We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Cheap. No shampoo in the room, a single coffee bag.

Not clean: kitchen closets shabby, pots not clean, etc.

Room is large, wide a area at the kitchen. Television weekend well.

Overall impression is cheap and shabby.

I will not return to this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank ziv_harpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Last minute business travel booking so I was given a handicapped accessible room on the first floor just off the lobby. The shower was awkward to use and water flooded the bathroom floor. Room was outdated and felt damp. The worst was the constant noise from doors closing, people in the hallway / lobby, and cars coming and going all evening. I was awakened early morning by the sound of a truck idling in the parking lot outside my window, which lasted 45 min. Room rate was inexpensive, and the location is convenient to nearby highways and mass transit, but I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel and away from the lobby.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SpinDocNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We made an impromptu trip to New Jersey, and did not make reservations ahead of time. We usually try to go with 3+ star hotels, but this time the 3+ star hotels in the area were already booked so we went with the 2 1/2 star hotel. We were very disappointed. The problem started before we even arrived. Our GPS and the "directions" link on the website had us searching for the hotel 2 or 3 miles before the actual location. We called for directions, and the clerk at the hotel could not figure out where we were; he did not appear to be familiar with the area and said he couldn't help us. We finally went far enough along route 10 to find the hotel, and it was well marked - just 2 or 3 miles farther along the route than our maps showed. In checking in, the computer froze up, so it took 20 minutes or so to get our room. And the biggest turn-off? It was a smoking room. We called the desk to see if a non-smoking room was available, but there was none. We opened the windows and turned the fan on full blast and survived it - but we could not get rid of the odor. The room itself was spartan but okay: no soap (though we could have gotten some at the desk had we not already been in our PJs), one thin bath towel (for 2 people), a nice TV, decent pillow choices, so-so firm bed. The breakfast was simple but okay: apples, oranges, coffee, instant oatmeal (but no sugar free), and muffins. We were disappointed - mostly at getting a smoky room. Believe the customer approval rating, not the overly positive reviews.

Room Tip: Not at this place.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katje78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had reservations to stay at ESA June 21-23. Upon arrival, we entered the lobby to find approximately 10 other guests waiting to be checked in by the ONE staff member working (at 6pm on a Saturday). Everyone had reservations, but we were all notified that because the computers were down, our reservations didn't matter because there were not enough rooms available and that the cleaning staff had gone home for the day so no additional rooms could be cleaned/rented.

As we stood in line for nearly two hours, guests repeatedly received their room keys, got on the elevator, and immediately came back to the front desk due to rooms that (a) were dirty with unmade beds; (b) didn't have the right bed size; (c) had already been rented out. Additional guests kept arriving as well (also with reservations) and those of us in line had to repeatedly explain the situation. For those of us who booked through the ESA website, we were able to have our reservation canceled without being charged, but for those who booked through third-party sites (Expedia, Hotels.com, etc.), the hotel was unable to refund them.

We ended up having to go to the Hotel Indigo in Basking Ridge, and while it was very nice, it cost us double and did not have any handicap-accessible rooms available. Therefore, I could not bathe for two days, which is a post of its own.

All that said, the man working the desk (Andre) was very patient and was the only thing positive about this experience. He never lost patience with the customers, despite our frustrations and having to manually check if the few rooms he had available were actually vacant. He was given no number to reach a manager and had no help. Poor guy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I made a late reservation and was mislead by some possibly planted reviews that gave it high marks. Do not mistake this place for anything better than a cheap room on a cheap mattress - I did sleep well and TV was good. Even with the updating, the rooms are dated and smell of smoke. Beds are low end and the furnishings are mediocre. No cleanliness issues or other "scary" items, just not a business class hotel. Closet door barely moved, room smelled of old smoke, pillows were old, and carpet was scary to touch. Remodeling brought it up to acceptable appearance, but they missed some important modern touches - things like a shower that warms up in less than 10 minutes, shampoo and newer pillows.

Free internet was adequate, but no shampoo or other amenities. No Gym and front desk area was worst I have ever seen - getting through door was hard entire area could only hold a few people and elevator traffic made check in noisy.

Front service was adequate, but was overwhelmed since there was only one person there at 6 pm.. Breakfast to go was very simple and self serve - not continental, more like convenience store selection. You get what you paid for and nothing extra. Pay the extra money and stay at a nice hotel if you are expecting a business class hotel. The reviews that give it high marks are not to be trusted - this is a recently remodeled hotel, but not anything better than 2 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drtpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The rooms were dirty(you could see that there was dirt on the toilet seat and on the light fixture) It had a bad odor to the hallway and to the room. The staff was incompetent and could not provide a receipt when requested. he front desk originally said that there was shuttle service provdied but the next day when I tried to call to make arrangements for the shuttle, the front desk continuously hung up on me.
There was no general manager onsite, I was just provdied with a cell phone number for "Ashley" who didnt pick up. Do yourself a favor - STAY AWAY.....

Room Tip: Dont stay here
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having stayed here last year, I was expecting the same but I was pleasantly surprised. The ESA brand has completely remodeled each room and all the exterior, interior, lobby, even the laundry room. The rooms are freshly painted with new décor, new fixtures, new beds, new furniture, new linen, new carpet, new TVs, even new ac units and countertops in the kitchen area. The outdoors and grounds are nicely maintained, and the fresh paint colors on the exterior makes the building feel warm and welcoming as you drive up. Yes everyone complains about the airplane noise, but its not that bad it stops at 10pm and doesn't start up until after 8 am. The view is amazing if you get a third floor room. The best part is ESA brand cleaned house, and got all new staff that loves their jobs, are friendly and goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The new general manager is extremely nice and friendly, makes you feel welcome and happy to be spending your time with them. He goes above and beyond to greet each guest by name and will even strike up great conversation with you while your at the breakfast area, which is a nice touch because NJ folks are not to friendly or welcoming in this area. His upbeat energetic culture is absorbs by all the staff, even the new front desk staff members that are training, which is learning from the best, how to be happy, and have fun with your job while being the best. I am so proud of this ESA change, for which the new GM deserve the credit. The amazing personal warmth and love you feel by the staff is outstanding. I will not stay anywhere else. Great job ESA for finding a good GM and hiring new staff members to follow his great future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whippany
0.9 mi away
FairBridge Hotel & Conference Center East Hanover
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Whippany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
2.3 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
378 reviews
4.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Parsippany - Morris Plains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany

Address: 125 State Route 10, Whippany, NJ 07981-2102 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites Hanover Parsippany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Whippany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range: £73 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Hanover Parsippany Hotel Whippany
Extended Stay America Whippany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing