We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant Wait to Go Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sand Box Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sand Box Motel
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cant Wait to Go Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Sandbox Motel is A TRUE "GEM" of The Wildwoods. Joe &Rita REALLY Care about YOUR NEEDS to have a Great Vacation. We Really Appreciated the LATE POOL Hours too! Sandbox Motel is Within Walking Distance of All Activities: BEACH,BOARDWALK, RESTURANTS
We just got back from the SANDBOX MOTEL &Already Cant Wait to Stay Next Year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blui555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiv B, Owner at The Sand Box Motel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We can't wait to have you back! Thanks for your kind compliments, and I hope we'll get to see you again for another fun vacation. We're now under new management and making things even better than before!

All the best,
Shiv, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    72
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
142
95
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I have a very picky spouse! And he liked it! If your looking for upscale 5 star go elsewhere....if your looking for a nice clean friendly place to stay and save money this is the place. Rooms are out dated and worn but it really doesn't matter. They are very clean...new sheets, towels everything daily. Everything smells clean and the owners are great helpful and friendly. They run a family type motel and watch out for trouble so if your here to party its not the place. If your here with family its perfect.... clean pool and hot tub! Just really a hidden gem if your looking to save and have a clean safe friendly place to stay. We were here for 3 nights with younger kids!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooks710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiv B, Owner at The Sand Box Motel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
You just made my day! I'm so pleased you and your family had a fun time staying with us. There's nothing like having a little family vacation! I know your going to love all our changes now that we are under new management. Hope to see you again the next time you all want to take a trip.

All the best,
Shiv, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

While we were staying there, we noticed a lot of things we did not like. We got yelled at for our kids being too loud in the pool. The owner apparently had a headache. How do you tell a 2 and 8 year old to swim quietly?! We are on vacation to have fun. Also, we felt like we were being watched. The owner closed our door and always came over to let us know when he was leaving or when he arrived. The floor was not swept. My mother in law had to sweep it. All in all, the stay was not good. We do not plan on staying there again. Considering what we paid, we should of had a better stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaysky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiv B, Owner at The Sand Box Motel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I'm disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay. You're right -- kids should be kids and get to swim around and have fun! It's also surprising to hear that the floor wasn't swept. When you're on vacation, all you should have to be responsible for is relaxing!

That said, we are under new management and are taking care to make sure our guests have the best possible stay. Do you think you'd be up for giving us a shot? We know we can really change your mind about our place!

All the best,
Shiv, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colfontaine, Hainaut, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

A great little motel 5 blocks from the boardwalk. Clean but basic with a nice little pool and jacuzzi. Everything you would ever need for a great shore weekend. In easy walking distance to the Boardwalk, grocery stores, liquor stores and several restaurants. Great staff too.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the inner courtyard of the hotel away from the sometimes busy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiv B, Owner at The Sand Box Motel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Justin, there's nothing quite like staying right next to the Boardwalk, is there? I'm glad to hear you had a nice time visiting us. We're under new management now, so we'd love to see you again the next time you're in the country!

All the best,
Shiv, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claymont, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is a great place to stay, very clean, great pool and the owner Joe is one of the nicest people that you will ever met. My family has been staying here twice each summer for the last 4 years and we do not ever think of staying anywhere else. My daughter loves the pool and the fact that each time we are there we run into some of the same guests, it is like family. Looking forward to many more years staying at The Sand Box!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenixville, pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was a great place. The pool and hot tub were wonderful and the room was very clean. You pretty much have to drive to get to the beach or boardwalk but it was a very nice place. The owners were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

My wife and I found this place in the wildwood vacation planner and LOVED IT. The owners Joe and Rita are great. Joe is very knowledgable about the area and has some good recommendations for places to eat. The place is geared for families and couples over 30. They have a hot tub which is great to kickback with a drink at night and relax. Every morning Joe puts out coffee and donuts for the guests. The only downside is the motel is 4 blocks from the beach and boardwalk. If your looking for a place to relax by the pool, sit in the hot tub and just get away from it all then the Sandbox is the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#20 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.5 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SeaGull Motel
SeaGull Motel
#4 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#16 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#2 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sand Box Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sand Box Motel

Property: The Sand Box Motel
Address: 5310 Park Blvd, Wildwood, NJ 08260-1459
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sand Box Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Wildwood, New Jersey's Best Boardwalk, we promise that fun times are a shore thing at Sand Box Motel. Whether you're a local resident or tourist looking for a couple's getaway, a family vacation or girl's trip, we invite you to come and play in our Sand Box! Sand Box Motel's property features a pool, hot tub, picnic area, water slide and two BBQ grills, while our 24 newly renovated rooms include a variety of amenities from brand new linens and free WiFi to in room kitchens - all at the most affordable rates! Guests can relax at the Sand Box Motel or check out the nearby attractions like Wildwood's boardwalk, Splash Zone, Cape May and Maurie's Adventure Pier. We are focused on providing accommodations with the highest customer satisfaction rating in the Wildwoods and will do everything we can to meet your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Sand Box Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing