & Lounge, Full service restaurant with in-room dining, outdoor pool, fitness room and over 5,000 square feet of function space. Centrally positioned between NYC and Easton PA in the hills of Warren, NJ. Come experience the new style of the Somerset Hills Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Somerset Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hills Warren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing