We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skylark Resort Motel
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Bayonne, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 stars”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We decided on a Sunday to take our kids on a VERY last minute vacation on Thursday---our first family vacation, in fact. Our older kids have been asking for years to go to a beach overnight and for years we told them we couldn't pull it off. This year, for some reason, I decided to take on the challenge and figure out if there was a way we could take them on a surprise trip to the shore. So, on a strict, fairly low budget, I searched. I had no idea where we were going that would allow us nice accommodations near a beach all while reasonably priced. Living in Maryland all we knew was Ocean City and how expensive that could get, especially mid-July. I literally searched ALL day Saturday and Sunday and somehow found Wildwood. I've never been to NJ on vacation before so I had no idea what we were getting into. I went purely off of online reviews and prayed we'd be able to keep two pre-teens and an 18 month old entertained all at the same time. The next obstacle was finding a hotel/house with at least two separate sleeping areas so we'd be able to put the baby down without out the rest of us having to go to sleep at the same time. I found the skylark site off of the "stay and play" portion of Morey's Piers website. I was hesitant to say the least. The website was nice but that didn't mean the rooms were really what they looked like in the pictures. We were limited on room style choices since it was last minute, but we chose the skylark because it looked like it had a table, a bigger fridge, and the layout would work better for our family.

We stayed in room 210. The layout was a little different than what we saw online but still doable. It was a big/small room. If it was just 2-3 people it would be a good sized room. Fitting 2 adults, a 10, 11, and 18 month old in that space was tight, but doable. We brought my son's pack and play and had to squeeze it in the closet area (an area hidden by a curtain--sounds shady but wasn't). We gave the older two the queen bed and my husband and I took the sofa bed (also a queen, I believe) with the thinking we would take my son in the living/kitchen area and keep him occupied in the morning until the older kids woke up. That was good in theory---although there was a pocket door separating the areas, the bedroom area got quite warm when the door was shut. So, my husband took our son out every morning to Britton's bakery (good apple fritters and donuts) for coffee and donuts. It gave the rest of us an extra two hours or so to sleep. Housekeeping did put the sofa bed back into a sofa everyday so when we got back from the pier we were able to use the space as a living area. The table only sat 3 but it was fine for a quick meal in to save us some money. There was a small microwave, a fairly large (medium sized? Bigger than dorm style, but smaller than full size) fridge/freezer combo, a small sink w/ soap/rag, silverware, dishes, etc.

The sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable. Firm---we thought when we first got in in we were going to hate it but when we woke in the morning we both said we slept great. Much more supportive than any other sofa beds I've slept on in the past. The kids said the bed was firm, but comfy. The decor was cute---kinda retro. Seems like it was probably recently remodeled. The kids loved the lava lamps and the other little details near the windows. There were some things like the corners of wallpaper peeling in the bathroom but that didn't seem like a big deal. Especially to me because normally I'm a total freak about sleeping in hotels...to the point I bring my own little sleep sack to sleep and pillow so i don't have to touch the bed. The room was very, very clean. The things like the wallpaper and tile color (a gold/white check) just seemed like the building was little older but not dirty. The sheets were clean and the blanket was fresh (they gave us brand new ones) and nice and fleecy. The comforter on the bed was covered by a duvet--not a nasty bedspread. I think the bath products were all Philosophy brand. The shower wasn't wonderful----little bit of low pressure but that worked out in our favor after we got sunburned and didn't want to be pelted by high water pressure. It wasn't like a trickle---but if you're used to really strong flow you're not going to get it -- at least in room 310.

We didn't use the pool but it looked nice. Closed a little early, in my opinion. I think at 9 or 930pm. There was a continental breakfast of mini muffins, bagels, danishes, juice and coffee. It was enough to hold us over til lunch time. I saw they loaned out bikes/helmets and beach supplies (boogie boards, umbrella, etc.) All of these things were limited but it didn't seem like ppl were waiting in line either. They offered board games as well as a mini arcade room, but we didn't use them.

We bought the stay and play pack---$70 each person for 3 nights (the baby was free). So from 3pm Thursday thru 6pm Sunday we could use all of the piers which was worth every penny. We only used it Fri and Sat and that was worth it!! The kids LOVED both water parks and there was enough to keep all three kids entertained. The older kids loved the rides too. I'd highly encourage buying the tickets for the piers. It was a good walk up to all the piers....but possible if you didn't want to pay for parking. We found some lots that were only $6/day so we found it worth the $ to drive closer to the pier instead of lugging everything up (we took our lunches w/ us). And you can go to the beach from the piers....really is an all in one package.

All of the staff was unbelievably friendly. And not like "I have to be friendly" friendly but genuinely friendly. Like you've known them all your life. Definitely would return and recommend. If you have more than two kids though I'd recommend a suite/cottage, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehannar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    14
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
48
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Linden, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Ive been staying at the Skylark twice per Summer, for 15 yrs now, and there are many reasons why I refuse to stay elsewhere. Aside from my love for it's doo-wop-era them, and warm colors, I appreciate the cleanliness - rooms are spotless (and pre-air conditioned) upon check in, the grounds are bare-foot walkable, trash/recycle cans are constantly emptied, the pool is immaculate. An obsessive neat-freak will be delighted here. I know - I'm one!
Rooms are as fully equipped as a shore motel room should be. C'mon, who needs a 60" plasma TV a block away from the ocean and boardwalk full of entertainment?! You can Keep Up With The Kartrashians when you go back home. And you can get CNN on your phone. Really.
Theres a 2nd level sundeck that gets a full day's sun, and the lounge chairs are actually comfortable - always a bonus, though rare at other motels.
The pool is a modest size, complete with lounge chairs and kids toys/floatation tubes, and facing the setting Summer sun.
Doo-Wop theme with the coolest neon lights, and palm trees = perfect to sit on deck and admire at night, before turning in. God, I wanna live here!
Location is PRIME - block from boardwalk/Great White coaster. Skylark is on Atlantic ave, where most restaurants are lined up, but none are on that block, so youre minus the noise and crowds that gather at restaurants.
Convention Cr. is only a few blocks away, as is the bus station, and a 24/7 Rite Aid. 3am munchies? Noooo problem. Theres even a corner deli attached to the Skylark.
Prices are among the most reasonable you will find anywhere - especially at such a clean, quality motel, in a prime location!
Now as for the staff.......if I say that they are all wayyyy too nice and helpful, I'd be nailing it on the head! Even when I first started staying there - before they knew me - they were always the friendliest people! It's a family owned and maintained motel, so staying there feels like youre a part of that family. Any info on dining, etc, they will help you with, and theres a member in the office 24/7, watching over the place. No unwanted visitors to worry about.
The cherry on the Skylark cake, is Sophia at the front desk! Never anything but a warm smile and pleasant greeting from her. And though I wish she'd let her hair down once in awhile, she even looks cute with it tied back! How many women can pull that off??:-)
I cant wait to go back in a few weeks, for another 10 days!

Room Tip: Ive stayed on both levels, on all sides, and my only preference is on the upper level, where I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We take a trip to Wildwood every year and always stay at the Skylark. My nieces have a blast here at the pool and location is really ideal. We are one block from the board walk and the beach which makes it so easy. The owners are super friendly, and always have great recommendations for us for places to eat. We always have a great time when coming here and will continue to come back every year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thuyha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have been coming to the skylark for 6 years and Its the best! The rooms are clean, location is one block from the boardwalk and just in the center. The owners are extremely nice and go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We would never go any place else. Thanks again Skylark.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Me,my wife and kids have been coming to wildwood for 8 years now.we decided to stay at skylark motel.The lady at the front desk was a very nice lady named Sophia and helped us to find good restaurants.once we came in the room it smelt and looked very clean.The pool was a good size for me and my kids.overall we had
a great time and will surely come back to the skylark resort!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This Motel was at best a 2 star. I don't know how people rate this place as good. it is outdated and dirty. The only good thing about it was the location. housekeeping is horrid. the same trash that was on my floor stayed on my floor. remind you she went in the room everyday with a broom. They mop the floor with towels. The location was great we didn't need a car we were just two blocks from the boardwalk. they did bring clean towels and change the sheets everyday which was good. The whole time I was there I slept in my clothes and with the lights on LOL.. The bed was hard as a rock. they have plastic on the mattress so the sheets don't stay on and slide all over the place. I was afraid I was going to be eaten alive (but that didn't happen Thank God). The room smelled staled. The shower had no water pressure and came out in little trinkets. the shower was so dirty and had mold on it. it was disgusting. We had to where flip flops to take a shower and the floor was tile and we dare not walk on that floor bare foot. I would not recommend this place to no one. The price to stay here is pretty expensive $200 plus a night. With that kind of money they need to renovate the place. They do have a pool but it is small and the whole time I did not smell any chlorine???? The boardwalk was tons of fun..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chill2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I booked at Skylark for 2 days and ended up leaving early. It was awful. The room, next to the office, was the worst I've stayed in for decades. It had two double beds and a "kitchette", which included a rusted double burner hot plate. Yucky. Everything about the room and hotel was 2 Star or less. I wouldn't recommended it to anyone. The best thing about it was the deli next door, run by a nice couple with a baby. Inexpensive food and good coffee.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjiBoyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Motel
Tropicana Motel
#22 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#13 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#3 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#16 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#11 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
AA Heart of Wildwood Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylark Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylark Resort Motel

Property: Skylark Resort Motel
Address: 3917 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4705
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Skylark Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Skylark Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylark Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing