We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean and retro family friendly down the shore hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I am pleasantly surprised with the Starlux in Wildwood. Clean, fresh old fashioned family friendly vacation spot. It is the perfect spot being right at the line of Wildwood and Wildwood Crest you get the convenience of location without all the rowdy noise. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank KTolerico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel isn't bad but it's not the greatest shore hotel I've ever stayed in. We upgraded to a king suite with a pull out couch for the kids. Although we got a balcony we didn't expect, the room (and indeed ALL the king suites like this one) are right next to the elevator which clangs loudly every time the door shuts--all night long.

Worse our kids were up every morning at the crack of dawn because there are no curtains. The retro blinds they use for window coverings do pretty much nothing to keep the sun out. The floors and linens are clean but the shower and bathroom fixtures are coated in hard water stains and muck. The pool is clean but it's about half the size of a normal hotel pool.

All the shore hotels are over priced but I regretted spending so much on a suite considering the poor location. Between the elevator keeping us up all night and the light streaming in every morning, we got very little sleep at this hotel.

Also, it's not central to the boardwalk. Next time we'll stay several streets further up so that we don't have to walk so far every day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful vacation thanks to Starlux and their staff!  The room was immaculate, the staff is very courteous, the pool and  jacuzzi were very clean, and we will definitely be back again.  We come down every year for the Elks convention and spend two days ahead of time at Starlux facility, then the rest of the vacation time at the regularly scheduled hotel for the Elks, based on the first couple of days of our vacation spent at the Starlux facility we will not be staying at the Elks scheduled hotel anymore, and we recommended this hotel to everyone in our group, which is over 100 people.  Thank you again Starlux for a wonderful vacation AND wonderful accommodations such as the free bikes, beach chairs, beach umbrellas ETC.  If 6 stars were available that's what I would have chosen.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at the Starlux for 3 nights (June 8th - 11th). Our first time at the Jersey Shore. I must say everything about this hotel was as advertised from the retro decor theme rooms, to a great staff to the music being played each day. The pool was wonderful as well as the hot tub. Add to that the fact the Starlux is only a block and a half from the famous boardwalk and within walking distance to many great restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I haven't been to Wildwood in years and saw a great bargain on TravelZoo . I took a leap of faith and found the hotel to be clean, family friendly, and close to the boardwalk. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy-s4227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Starlux one night (June 11th) in the two bedroom suite. I requested the top floor and they granted that room, the room was clean, in fact they just had the carpets cleaned that afternoon. The staff went out of their way for us. They allowed us to use the bikes, hot tub and outside shower for the afternoon even tho we had checked out that morning. They even allowed us to have a later check out since it was off season and no one was using the room that night. Great location, great service and clean! It is a typical hotel you would find in Wildwood. Not fancy but my group of sixteen year old girls loved it! Thanks for a great sweet 16 year old birthday celebration for my daughter!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamad424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We made a mid-week jaunt to the Jersey Shore before all schools let out and the shore becomes overrun!!
We chose the Star Lux because of a fabulous Group On in March. It turned out to be amazing. We stayed in one if their two Airstream trailers. The experience was kitschy and a blast. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is perfect - one block from the world famous boardwalk!! There are tons of places to eat, activities to do including Morey Piers and miles of sand to explore!!
I will be coming back to the Star Lux...again and again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pix-da-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood
0.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#14 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Palms
Blue Palms
#5 of 75 in Wildwood
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brittany Motel
Brittany Motel
#9 of 75 in Wildwood
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#13 of 75 in Wildwood
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The StarLux Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The StarLux Hotel & Suites

Address: 305 E Rio Grande Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4530
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wildwood
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
#7 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range: £33 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The StarLux Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The StarLux Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Motel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing