We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, clean family resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunflower Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunflower Motel
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, clean family resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Just spent 4 days at The Sunflower Motel. I would highly recommend it. The owners are super nice and make you feel so welcome. The location is excellent - close to the boardwalk and right inbetween 2 of the amusement parks. The pool is a good size and super clean. This will be our new home in Wildwood! Thank you Sandra and Ernest for a beautiful vacation. See you next summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
105
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

HIGHLY recommend staying here. The welcome is always warm. The stay always comfortable. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean. The Sunflower is perfect for a weekend getaway at the shore or the family vacation to Wildwood. I love this place

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J0hnBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

After a not-great Wildwood motel experience (another place) the year before, my husband and I spent hours online trying to find the place we were looking for -- close to the boardwalk, within a certain set of streets, clean, friendly, and reasonably priced. As we narrowed down our list one by one, the Sunflower stayed on until it was our number one choice. And it was definitely the right choice!

We visited between the hurricane and Labor Day weekends. I think Sandra and Ernie must have ordered the weather specifically for us! It was terrific.

Because we were staying a few nights, we booked one of the larger units so we could spread out. It had a living room (with sofa bed) in the front, a kitchenette and bathroom in the middle, and a bedroom in the back. Everything was meticulously clean -- not luxury but clean and neat and well cared for. Lots of hot water and good water pressure (which can sometimes be a problem at the shore). The cable for one of the TVs gave us a little trouble at first, and Ernie offered to come right up (but waited because we were going out for dinner). Minor problem, easily fixed. Maid service was great. As we were continuing on to another leg of our vacation, I made use of the laundry machines on-site so that was helpful too.

Our time at the Sunflower was full of fun and we had a great time. We'll be back, no more online searching required! Thanks to our wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WaverlyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I generally hate motels. So I went to the Sunflower with a bit of a bias against it. Keep in mind almost every facility that rents rooms in Wildwood is a motel with outside room entrances and is over 40 years old. No Marriotts or Sheraton's here. When I made the reservation about a month before my stay, the person on the phone did not want a credit card and did not give me a confirmation number. She said she trusted me to show up. I guess I had to trust her to keep my reservation. When we arrived late in the evening, we had to ring the bell outside the office. Sandra came out and opend the door for us. She and her husband live in an apartment behind the office with a large, but quiet, dog. She was very pleasant and checking in went very well. The entire motel is elevated so there is a parking area at street level. You need to climb the stairs to get to the first floor. Something to consider if you have problems with stairs. The room itself was spotless. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had the standard setup. They did not supply shampoo. The room was 12 x 12 with no closet. There was a rack where you could hang things up. The room also had a small refridgerator, a microwave and a clock radio. Very basic and a little sparce, but it worked for what we needed. There is an outdoor heated pool and a deck overlooking it on the "first" floor. The Sunflower is a block and a half from the boardwalk. All things considered, I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amys_husband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Sandra and Ernie are two of the most wonderful people/owners. they take a special interest in their clients comfort and happiness. It was my wife`s birthday and they went out of their way to have the family sing Happy Birthday and present her with a cake. These people are a blessing to have as friends. OH, by the way their motel is immaculate and their maids are great. We will defiantly be seeing them again !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

This was our first time as a whole family going on a multi day trip. i will be totally honest our first choice was the Marlane but they where booked so we instead choose the sunflower and i could not have been happier the owners are good people who are very friendly. the place was clean and comfy and very well run. even thou we got chased out by a hurricane and had to leave early. i would still pick this hotel if we come back. location is amazing so close to the middle of everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank firestopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

The owners, Ernie and Sandra take a personal and vested interest in their property as well as their clients. They made it their business to get to know us. Their personal care was herculean in helping us to evacuate for Hurricane Irene. Ernie drove our family to the bus station ahead of the masses and we parted with a genuine concern for each other. Few corporations could understand how much civility matters.

The property itself was quite clean and well maintained. The pool was a treasure for our children, and the deck chairs and tables provided a real holiday atmosphere. The maids attentively cleaned our rooms on a daily basis. The property is situated a block and a half behind the boardwalk, which made the noise level at a minimum. Although they do not feature a breakfast option, there are plenty of cheap options strewn about the boardwalk ($2.99 for two eggs, two strips of bacon, and toast seem to be the special around here!)

Ernie and Sandra get my vote for innkeepers of the year!

Room Tip: Book by phone, Sandra and Ernie will give you their best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zaru25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.9 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
1.3 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#3 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#10 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#16 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brittany Motel
Brittany Motel
#9 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.2 mi away
SeaGull Motel
SeaGull Motel
#4 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Motel

Property: Sunflower Motel
Address: 313 E Glenwood Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunflower Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing