We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME STAFF, LOVELY HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Certificate of Excellence
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME STAFF, LOVELY HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Recently stayed at this property, the staff is amazing!! Candy, Eric, Chelsea, Andrew and Chip made this an enjoyable visit. Very clean spacious rooms, full amenities for a long term stay. Breakfast and a light dinner included daily, Chelsea makes a mean omlette!! we have stayed at this property many times and the service has always been top notch. So much so that it's the same staff for the last 5 years that I have been a guest! Unheard of in the hotel business. The staff remembers me by name and and my favorite foods!! Awesome Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Andrew when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBI825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    108
    46
    17
    19
See reviews for
143
49
21
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Big plus: The accommodations were very nice.

Plus: The free breakfast buffet was awesome!

Neutral: Pool closed till Labor Day!? Yes, it's New Jersey... but since a pool is advertised, you'd expect it to be useable... like the INDOOR pools at two competitors down the street!

Minus: When we first arrived, the room smelled of deodorizer. (Good — someone's doing the job!) But by the time we left (2 night stay), the room smelled badly — like old beef and onions.

Big minus: The hotel has no control over this, but vehicular access from the highway is inconvenient and dangerous due to horrifically designed road networks and interchanges.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid rooms along the back of the hotel. Traffic noise on 287 was NOT a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoppertoneGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnpinva
Level Contributor
263 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We expected more from a Hyatt. The property itself is nice, but it has not been well-maintained, and there were some general housekeeping issues.

Staff at the front desk was very pleasant. Checking in was a quick and easy experience. We also appreciated the 24/7 store for essentials, including wine. This was a great idea. The lobby looked a bit worn, however, and the elevator was quite dirty. This is not a good way to greet guests.

The hallways looked ok, but the rugs were stained in areas. The hallways did not smell fresh, like they should in a new-ish hotel.

In the room itself, the living room area was quite large, and the kitchen was very nice to have. The appliances were stainless steel, and the furnishings were nice. But the refrigerator was a bit beaten up. The room didn't smell fresh either. We thought there may have been an issue with the A/C units blowing out stale and/or musty air. There was a very peculiar smell in the room. The bedroom was also large, but the bed dipped down in places and was not very comfortable. The bathroom didn't seem to be very clean. The shower was moldy, and there were some stains in the toilet. The hot-cold sign on the shower had either worn off or was removed.

The breakfast did not meet our expectations. There were always people waiting for eggs/bacon/etc. to come out, and there was never enough food. The fruit was not fresh. By 9:30, there seemed only to be leftovers. We'd recommend the hotel not focus on breakfast and fix the other issues we noticed.

With more attention to details/maintenance/cleanliness, the hotel could achieve a good rating. But as is, we probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

A website error at booking caused us to order 2 rooms. We saw the error the following day, called the hotel and corrected. Upon check-in all was fine and final bill under the door was accurate.

We received out credit card statement and were not only charge for the intial two rooms but an additional two rooms.

I called the hotel and expained all in detail to someone fro Accounting. transactions, dates and I believe he saw the problem. He led me to believe that the problem was solved. He said the hotel Manager would call me. I assumed to apologize for the error.

Late in the afternoon I received a voicemail from the manager stating "I was sent an email say you had a problem with your reservation".

I called back and she was unavailable so I left a message

After an hour I called back again, she was still unavailable so I explained the whole problem again.
The person on the other end said I was reading the credit card statement incorrectly and these were pending charges. After he leaving the phone she finally agreed that I was charged 4 times for one room and one night. No apology and no acknowledgement of all the time I had spent on this issues.

The manager called me back later and said she was busy in the rooms. I was told that I didn't understand their system...what?

We have stayed at this Hotel several time to visit family because the allow small dogs (they charge $75 additional even though we were there for one night).

We will never again stay at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richs9118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is by far the most horrible hotel ever stayed in,the stuff are extremely rude the pool area is surrounded by gates like your in a jail,no matter what the price is do not stay here they will make your stay miserable

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hezi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here 3 nights for personal travel and having the kitchen and living room was awesome. The rooms have clearly been renovated lately but there are definitely a couple places they cut corners. However the bed was very comfortable, the room clean and the hotel quiet.

As far as amenities, breakfast was pretty average the one night I tried it. The hotel internet was fast enough to watch online video without any hitching which was nice. The TV's however did not properly allow an HDMI hook up which limited the use of that a bit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I am actually in the middle of a stay at this Hyatt. I have stayed at many Hyatts for business and prefer them to many other chains. This particular Hyatt is somewhat below average compared to other Hyatt Houses. The room cleanliness is average. The check-in process was somewhat delayed, although I had a reservation. The evening appetizers/drinks is unlike other Hyatt Houses. The food served (chicken wings on this night) was not fully cooked and some pieces seemed to be raw inside. The usual unlimited beer and wine as done at other Hyatts was not done here. There is a one drink maximum and then you are charged for subsequent drinks. The employee charged with pouring the drinks seemed to be patroling the table area, so it had the uncomfortable feeling of a nanny state. There is a sister location close by, so I will most likely be using that location in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whippany
0.4 mi away
Hanover Marriott
Hanover Marriott
#2 of 6 in Whippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.2 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany-East
HYATT house Parsippany-East
#2 of 16 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.1 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
#3 of 16 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Parsippany
Hampton Inn Parsippany
#4 of 16 in Parsippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Parsippany
Hilton Parsippany
#8 of 16 in Parsippany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany

Property: HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
Address: 1 Ridgedale Ave, Whippany, NJ 07981-1032 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Parsippany/Whippany)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Whippany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the business epicenter of Parsippany, New Jersey, the Hyatt House Parsippany/Whippany offers business and leisure travelers easy access to popular tourist destinations including Mennen Sports Arena, Mayo Center for Performing Arts, Knoll East/West Country Club’s, and Meadowlands Sports Complex. Guests also enjoy our close proximity to premium shopping at the Mall at Short Hills, Livingston Mall, and the Willowbrook Mall. Take our complimentary shuttle and explore the neighborhood within a five-mile radius. We provide extended stay, hotel-wide amenities that include: * All newly renovated, spacious suites with deluxe, in-room amenities * 24-hour Dining options, like the 24-hour Guest Market * The all-new H Bar, with shareable small plates and premium beers, wine, and craft cocktails * Complimentary Morning Spread daily hot breakfast, so you can wake up refreshed * Keep up-to-date with your workout routine at our 24-hour Fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Parsippany/Whippany Hotel Whippany
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Whippany
Summerfield Suites Whippany
Hyatt Whippany
Whippany Hyatt
Whippany Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing