We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel close to boardwalk”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alton Motel
Ranked #3 of 16 Wildwood B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent hotel close to boardwalk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a very relaxing hotel with a nice pool and friendly owners. It's great for families since the hotel is close to the boardwalk and rides. We would definately return. The owners seem to keep up with the appearence of the hotel and pool and helped us with anything we needed during our stay.

Room Tip: Top floor is great for watching fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 176guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonMotelWW, Owner at Alton Motel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are SO glad you enjoyed your stay! Check out our Facebook page for specials this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for a short weekend in 2013 for an event at the convention center. I wasn't expecting the nicest of accommodations but I did find myself wishing we could have stayed somewhere else. I've never been in motel/hotel room that had all tile floor. I guess it's easier to keep clean....that is, if it's cleaned. We kept flip flops next to the bed so we didn't need to walk around barefoot. Upon pulling the bedspread back on one of the beds (that are hard as rocks), we found somebody's hair. The bathroom sink dripped constantly and the bathroom overall was very dated. There was a door in the room similar to what usually connects two rooms but it didn't budge so I'm not sure what was on the other side of it - it creeped me out so we kept our luggage on a chair in front of the door. Upon arrival, we found the fridge door wide open with a towel laying in the bottom - after our 2 night stay, I figured out it was left like that so the freezer section could defrost. Weirdest of all, we had to flip the breaker box in the room to turn our lights on when we first arrived. Not only is the parking lot small, the "line" for the end parking space is the sidewalk - when getting out of the car, the door swung out over the sidewalk. All that said, the motel matches the area it's in....not nice and uncomfortable. The only good things I can say is that the front desk people were very nice and the shower pressure was awesome.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby_D_Kane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonMotelWW, Owner at Alton Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
In response to reviews. First thank you to ALL of our customers! We can't wait to start our fourth summer and look forward to seeing our many guests that we now consider friends! Thank you all for taking the time to comment. As you know we are a small, older, family owned and operated motel. Our goal is to make sure you, as our guest, have a wonderful, comfortable stay, without breaking the bank! We know you are in Wildwood for the beach, boardwalk and all the wonderful events and activities it offers, not to spend all your time and money on lodging! We put all profits right back into the motel, that was very unkept and rundown when we first took ownership. We choose a major project each year to improve the property and work daily on maintaining. Projects we choose are based on customer suggestions, keeping in mind we want to keep costs down for you! We are very proud of how far we've come! We may need more updating, but we believe in cleanliness & excellent customer service. We're here for you, so please, let us know if you need something while you're still here. There's nothing we can do for you if you wait a day, a month, or in some cases a few months before we have to read about your stay on-line. We pride ourselves on our customer service and have, as our customers will attest, gone out of our way to make sure you're happy while here. Unlike some of the larger hotels, at the Alton, an owner is always close by to help. A few specifics we can address: Parking is tight, we agree, need help pulling in or out, we're here! Unable to walk to our secure overflow lot closer to the beach, we'll shuttle you, we're here! We use a linen service for sheets, if there's a problem, we're happy to change the sheets for you, we're here! Our plumber has tightened the toilets that were loose, cleared pipes that were slow draining, drippy sinks in our Doo Wop bathrooms are being replaced, we're here, tell us of any issues while you are! Cleaners missed a spot? It should not happen, but if it does, tell us, we will be right there, we're here! Most weekends we have security on site. Problem with some guests having a little too much fun? Tell us, we're here! We want the Alton Motel Wildwood to be your go to motel! We're here and we care!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delran, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you are looking for a Motel in the heart of Wildwood, a short walk to the center of the boardwalk, a short walk to the convention center, and a short work to everything else Wildwood has to offer, then this is the Motel to stay in. Unlike the large out of control Motels right in the same area, this small intimate Motel offers clean rooms which include a refrigerator and a microwave. The owners, Ray and Sue, are hands on and it is apparent that they take pride in their Motel. Although the parking is limited and over flow parking is a couple blocks away Ray shuttled us back a forth to our car as well as helped with the luggage. The Motel has a restaurant attached that is open for Breakfast and Lunch. Very handy on those long nights by the pool or up on the over sized sun deck, where we watched the Friday Night Wildwood Fireworks up close and personal. If you want a nice stay in a controlled and safe environment go see Ray and Sue at the Alton Motel. The website is nice as well at www.altonmotelwildwood.com, there is a lot of information as well as a way to start our reservation. Had a great time guys! See you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nj
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at The Alton Motel for Bike Week. The new owners (Bud & Julie) are the best and have turned this once lonely property into a home away from home. As with most of the old hotels/motels in Wildwood, the accommodations are standard fare. Where this property shines is the way they have made improvements. The motel is clean and under constant care. The location is perfect. The maid service is prompt and very accommodating to everyone's needs.

The owners have gone and continue to go out of their way for their guests. Everything is done to make you comfortable. We are very happy that we stayed here. Hey, the owners stay with you all day & night. They are building a home away from home for all of their guests. The best part is that they treat you like family. We will definitely stay with Bud & Julie every time we go to Wildwood.

Room Tip: Talk to Bud or Julie for whatever your needs may be....they're very accommodating The first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerguy080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

If your looking for a motel that when you sit on the toilet it moves because the bolts are broke This is a great place to stay!
If your looking for a motel with a bunch of people drinking and yelling and swimming in the pool till 3.00 o'clock in the morning disturbing all the other guests in the motel
This is a Great place to stay!
This Motel is the worst Place I ever stayed in My life !!!!!! I almost forgot According to The Girl at the front Desk informed me that this is a 23 room motel with only 10 parking spaces at the motel So If by some strange chance you want to take your car out with your family for a nice dinner somewhere in town when you come back you won't have your old parking space BUT DON"T FEAR !!!! You only have to go 5 blocks away 2 blocks up and 3 down and you can park in another lot reserved for the Alton Motel Guests.(Hope it's not Raining)
This is a Great Place to stay!
If you enjoy waking up to 7 police officers Because the group Partying all night had someone break in and rob them of their Money and personal belongings and all the guests in the place were standing outside on the balcony's furious how they had to put up with all that misery all night long
This is a Great Place to stay!
In ending I'd like to say that the Owner is quite a cheery Guy and seems to blame everything that's going on in his Motel on a few Knuckle Heads (in his words) But I will say this about the Owner He really Cares about His Guests because when your driving down the street You can't miss the Motel Because He parks His Black on Black Mercedes sl Convertible right on the end in the first Parking spot Therefore leaving only 9 spots for the 23 room Motel So for all you Guys looking to enjoy all these great things that I enjoyed at my visit to the Alton and enjoy staying up all night to the drinking and partying and noise This is without a doubt the Best Motel to go to In Wild Wood
Oh I almost forgot before going home place a call to you chiropractor because after trying to sleep on those beds your going to need one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My family and I have been coming to the Alton for the past 3 years since the new owners took over and we love it! The staff is awesome, the rooms are clean, location is perfect and the place is very accommodating. There also is a cafe attached to the motel and the food is very good. My favorite kids place to eat "Mack's Pizza" is right up the street. Many of our friends have stayed here too and we all keep coming back. Great place too for Irish weekend...room rates are even better....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel Hill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I've been going to the Alton for the past two years and have never been disappointed! We usually take kids, and we have a great time. The owners are awesome and very accommdating and the staff is very helpful. The rooms are clean, the pool area is fun and It's close to the boardwalk, with restaurants and bars close by.

Room Tip: If you have a family or more than 4 people staying with you, the 3rd floor Suite is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.8 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
1.1 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#3 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.8 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tropicana Motel
Tropicana Motel
#28 of 76 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
AA Heart of Wildwood Motels
0.4 mi away
Daytona Inn
Daytona Inn
#10 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Motel

Property: Alton Motel
Address: 235 E Wildwood Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4837
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alton Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Alton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing