We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazed there weren't bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Whippany
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazed there weren't bed bugs”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Only stayed here because other area hotels were more expensive. In hindsight, I wished I had made a different choice in hotel. Sometimes paying extra is worth it. Once we go there and looked around we wanted to leave but everything in the area was booked up.

Shabby, trash all over the rundown property. Smells like b.o. Sign on the door leading into the hotel said you needed your key card to get in, but the door didn't even close because the lock was broken. So anyone off the street could have walked into the hotel. Dust and cobwebs hanging over my bed. Toilet backed up. Bed was uncomfortable but clean. There was a tissue dispenser in the bathroom, but it was empty. Really? Tissue is too much trouble?

The lobby women's bathroom has two side by side stalls. It was clean. Problem was a portion of the wall between the stalls was missing. Nice if you want to have a conversation with the person on the toilet next to you.

Have no idea if the tv, microwave, fridge or stove worked. Luckily we were out most of our stay and only came back to the hotel to sleep. Thankfully there were no bed bugs.

Housekeeping came by and we were not yet ready to have them come in. But explaining this to the man was impossible because it seems he only knew a few English phrases. It was a difficult conversation.

We cut out trip short. Needed to get out of there and not look back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chippersmom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    4
    8
    33
See reviews for
11
9
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

To begin with the building is shabby as can be, the stucco is bad and cheap enough but the entire property is littered with broken bottles, trash and whatnot. At night you would assume the place was abandoned, there are very few lights that work and the front driveway is completely invisible. The rooms appeared nice enough as did the hallways (I'm no snob, I get that for 60 bucks a night this experience will not be luxurious but everyone has minimum standards). Half of the doors were cracked open with many different jamboxes blasting irritating music at all hours of the night, unscrupulous and often offensive looking characters are always hanging around and worse is that the hallways always smell of cigarettes and weed come 6PM. None of the doors in or out of the building lock so God help you if a wild gunman gets upset. The rooms appeared nice as I specified until you really began to look closer. The interior looked as though it may have been painted at some point (garish colors by the way) but you would never know because the lighting was so poor. The bathroom was disasterous. Our toilet worked and then broke on many occassions and the shower leaked constantly. Of course complaining never made a difference to the unruly staff but that didn't stop them from sending two strange Hispanic men to our room unannounced at 9AM to replace the sink counter for no apparent reason, nevermind the actual problems that needed fixing. The floors were nightmarish and had never seen a carpet cleaning or a decent vacuum cleaner for that matter. The maids (although very lovely and capable) failed to swap out towels and restock the bathroom with toilet paper. Most of the time the bed was never made and all of our linens either had burn holes or stains on them. The pillows are flat out terrible, no support and your neck will be killing you come the morning. The tv worked but there are minimal channels and most are either Spanish or Hindi so good luck with that. The outlets are often dangerous because I do not believe they are grounded properly or something, we avoided a fire and even then were not sure if the lamp had become electrified. The patio doors have no weather stripping and the heater (if it works) has no real thermostat so you are either freezing to death or being incinerated because the bed is directly next to the heater. The "continental breakfast" is everything but. Nothing more than a bunch of low rent, slapped together juice machines with a beat to hell toaster and a very surly woman standing in the corner making you aware that you are never to leave the dining area with food in hand. I have no idea what that was about. On a slightly positive note, the cleaning staff are very nice (even though they don't do the jobs they were hired to do) whereas the management is the biggest bunch of disgraceful reprobates I have ever bared witnessed to. Terribly disorganized and confused, they never seem to be on the same page at any given point in time. We talked to one man who claimed to be a manager and agreed on $50.00 per night. We soon learned that the rate given to us was incorrect. We discovered this with an angry Indian man pounding on the door at 9AM (unannounced) and then letting himself into the room making wild accusation that either he was owed money or that we would have to pay a week in advance! Nevermind that my girlfriend and I are asleep and unprepared for guests.(This happened on several occassions). There are no clear rates and be aware that whatever you are told is entirely temporary. We were quoted 50 dollars and then 75 dollars the next night for some peculiar reason. I have no idea what goes on behind closed doors but business ethics, management and customer service are not in the cards. I am also accustomed to being ridiculed and and treated poorly by the staff of almost any establishment (this is after all in New Jersey) but never before have I seen one man become so irate and unmanageable for no discernable reason, especially without any evidence to support his preposterous claims. I would sooner volunteer to be a ball turret gunner on a B-17 than stay in this "hotel" again. If you love arguing with barely intelligible management and staff and adore a crappy night sleep this really is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thomass47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whippany hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

So filthy
Disgusting
The walls are fooling down
Garbage every way
Smells so so bad

I've been in hotels all around the world for the last 20 years, this is my worst experience.
Do not even think about it
Check the rooms before you book the rooms

Room Tip: Do not even think about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haytham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Plenty of fresh air, because of sliding door that would not close. It did however have unique home made security feature. Enjoy breeze in face from heater blasting on bed. Ancient Mattress, sheets and bedspread enhanced room's ambience. Non-smoking room easily accessed through smoke drenched hallway. Management assured us that outside security door would be unlocked during the day for our comvenience.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Wouldn't recommend this place for a dog. Appeared to be homeless people living across the hall. Trash everywhere outside on property and stacked in hallway. Bathtub looked as though someone had drained motor oil in it. Glass slider had major crack like a rock had been thrown against it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I was i the area for a car show...i walked in to this place and a single room was 64.99$.. i went to check the room first.. it had basic amenities but it was a decent room. I had a little problem with remote control but the front desk clerk changed the batteries and it was all good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Trash was left in our room from prior occupants. TV was left on and didn't function properly. Not only was the bottom sheet on the bed not a fitted sheet, but it was meant for a smaller bed and didn't even tuck under.

Our low expectations for breakfast were right on target. Juice machines were not functioning, but still displayed. Milk on counter was not being cooled. No hot water or decaf coffee available.

We will never go back to this Econo Lodge or any other Econo Lodge. Save your $60 dollars and sleep in the car, at least you'll be surrounded by your own trash!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeAnzaJig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whippany
13.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport
0.3 mi away
Hanover Marriott
Hanover Marriott
#2 of 6 in Whippany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany
3.6 mi away
FairBridge Hotel & Conference Center East Hanover
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Parsippany - Morris Plains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Whippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Whippany

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Whippany
Address: 1255 State Route 10, Whippany, NJ 07981-1026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Whippany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn Whippany 1.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Whippany offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in lobby, free continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Our guest rooms include 39 inch flat panel satellite TV, HBO, ESPN, alarm clock radio, a balcony and patio. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are located off I-287 Exit 39A/B on State Route 10 East, and are near attractions such as Whippany Railway Museum, Drew University, and MetLife Stadium. Americas Best Value Inn Whippany is your best choice within "the place of the willows" of New Jersey. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for business, vacation, sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Philadelphia or Boston. At Americas Best Value Inn Whippany our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Whippany, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Whippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Whippany
Wellesley Hotel Whippany
Wellesley Whippany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing