We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 17 Wildwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We had an amazing time at the Sea Gypsy! We stayed for 5 nights in the Walt Whitman room which had it's own entrance to the balcony which was perfect. The breakfast was out-of-this-world! One of the best breakfasts I've ever had! There were so many nice touches like free lemonade, candy and treats. We loved coming in from a nice, relaxing day at the beach and pouring ourselves a glass of lemonade and drinking it on the beautiful porch. We also loved the hot tub on the porch which was also a nice way to end the day! By far and away the best B&B we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vivian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed in the William Morris loft. I thought the room was great. It was private and nicely decorated but not over the top like some B&Bs. The bathroom was large as was our living area. We had our our thermostat to control the temp which was nice. There was a flat screen Tv and even a bunch of Dvds we could watch.

Breakfast was really good and you can tell everything was made fresh right in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jujukeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Sea Gypsy... it was our first time staying in a B&B (we are hotel dwellers 99% of the time, but this happened to be the best deal we could find in Wildwood for only 2 nights... I think there's a 3 night minimum in a lot of places). You could park in the driveway which accommodates 2 cars, or on the street... there is also parking in the back of the building. We never had TOO much of an issue finding a spot. You are pretty close to the boardwalk, only a 1-2 minute walk. The breakfast here was an A+, made fresh every morning, they would usually give some sort of fruit or 'appetizer' before the main course which was nice. The coffee cake was reallllly good, one morning it had blueberries and the other morning chocolate chips... really yummy. The first breakfast was pancakes and sausage and the 2nd was eggs benedict which I wasn't a huge fan of but only b/c I'm not crazy about eggs benedict! I'm sure they would've accommodated any other special requests but I didn't want to bother. They serve breakfast at 10am... unless you want it earlier you may be able to suggest it if you want to get an early start. and we ate at a table with the other guests which some people might be weird about but we were never at the table for that long any way. I think I saw some people eating out on the porch though too so that's a possible option. The innkeepers stay out of your business for the most part, I barely ever saw them except at breakfast. The place is pretty quiet considering the walls seem paper thin. We could hear people coming up and down the stairs but it was hardly an issue. My 1 gripe about the place is the bed in our room was like sleeping on concrete. I was so sore the next morning. We stayed in the Longfellow suite, it was clean but it was terribly small. I guess when you stay in hotels all the time, you expect more... and bigger... but what can you do. We slept on the pull out bed the 2nd night only b/c it seemed a little bigger and MAYBE more comfortable but it left something to be desired as well. I'm glad we only stayed 2 nights b/c had it been any longer, I might've requested a different room, the bed was just so bad. and the ceiling fan when we had it going made this squeaky noise so it kept waking me up in the middle of the night. Also, the TV is in the sitting area of the room, NOT where the bed is. and my husband and I need the TV in order to fall asleep so that was kind of annoying. But we moved the TV to face the bed which helped a little (even though I still had to kinda strain to see it).
The temp. in the room was pretty comfortable, but better with the ceiling fan on which helped to circulate the cool air more. I know my husband gets sweaty pretty easily and he was fine in this room. There is a small deck area outside of the room, 2 other rooms (I think) have access to it as well but we never saw anyone else out there. The bathroom has a clawfoot tub with a shower and the curtain goes all the way around you... it was pretty claustrophobic for my husband who is a big guy but it was doable for me. They have bikes you can take out, snacks out during the day and lemonade in the fridge...
It was generally a pretty good stay for our first B&B experience. If you're staying for more than a couple days, definitely get a room with a good, comfortable bed (NOT longfellow)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I always look for cleanliness when I travel, and despite the old-fashioned nature of The Sea Gypsy, the house is spotless. It is located on a street with other B&Bs, and is quiet despite its proximity to Good Night Irene's. The inn-keeper, Anna, was wonderful, accommodating and knowledgeable about the area and surrounding towns. We stayed in the Walt Whitman room, which was smaller than we would have liked, but I have to admit I liked having hardwood floors rather than carpeting. I will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at the Sea Gypsy for three nights. Breakfast was excellent!!! I'm pregnant and couldn't eat the eggs benedict and they were accomodating to that. They make a fresh cake every morning that is still warm at breakfast, awesome. Owners are really nice and accomodating. After checking out, they let us come back and change their before heading home. I was told we can shower there too, even after checking out, but we didn't.

Close to boardwalk, off street parking, we'd stay there again. Our room was on the small side, but I also chose the cheapest room there, so that was why. Shower was tiny though. Could use some upkeep in the room, a bit outdated.

overall a great stay though!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErinfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had a lovely time at the Sea Gypsy. Owners are friendly. Room was clean and exceptionally quiet--especially considering the boardwalk is only two blocks away. Breakfast was delicious. Parking was easy. We were struck with how thoughtful the owners were--free bikes to use while there and, after they heard we were spending the day at the beach after checking us out, they made a bathroom/shower available for us to clean up before driving home.

Room Tip: We had the Emily Dickenson suite, and it was accessible and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mami201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Just returned home from a 2 night stay! We loved it!
Beautiful place, well maintained grounds, lovely interior,
cozy room and great breakfast! The price is right and the
owners were warm and friendly!
As Innkeepers, we can appreciate all the care that goes into
making this B&B a really fine establishment.
Oh! Really GOOD coffee too! We loved it all!
Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bnblady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood
1.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#16 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seahorse Inn
Seahorse Inn
#1 of 17 in Wildwood
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brittany Motel
Brittany Motel
#9 of 75 in Wildwood
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast

Address: 209 E Magnolia Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wildwood
Price Range: £180 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our fully restored circa 1900 Queen Anne Victorian bed and breakfast inn, is located on a neighborhood street just blocks away from the beach, boardwalk, and amusement parks. Interior and exterior detailing make this charming Bed and Breakfast a pure delight. Hardwood floors, antique furnishings, a turret and spacious verandahs conjure memories of a special time in history.We also offer larger suites that accommodate 2 to 4 people. These suites are decorated in The Mission, or Craftsman style. They are perfect for families.There are numerous delightful taverns and restaurants within walking distance and Cape May is just 10 miles away! Bring the entire family for seaside fun, adventure and comfort, or book one of our suites for a quiet romantic getaway.For late fall or early spring beachcombers, our bed and breakfast inn is open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing