We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room and the hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Loved the room and the hotel!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wow! What a room! A suite with living room, well-equipped kitchen and separate bedroom (two TVs, one in LR and one in BR). Check-in was lovely with a truly caring staff, there is a happy hour Mon-Thurs (one drink per person) plus snacks. There were really some very nice food offerings and frankly, if I didn't have dinner plans, the happy hour would have been filling enough. It was Thai lettuce wraps, a salad bar, chips and salsa, bruschetta, and veggies with dip. Quite substantial.

When I logged on to write this review, I did see the other comments about the guests that occupied the hotel on the 4th of July (while I was there). Yes, they did seem like locusts that descended on a prairie of wheat, but how can the hotel control who stays there???? I thought the hotel did a great job on the happy hour, and the breakfasts were very nice as well--including eggs, bacon, fresh fruit and all the typical fixings.

Were I still a business traveler, you'd have to pry me out of this hotel. I'd never leave. A very nice stay. (I also appreciated how quiet the hotel was. It was great to be able to walk around in the area too.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    114
    46
    17
    19
See reviews for
150
49
21
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After staying at the Hyatt house for the past three fourth of July weekends, this year will be the last. Although I too was with a group, we are decent. There was a large group of individuals which took over the hotel. They littered all over, rearraraged the pool furniture in a hazadous manner and were disrespectful. They're children ran up and down the halls all night, three of them banged on my door and ran. My problem was management got numerous complaints and nothing was done. Management has the right to request such unruly individuals leave. I have stayed at various Hyatt Houses' ; this by far was the worst experience ever. By the way, my friend stayed the weekend at the White Plains location and her experience was very similiar. I urge management to investigate each complaint and do something about it. We ALL are NOT wrong. I wanted a pleasant holiday weekend and that is NOT what I got. Don't be afraid remove these individuals from your property. After all I paid for my room too!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I would have given this hotel 4 stars but i was a bit annoyed at the fact that the hotel staff closed off the common area in the hotel at 9pm on Saturday night. The hotel only has the pool and the breakfast areas where a group can congregate and hang out, both of which were closed off at 9 which is earlier than the typical 10pm quiet time. So i'm not sure where they expect groups to simply hang out and relax, on top of that none of the groups there were particularly loud. Granted I went for a fourth of July family / friends getaway and there were a lot of people, probably too many for the hotel to manage but they could have accommodated people a little better. other than that the staff was pretty good

Room Tip: don't go on a holiday weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shlobb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I've stayed here many times, but this time noticed how there's no pride left by management to keep the hotel clean. The hallways and elevators always have litter strewn in them, and numerous times the cleaning staff just walk by. Why aren't management overseeing this. Most of this hotel is looking decidedly dated.

The housemaids level of detail leaves much to be desired, they can spend enough time loudly speaking to each other in the hallways all times of day. Most of them don't speak or understand English, therefore haven't a clue what you're asking for. Why is the head housekeeper also not overseeing the level of cleanliness.

It's regretful to leave such comments, management at hotels have often told me if there are problems come and tell us. Chip, Andrew, etc; I've been at you hotel almost 2 weeks why haven't YOU noticed how untidy and dirty the place is looking?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at this Hotel on June 26 - 30. We were in town for a special convention of Jehovah's witnesses at Met Life stadium. My wife four kids and I loved the hotel. After a long day at the convention we were able to relax at the pool and enjoy the patio tables and chairs near the pool. We were also excited to see two Webber gas grills that we could use to cook with. There is plenty of shopping near by and every room has it's own kitchen with a full size stove refrigerator and dishwasher. The free hot breakfast every day was also great especially because I have 4 kids. I recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a place to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Stop and Shop is less than a mile away and they have great prices and selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolivas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my boyfriends birthday and had a great time swimming and grilling. The room was clean, big and comfortable. The in room kitchen had all utensils and such that we needed. They provided sponges and soap and paper towels as well. The pool area is spacious and sunny and provides towels. The only issue we had was having to reserve a grill time which is fine, but the staff didn't tell us anything about that the two times I called to book and confirm early check in. Both times I mentioned we would be grilling and it would have been nice if they mentioned the reservation process before we got there since we had talked about it. All in all not a big deal and the staff was very helpful once we were there. I definitely recommend this hotel to my friends who want a mini weekend away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stormygurl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here for about 12 days. The rooms are nice, large, and clean. The beds are deformed, I'm guessing the mattresses need replaced. As there are high and low spots in the bed.

The rooms are clean, though my toilet always smelled, but I couldn't find the source. The hallways need vacumed continually. My room seemed to be cleaned last every day which was a pain. I was near the laundry room and there were always carts in the halls (and not pushed up against the wall), I often had to move them myself. The door to the laundry is always left open as well.

The staff is okay, definitely not Marriott quality.

The breakfast is pretty crappy with limited selection. They do have an omelet bar but it's greasy.

The hotel seems to host a bunch of large groups, so it's common to see 30 people standing in the lobby checking in or out which is annoying.

Good quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whippany
0.4 mi away
Hanover Marriott
Hanover Marriott
#2 of 6 in Whippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.2 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany-East
HYATT house Parsippany-East
#3 of 16 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
3.1 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#2 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
#2 of 16 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Parsippany
Hampton Inn Parsippany
#4 of 16 in Parsippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Parsippany
Hilton Parsippany
#7 of 16 in Parsippany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany

Property: HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
Address: 1 Ridgedale Ave, Whippany, NJ 07981-1032 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Parsippany/Whippany)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Whippany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the business epicenter of Parsippany, New Jersey, the Hyatt House Parsippany/Whippany offers business and leisure travelers easy access to popular tourist destinations including Mennen Sports Arena, Mayo Center for Performing Arts, Knoll East/West Country Club’s, and Meadowlands Sports Complex. Guests also enjoy our close proximity to premium shopping at the Mall at Short Hills, Livingston Mall, and the Willowbrook Mall. Take our complimentary shuttle and explore the neighborhood within a five-mile radius. We provide extended stay, hotel-wide amenities that include: * All newly renovated, spacious suites with deluxe, in-room amenities * 24-hour Dining options, like the 24-hour Guest Market * The all-new H Bar, with shareable small plates and premium beers, wine, and craft cocktails * Complimentary Morning Spread daily hot breakfast, so you can wake up refreshed * Keep up-to-date with your workout routine at our 24-hour Fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Parsippany/Whippany Hotel Whippany
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Whippany
Summerfield Suites Whippany
Hyatt Whippany
Whippany Hyatt
Whippany Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing