We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere”

Son Cubano at Port Imperial
Reserve with OpenTable
Son Cubano at Port Imperial is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in West New York
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: River Road
Transit: NY Waterway Ferry @ Port Imperial in Weehawken; NJ Transit Bus NJ Transit Light Rail
Description: Son Cubano, or the "Sound of Cuba", successfully brought a style reminiscent of the elegance and opulence of "The Havana 50s".
Harrison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great place to dine and have a good time. Food is also delicious and average prices. But it is all worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pablito19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCubano, Guest Relations Manager at Son Cubano at Port Imperial, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We appreciate your feedback and glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    51
    41
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

OK my wife and I were having drinks at the charter house we decided to go to this place to eat. OK so we get there at 630_700pm on a Tuesday. Place was pretty empty so we sat along the tables around the bar. My wife and I aren't big fans of sitting at the Bar. So we wait and wait my wife goes to the bathroom and gets back and still no service. All along the waiters and waitresses are placing drink orders at the Bar and plenty saw us there. I commented this to my wife so she called one of the waitress over and asked for someone to take our order. So this girl went to the bartender and told him we needed service all in Spanish by the way. His response was if they want service they better come to the bar because I'm not in the mood to wait on tables today! People people please please understand you never know who speaks what language. Unfortunately for him I understood everything he said. We mentioned this to the guy at the front looked like the manager but who knows. He blew us off. So we left. So please please stay away spend your money elsewhere. You'll be happier.

Helpful?
2 Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCubano, Guest Relations Manager at Son Cubano at Port Imperial, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Please write to us at management@soncubanonj.com. We are committed to service and want you to enjoy your experience with your wife. We are in the process of training all servers and greatly appreciate your valued feedback. Rest assured this will NEVER happen again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
“Graduation party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We had a very memorable and enjoyable experience, from the service to the delicious meal. The restaurant is absolutely beautiful and our friends and family truly enjoyed it.
We have dined many times before but this is the fist time we hosted a party for a large group. We were very happy we did!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bmonico1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCubano, Guest Relations Manager at Son Cubano at Port Imperial, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Son Cubano for the graduation celebration! We look forward to celebrate with you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, NY
Level Contributor
194 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Go Hungry!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The service was impeccable and the mojitos were fantastic. The food was okay. They give huge portions with a lot of meat and almost no veg or starch at all. The Masitas appetizer was okay. The roasted pork was delicious, but the pork belly could have used a bit more salt and more crisping. The pinchos de toro were good. The meat was lacking in flavor, but the tofu and sauce compensated. The pernil was delicious; I even took the leftovers home. The filet was fine; given the way it was cooked, it was more of a brisket, but not bad. Bread good, but butter nasty. I would go back, but not for a long while. Maybe this is a once a year place. One can only eat so much meat. They should take away some of the meat and add a veg or some potatoes or anything. Maybe this isn't the Cuban way, but it is hard to eat so much meat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitkat_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCubano, Guest Relations Manager at Son Cubano at Port Imperial, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at Son Cubano! We do appreciate your feedback on our food portions and will look into a lighter option. We are in the midst of updating our menu, as we have a new chef in house. Please look out for an announcement when the menu is ready for you to try! Thank you for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Promising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Nice place to have few drinks, but expensive. Nice view and good Cuban music. Gets very crowded on sat night with mediocre DJ.. Overall recommended if you just want to chill and have few mojitos and oysters

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dchervin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCubano, Manager at Son Cubano at Port Imperial, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Saturday nights are very popular at Son Cubano. We welcome you to try our 1/2 price appetizers and drink specials on Thursdays. We still over great entertainment, come after work! We appreciate your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Son Cubano at Port Imperial also viewed

 

Been to Son Cubano at Port Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing