We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
83
24
5
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
24
5
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssam's pizzabest pizzarooftop poolhot tubroom key to enternext yeargreat locationocean frontrooms are clean and spaciousplace to staygreat view of the oceanmaid service issenior weekmany yearsnice sizeenjoyed our stayboard walk
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have been vacationing in Wildwood N.J. for over 30 years and we stayed at the Shore Plaza for most of those years up until the fire over 6 years ago. For the past 6 years we motel hopped because we just couldn't find a motel that we felt as comfortable and like family as we felt at the Shore Plaza, every where we went it was like we were just another motel room number. Well finally this year the Shore Plaza Beach Resort Opened!!! We booked room 319 for 7 nights and as we pulled up, there was such excitement in the car. When I opened the lobby door I was welcomed with Rosemary's wonderful smile and open arms !!! What a great feeling!! Everything was fresh and luxurious !! After warm exchanges Rosemary handed us our keys and we were off to our room. When we opened the door we could not believe the size of the room. There were 2 sofa beds with a flat screen t.v. and desk area, we walked up the hallway and there were 2 large seperate bedrooms that also had flat screen t.v.'s 2 large bathrooms, in the front area there was a kitchen with a standard size fridge with a large counter and cabinets that were filled with dishes, bowls, cups, a coffee maker and a toaster the drawers were filled with all the utensils you needed also in that area there was a table and chairs and another sofa bed ( and another flat screen t.v.) and when you opened the blinds you had the view of the ocean. The balcony was also large and right over the boardwalk. This room was amazing!! We had a mixture of family in our room (there were 8 of us ) and we had plenty of space. In the morning we were welcomed by another familiar face Bonnie one of the housekeepers that worked at the old Shore Plaza, the housekeeping staff made sure that we had more than enough supplies each and every day whatever we needed or wanted we had it!! Every time we left or came back to the motel there was a warm welcome with some conversation, Rosemary was so interested in what we had done or where we had eaten and even told a few good family stories while we waited in the lobby for other family members. The night before check out we booked the same room for the end of August and for next year.....no more Motel Hopping for US !!! When we left Rosemary made sure to give a few more huggs with wishing us a safe drive home I have to say it was Great to be back Home!! If you are vacationing in Wildwood N.J. and looking for a Home away from Home kind of Motel the Shore Plaza Beach Resort is definitely the Place to stay!! The Deckers

Room Tip: Ocean Front Rooms are perfect if you want the view of the Ocean and the excitement of the Boardwalk!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just returned from our vacation trip to the Shore Plaza Beach Resort and as soon as we got home we wanted to go right back. This place is awesome!!!! As soon as we arrived at SPBR we were greeted with smiles and warm hello's which made you feel like you were welcomed into their home. The front desk staff were very helpful in helping us discover some of the best places to eat on the island. They are top notch and very friendly. We went with another couple and the room were big and so clean ( I know it just opened up) with plenty of room for everyone. I can not stress how nice this place is. The location is right on top of the worlds best pizza shop (Sam's Pizza) (who also own the hotel). The Pool and hot tub on the roof were relaxing after all day at the beach. NOTHING is better in Wildwood!!! The beds in the rooms were very comfortable, as well as all the sofas and chairs. The view overlooking the boardwalk is the best!! We are already planning 2 more trips before the season is over.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Shore Plaza just reopened this past spring after a devastating fire destroyed it several years ago. The new hotel is simply wonderful: all new, large rooms, and centrally located right in the middle of the boardwalk.
To really experience Wildwood, get one of the several rooms overlooking the Boardwalk. You'll have a great show (people-watching) without paying for the entertainment. The later it gets, the more fun it is to watch.
We'll be regulars here again, just as we were before the fire. We're so glad that it's back.

-Dennis Ryall

Room Tip: Boardwalk-fronting rooms are the best, but there's boardwalk viewing from most all rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this newly renovated hotel. It just reopened in April of this year and we could tell that it was still very fresh with renovations. We picked this hotel for the location and we paid for it, too. This hotel is directly above Sam's Pizza and on the Boardwalk. The hotel is directly across from Mariner's Landing Pier and Curley's famous fries. It was so close to everything and we enjoyed that luxury.

The price we paid per night was very high. The room was large, spacious, and came with a refrigerator. We enjoyed the balcony and the rooftop pool. The parts severely lacking was the sheets, toilet paper, and tissue. They were so cheap. The bed was scratchy because the sheets were so cheap. Just not comfortable. The toilet paper and tissue were so incredibly thin. I figured for the price you paid here even the little things would be nice. They skimped here.

We enjoyed our stay because of the closeness to everything on the Boardwalk. The front desk staff never even cracked a smile. They are the first impression and we weren't impressed by the staff. There was no warmth or friendliness from them. It is a shame because the ladies had every opportinity to return our smiles.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank mdyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

The rooms were large, clean, and quiet, and the hotel is conveniently located.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestLawnWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews