We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be so much more...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Wildwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could be so much more...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Spent 2 days in the Robert Louis Stevenson suite with my husband and son. On pulling up on the Sea Gypsy I was already dissappointed. The main house outside appearance is in need of some TLC (a good painting would help) and the neighborhood is a little rundown. The building that we were staying is directly behind the main house and that too needs help. The house next to it looks abandon and a wreck and definately brings down the appearance of the sea gypsy. The suite though clean was just ok. And lets not forget the late night (2am) loud music from the bar on the corner (good night Irenes). On the positive side the woman who took care of us and cooked our breakfast was a gem. If not for her the place would really be terrible. I would definately drive another ten miles to Cape May for a true Bed & Breakfast experience. By the way We never saw the Inn Keepers once. at 185.00 a night this was a true disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babypeterblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    17
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here for Labor day weekend and we loved it. We were in the Robert Louis Stevenson Suite, which has a small bedroom, kitchenette area with dining table, and living room. The location was great as others have said, far enough from the boardwalk to be calm and quiet, but close enough that it's a short walk to the beach.

Breakfast really is very nice, with home baking, fresh fruit, and a plate of hot food (could be eggs, ham, waffles, changes daily). The fresh lemonade and snack bar is a lovely touch too.

The only negative for us was that the walls really were paper thin, and we could hear the guests next to us speaking even at a low volume (and I'm sure they heard us too). This might not be the case in the main house.

But overall, a really cozy, classy spot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallaimhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is my 1st B&B experience and I love this place, although we stayed only for one night. Close to the beach and boardwalk (~5 minutes walk), close to restaurants, easy street parking, delicious breakfast (like the blueberry cakes especially), friendly enviornment (from the owner and other guests),...we also used the hot tub on the porch, it was very convenient and soothing after sightseeing and beach activities etc. There are snacks in the glass jars, iced lemonade in the refrigerator in the hallway, and wine in the dining room that you can have. The room is small but we only use it for sleeping. Our room was clean and has a queen and a twin beds that are very comfortable. The bathroom is very small - but was clean and had plenty of towels and toiletries. They also have free internet access so we could check emails and send some pictures we took during the day.

I searched for places to stay and found this B&B a good location, good review, and good price (considering we came during the summer hot season). Definitely worth the money. Would definitely consider to come again if we visit the area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1st_Time_in_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Our extended family took a trip to Cape May this summer and we decided to stay in Wildwood. We had 4 rooms booked and stayed for 2 nights. This was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are beautiful and VERY clean. After check- in, we were left alone. We never felt awkward walking into the house, as I sometimes do when staying at a B&B. The breakfast was very substantial, and both days we skipped lunch because we were still full from breakfast. There was a nice porch area on the main house for sitting, and there was also a hot tub on the porch (although none of us used it). Each room has its own bathroom and TV. We easily could walk to the Wildwood boardwalk, and there was a nice ice cream shop one block away. We plan to return again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rvanorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville,NJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We had a lovely 4th of July weekend at Sea Gypsy. The place is very clean,comfortable and is near to the beach. Anna and her family was very hospitable. Breakfast is really good as it is presented with fine china. The baked goods were awesome. There is a hospitality table and we love the lemonade. We were able to use the jacuzzi after a whole day at the beach. Will certainly return again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herleiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Sadly, I could only stay for one night, but if I find myself in wildwood again, I will only stay at the Sea Gypsy....Anna was most accomodating. She allowed me to park right next to the house and was more than a wonderful hostess. After my stay, I had a tour of the other building and cottage....I love this place!!! i would like to try the cottage next time around for a few days!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally charming and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zanyjaney63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchville, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 1 night. We stayed in the Walt Whitman, which is the smallest of the rooms. I wouldn't recommended this room if you are staying more then 3 nights as there isn't a lot of space. However is perfect for a short getaway. The house is very cozy and Victorian. It is over a hundred years old, so you will hear creaks throughout the night! Our room was bright and airy and our detached bathroom was gorgeous. There was a small sink in our room and steps that led out to our deck. The bed wasn't huge but it was comfortable. We were 1 of 2 couples staying here, and the other couple didn't seem to be in the room for our entire stay so it was VERY quiet. Since there was no one else staying there, we had the free reign of the house. We saw all the rooms and bathrooms and they were all very nice and cozy. They have all types of cookies and candy in the hall, also wine, popcorn, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate always available. There is a main living room with a VCR and DVD player. There were a lot of movies to choose from. The front porch is pretty big, a nice jacuzzi was out there also. The innkeeper was a sweetheart, she made us an amazing breakfast and made us feel so welcome and at home. She took us on a tour of the suites which were so beautiful, when we come back we plan to stay in one. It was a very relaxing trip!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayG4908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.9 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#21 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.0 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#3 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.2 mi away
SeaGull Motel
SeaGull Motel
#4 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.6 mi away
AA Heart of Wildwood Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast
Address: 209 E Magnolia Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our fully restored circa 1900 Queen Anne Victorian bed and breakfast inn, is located on a neighborhood street just blocks away from the beach, boardwalk, and amusement parks. Interior and exterior detailing make this charming Bed and Breakfast a pure delight. Hardwood floors, antique furnishings, a turret and spacious verandahs conjure memories of a special time in history.We also offer larger suites that accommodate 2 to 4 people. These suites are decorated in The Mission, or Craftsman style. They are perfect for families.There are numerous delightful taverns and restaurants within walking distance and Cape May is just 10 miles away! Bring the entire family for seaside fun, adventure and comfort, or book one of our suites for a quiet romantic getaway.For late fall or early spring beachcombers, our bed and breakfast inn is open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing