We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!”
Review of El Ray Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Ray Motel
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Palmyra, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

AS OF 9/16/12 ---everything is in working condition;toilet flushes;shower works;extremely convenient, with easy access to local restaurants, boardwalk, ice cream parlors; has a pool as deep as 9' (for adult) and 2' (for the little ones); beds are compfy, TV has more than one station; management and service are extremely nice and the deals are completely reasonable for a motel thats located only a block away from the boardwalk.. we had a block party-like event there, at least on 2 different occasiond, LEMME TELL YA'.. IF MANAGEMENT CAN HANDLE ME!! THIS HAS GOTTA BE A GREAT PLACE TO STAY...CAUSE IMMA CARAZY BOY!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ford982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    8
    13
    11
    19
See reviews for
35
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel is an absolute joke! It's a nice place to stay if you want to catch the HIV virus, or perhaps Hepatitis. We found a needle in the shower when we first arrived, and the scum bag manager, who barely spoke english refused to give us a new room or a discount. Considering it was late and we had nowhere else to go, we stayed. The room was smaller than a dorm room closet, the sink did not work, and the shower did not have good water pressure, nor hot water. I obtained a rash on my leg that I believe to be from something in the room and it has yet to dissipate one week later. DO NOT STAY HERE NO MATTER WHAT, SLEEP IN YOUR CAR IF YOU HAVE TO!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank joey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

NEVER STAY AT THIS MOTEL- unless you like cockroaches, 5x5 foot rooms that smell like [--], bed bugs, toilets that don't flush, or pools packed with annoying mexican children. This was literally the worst place I've ever encountered. It was overpriced and the manager there was a complete scumbag. We had a visiter over for 5 minutes and he threatened to evict us if he didnt leave. A homeless person even knocked on our door asking for change for the bus. Most god awful piece of [--] motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is my favorite place to stay. My family has been coming to this motel for 6 years from Toronto, ON Canada. The owners and staff here are wonderful and the rates are very good and fair.They always greet you with a smile and they will always do their best to accommodate your needs. There is fresh coffee and donuts provided every morning as well as fresh bathroom towels and soap. The rooms are also cleaned everyday. There is also a pool on site as well as parking. It is extremely convenient as it is 1 block away from the boardwalk and beach. There are plenty of amenities near by as well......such as the pizza shop attached to one end of the motel which is opened late. WiFi is also available at this motel. I really love coming here......it's like a second home with extended family. I would definitely recommend this motel to anyone visiting Wildwood NJ!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Daisy909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

It looked clean but my souls of my feet got dirty from walking around the room barefooted. The lighting was terrible, one table lamp for the whole room. Doors slaming all night. You could see day light under the doors. The bed spreads had rotted spot on them. The only thing new in there was the mattress. Everything else was crap.There was no ice machine or ice bucket. the fridge didn't even have a light. Frightful metal stairs to climb. It seemed like what I paid was way too much for that place. Never again, I'd rather pay more money at a better Motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank janis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Haven, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The El Ray Motel was a very affordable option & was exactly what we expected it to be. Our room was small, but we figured it would be. The room was clean and the extra closet space was a plus. The bed was comfortable and all the lighting in the room was a benefit as well. On the negative side, the TV only got one station which was ESPN. We found that to be a bit annoying. Also being right out in front of the pool made it for an early morning each day because of the noise at the pool. The pool was very nice and a good size. The rooftop sundecks were also a huge plus. Management was very friendly. The owner also offered donuts and coffee each morning which was a very nice bonus. I would have liked if our room would have been cleaned after each night, but luckily we only stayed 3 nights so it was alright. Overall, a very nice and affordable offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Veronichap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

No breakfast included; old and very much in need of updating; overpriced for condition of motel. Yet, clean with very friendly owners who are always willing to accommodate.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marilyn041254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Surf Comber Motel
Surf Comber Motel
#38 of 76 in Wildwood
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Motel
Tropicana Motel
#28 of 76 in Wildwood
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skylark Resort Motel
Skylark Resort Motel
#23 of 76 in Wildwood
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountain Motel
Fountain Motel
#34 of 76 in Wildwood
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashell Motel
Seashell Motel
#54 of 76 in Wildwood
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Court Motel
Royal Court Motel
#52 of 76 in Wildwood
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ray Motel

Property: El Ray Motel
Address: 4711 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4508
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Ray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing