We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but no coffee maker!”
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Reviewed 6 February 2013

First - was OK. Not as bad for us as it was for some of the other reviewers. Best thing - was close to the Highway and our destination. Driving distance ( would NOT want to walk) to limited choice of restaurants within, say a 3 mile distance - and a CVS and a Dunkin Donuts. Breakfast jan 2013 WAS at the ECONO lodge which is located a short walk across the parking lot. The Econo lodge is in front of the America's Best Value and close to the road. We saw the Econo Lodge Sign- and that's how we located the America's Best Value Inn. Good thing they told us to look for the Econo Lodge Sign or we could have missed it entirely. The America's Best Value/ Econo lodge is located on a road that has a divider- so you can't make a left turn into the parking lot. To get there from Rt 10 you have to manage an awkward (for unfamiliar with NJ) u turn if you are not on their side of the road. Another good thing was that the price of Gasoline at the next door service station was very good/ definitely competitive. We had no trouble adding a person to our room, no trouble getting extra towels, and smoking was permitted. The heater in the room is like a big heater/ air conditioner unit. It was quite noisy, and I am rarely happy with the choices of on (noisy) or off (getting chilly). We found that the unit did not distribute the warm air very well - so you will need to choose the person who likes the temperature warmest to be the one closest to the heater. Lighting was quite dim and not enough -until we took a lampshade completely off ( yes we replaced it before we left). There was TV, alarm clock radio, wake up call, an iron and ironing board and a microwave and a hair dryer BUT NO COFFEE MAKER. Obviously the coffee maker could be a deal breaker for me! The people were quite nice and the price was the least expensive I could find. We were on the second / top floor and had no trouble with noise. Plumbing and hot water were fine.Parking was available quite close to the entrance and also close to our room. Would definitely go back, as knowing what to expect makes such a huge difference, and it will be hard to beat the price.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank cmdOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel in room 146 tue/wed night this week. the next day we both woke up with itchy red bumps all over our bodies. I had an 11 hour flight to Belarus on wednesday and I had a very hard time trying to stay seated in all that pain because of irritation and itchiness. Later on the bumps turned into obvious bug bites in the rows of 3-4 with blisters of water on them. The worst experience ever. I will do everything posible to tell people to never use the services of this stinky unsanitary place. Oh and plus Im allergic to bug bites which made my experience even better. I understand its a cheap hotel, but there are still some basic standards and sanitary norms.

Room Tip: Don't go to that place, really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel smells disgusting; can't even identify the smell. Poorly cleaned. Abandoned pool in the back. No breakfast in the building; they have ome sort of agreement with the Econo Lodge next tonthem for that meal. That Eono Lodge also has horrible reviews. Just walked and i'm walking right out. Heading out to the Marriot next door.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank ailed89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is not America’s Best Value. The name associated with this location is a joke. Not all America’s Best Values are like this one. We had three rooms for my work crew members and me. We requested non-smoking rooms but the smoke odor in these rooms were so intense; one of my co-workers had to return home the next day with a bad case of a cold or bronchial problem or something. He ended up going to the doctors. I had a bout with asthma; waking-up in the middle of the night wheezing. Fortunately, I had my inhaler. Even though our plans were to stay for three or four days, we changed hotels the next night. Unless you like the smell of tobacco, chose another hotel. Also, the beds were horrible, with a sinking, sagging-spring- feeling. Pillows sucked, too. The room was dirty. Not one bit of comfort afforded.

To the management of this America’s Best Value, please do not respond with a canned corporate bogus reply as it is useless. Demolish the hotel to start over from the ground up

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: no se hospeden en este hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gvelazquez2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgana06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abviwhippany, Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whippany
0.2 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Parsippany
Hampton Inn Parsippany
#4 of 16 in Parsippany
684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanover Marriott
Hanover Marriott
#2 of 6 in Whippany
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Parsippany - Morris Plains
2.4 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany-East
HYATT house Parsippany-East
#3 of 16 in Parsippany
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 1245 State Route 10, Whippany, NJ 07981-1026
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Whippany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing