We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep driving after you pass it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Shickshinny, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Keep driving after you pass it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Where to start...This place was very hard to find. Passed it twice before we saw it in the rearview mirror. No sign near the highway... Had to go way out of the way to turn around as Highway 10 has a concrete divider between lanes. Lots of parking places but had a very seedy element of individuals lurking in the parking lot and hanging out on their balconies. Made us a little nervous by this. The small lobby was very clean and nice. No lights though, clerk said she had a migraine and she turned them off?? Security door from side of hotel was broken. Anyone could have entered the hotel without a room key/card. Hallways were clean with brand new carpeting and had the smell of curry throughout. When we opened the door to our room a strong odor of animal urine hit us immediately. Once inside the room It was a nightmare!!! Very few, very dim lights! The refrigerator looked as if it was from the time the hotel was originally built, MANY YEARS AGO & it was dirty inside. Microwave was also very dirty in & out. All of the furniture had a minimum of 1" dust crusted over it. Heating unit was encrusted with crud!!! I placed a towel over the unit before I turned it on so the dirt didn't go flying into the room! It was very noisy & loud. The bathtub had obviously been used by the prior inhabitant and was NEVER CLEANED as it had a lot of dirt in the bottom!! The vanity & sink had a layer of crud on them. The bathroom ceiling fan was literally clogged by crusted dirt. It appeared to NEVER having been cleaned, ever. The tissue holder was hanging in the wall by one screw and swinging back and forth on the wall. Not even a half of a roll of toilet tissue and no extra roll was provided. I opened the balcony door for some fresh air and couldn't believe what was on the back side of this hotel. The back side is not visible to the you until you are in your room.... The inground pool was used as a scrapyard filled in with trash, old appliances, and building materials then covered over with [not enough] dirt. What was once a concrete patio/pool & lawn was now a mud bog. There was trash and hotel furniture scattered EVERYWHERE.
We complained to the young girl at the desk [different room available, refund?] and she informed me that she couldn't do anything, she needed to notify the manager. He would come to our room. Well... he never showed up, ever. After 8+ hours of driving and an extremely early departure time the next morning, We crawled into bed [with all of our clothes on!] The next morning, We brushed my teeth and left!!! I have since complained to anyone and everyone associated with this hotel and it's corporate office with absolutely NO replies.... BEWARE!!!!!! DO NOT BOOK a room at this particular hotel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clevelandtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    1
    2
    17
See reviews for
3
5
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
OG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

First - was OK. Not as bad for us as it was for some of the other reviewers. Best thing - was close to the Highway and our destination. Driving distance ( would NOT want to walk) to limited choice of restaurants within, say a 3 mile distance - and a CVS and a Dunkin Donuts. Breakfast jan 2013 WAS at the ECONO lodge which is located a short walk across the parking lot. The Econo lodge is in front of the America's Best Value and close to the road. We saw the Econo Lodge Sign- and that's how we located the America's Best Value Inn. Good thing they told us to look for the Econo Lodge Sign or we could have missed it entirely. The America's Best Value/ Econo lodge is located on a road that has a divider- so you can't make a left turn into the parking lot. To get there from Rt 10 you have to manage an awkward (for unfamiliar with NJ) u turn if you are not on their side of the road. Another good thing was that the price of Gasoline at the next door service station was very good/ definitely competitive. We had no trouble adding a person to our room, no trouble getting extra towels, and smoking was permitted. The heater in the room is like a big heater/ air conditioner unit. It was quite noisy, and I am rarely happy with the choices of on (noisy) or off (getting chilly). We found that the unit did not distribute the warm air very well - so you will need to choose the person who likes the temperature warmest to be the one closest to the heater. Lighting was quite dim and not enough -until we took a lampshade completely off ( yes we replaced it before we left). There was TV, alarm clock radio, wake up call, an iron and ironing board and a microwave and a hair dryer BUT NO COFFEE MAKER. Obviously the coffee maker could be a deal breaker for me! The people were quite nice and the price was the least expensive I could find. We were on the second / top floor and had no trouble with noise. Plumbing and hot water were fine.Parking was available quite close to the entrance and also close to our room. Would definitely go back, as knowing what to expect makes such a huge difference, and it will be hard to beat the price.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank cmdOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel in room 146 tue/wed night this week. the next day we both woke up with itchy red bumps all over our bodies. I had an 11 hour flight to Belarus on wednesday and I had a very hard time trying to stay seated in all that pain because of irritation and itchiness. Later on the bumps turned into obvious bug bites in the rows of 3-4 with blisters of water on them. The worst experience ever. I will do everything posible to tell people to never use the services of this stinky unsanitary place. Oh and plus Im allergic to bug bites which made my experience even better. I understand its a cheap hotel, but there are still some basic standards and sanitary norms.

Room Tip: Don't go to that place, really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whippany hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel smells disgusting; can't even identify the smell. Poorly cleaned. Abandoned pool in the back. No breakfast in the building; they have ome sort of agreement with the Econo Lodge next tonthem for that meal. That Eono Lodge also has horrible reviews. Just walked and i'm walking right out. Heading out to the Marriot next door.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ailed89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is not America’s Best Value. The name associated with this location is a joke. Not all America’s Best Values are like this one. We had three rooms for my work crew members and me. We requested non-smoking rooms but the smoke odor in these rooms were so intense; one of my co-workers had to return home the next day with a bad case of a cold or bronchial problem or something. He ended up going to the doctors. I had a bout with asthma; waking-up in the middle of the night wheezing. Fortunately, I had my inhaler. Even though our plans were to stay for three or four days, we changed hotels the next night. Unless you like the smell of tobacco, chose another hotel. Also, the beds were horrible, with a sinking, sagging-spring- feeling. Pillows sucked, too. The room was dirty. Not one bit of comfort afforded.

To the management of this America’s Best Value, please do not respond with a canned corporate bogus reply as it is useless. Demolish the hotel to start over from the ground up

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whippany
0.2 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
0.4 mi away
Hanover Marriott
Hanover Marriott
#2 of 6 in Whippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Parsippany
Red Roof Inn Parsippany
#10 of 16 in Parsippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Parsippany - Morris Plains
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Parsippany
Hampton Inn Parsippany
#4 of 16 in Parsippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 1245 State Route 10, Whippany, NJ 07981-1026
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Whippany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing