We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive..”
Review of The Ice House

The Ice House
Ranked #51 of 166 Restaurants in Wildwood
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Davis Avenue
Description: Entering our ninth season, Ice House Bar and Grille is emerging as the option of choice for "down the shore" dining and relaxing. Check out the Island's ONLY "Wine Nook" serving an upscale wine list by the glass or bottle along with our "wine flights" to give you a taste of something new! The dining room is perfect for parties of all sizes, two to twenty or more! Our kitchen staff prides itself in creatively preparing the freshest seafood, finest steaks, awesome flatbreads, our all new Ice House Mac N Cheese, sandwiches and burgers and even a children's menu in a comfortable and contemporary setting. Our Deck is a great alternative if you're only in the mood for appetizers and/or a sandwiches or a lite meal while enjoying the view overlooking Otten's Harbor.Whether it's relaxing bay views on the Deck or dinner in the air-conditioned upscale dining room, Ice House has something for the whole family, aged two to ninety-two!
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Impressive..”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Was a nice Friday early evening so we decided to take the elevator to the 2nd floor and sit on the deck. Service was fast but for the life of me I couldn't understand why they only had Miller and assorted micro brews for drafts. Deck offered appetizers, had to go back downstairs for the "Fine Dining" as the waitress informed me. Early bird offered limited 3 course for $20. No problem I ordered the chicken parm and my date the crab cakes. Service was fast and the food was well presented and good. The portions were on the small side. Once again another Wildwood restaurant that doesn't drain noodles well as I drained off at least 4 ounces of water from my dish. Brought it to the waitress's attention and asked her to take plate of gravy water back to cook. Didn't hear one peep in return. Overall not bad. Mounted on their one wall is a pair of chrome ice block tongs/hooks that I had my date convinced they were a sex toy :P

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aldo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Flattered to decieve ..”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The service wasn't great (possibly due to a new starter on the door), and the menu was pretty limited ... (not much fish for wildwood) ..
The bar upstairs again just should have been better than it was, but again i felt a little disappointed ... all in all i doubt i would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette B, Owner at The Ice House, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Sorry about your disappointment in our restaurant. Just wanted to note that we have predominately seafood on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Frozen Food”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have eaten at the Ice House several times but this was the first time this year. On this recent visit we ate outside on the second floor deck. The outdoor deck has an appetizer and sandwich menu.

We had the calamari appetizer. The portion size was large but had no taste. The side of marinara sauce also had little flavor. Based that each piece of calamari, was identical, it was obvious that the product was frozen. We also had a crabcake sandwich which while fried a little to long, was a good sandwich. The real disappointment was the bbq pork sandwich. It was described as jerk seasoned bbq pulled pork. The sandwich had no jerk seasoning. The sauce it was smothered in, did not appear to be "homemade".

On the plus side, the prices are reasonable. They have fairly priced drinks and beer. The waiter did a good job.

We would probably return but probably just for drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junkd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place but portions could be larger”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We ate on the outside deck so maybe that's why our portions were smaller with the deck menu. I just felt like for the price maybe one side should coke with items. Food was good tasting and it was a nice clean fun feel. We asked for a drink special listed on there wall outside and our waitress had no idea what we were talking about nor did she care or try to find out so we ordered something different. She was nice just not being familiar with "specials" is badfor waitstaff. Overall it was good but I dont know if we would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brooks710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We visited this restaurant for the first time last week. Had heard from a family member that it was worth a look. The food was very good, prices were moderate. Atmosphere and decor a little cold but very nice and very clean. All four of us enjoyed our meals and would return.

The only negative I can think of was the accoustics. We had an early dinner and it was almost empty when we arrived. We sat downstairs and it is "L" shaped. There is a small bar at the short end of the "L" and we were seated at extreme other end. A small crowd was at the bar (maybe 8 people) and the noise coming from the bar made it difficult to talk to each other. There is no structure to absorb sound and it carries all through the building.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tneynop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ice House also viewed

Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
North Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to The Ice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing