We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shore Plaza Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband, and son (age 13), and I stayed the weekend for Wildwood's AAU Basketball Tournament. Another family with two 13 year old boys also stayed. Check in was quick and polite. The lobby, halls, and rooms were very clean. We stayed in room 416 and loved the location. I believe most rooms have a great view of the boardwalk and a partial ocean view.
The beds were comfortable and the sheets were not scratchy as someone had posted.
The pool and jacuzzi was clean and there were many loungers to relax on. The location was perfect with the beach, rides, and water park directly across from the hotel.
The hotel sits above Wildwood's famous Sam's pizza. Don't miss the Hot Spot a few buildings down, their prices were surprisingly reasonable and the food was good, we enjoyed their early morning breakfast and late night sandwiches.
We never felt like we were being stalked or mistreated. And please keep in mind our group had three 13 year old boys. As far as needing a room key to enter the building at night, it was reassuring to see that extra step for security. You can always ask for an extra key.
Honestly we were never fans of Wildwood. We always stayed in Ocean City, but this hotel we bring us back again!
Thank you Shore Plaza for a great weekend!

Room Tip: Room 416 great partial view of the boardwalk and ocean. Directly across from elevator and on the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rudygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you want to stay at a place in Wildwood that is in the middle of it all then this is the place for you... We do not have enough good things to say about this place..Very Clean, so very convenient, very courteous and what strikes me the most in loving this place is the safety factor.. They know every single guest that is checked into the resort and always greeted with a smile PLUS (here is the safety factor) after a certain time in the evening, you need your room key to enter back into the resort.. Now being on the boardwalk in one of the busiest sections this is a piece of mind knowing that it is not accessible to anyone other than the people occupying the resort.. They have someone on service at the desk 24 hours... Service is always pleasant.. Our girls (who are teenagers) are 4th generation to stay at this place.. When the unfortunate situation happened years ago with the fire... we were without the Shore plaza for a few years,we tried other places we will not mention the names one was a total disaster the other place was okay, the owners were wonderful but just not the same as The Shore Plaza. Then when we heard they were back we were so ecstatic. This past week we FINALLY decided it is time to go back and see what it is like. We are so glad we did... I dont know why we waited soooo long to return. We waited too long to return.. It is like our home away from home.. After all the years Rosemary remembered us... How wonderful is that!!! We already booked for next year..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmkoboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

i just got home from the shore plaza today 5/26/14 biggest mistake ever and wouldnt even stay here for free.from the minute i walked in with their rudeness till the minute i left they watch every move you make you cant even get in the front door without a key card which makes it hard when you have more than two people staying with you.the small pool and just the down right rudeness and its not cheap you would expect to be treated a little nicer for the money and let me not forget their stuckup and stalk everything you do worst place ever this place sucks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosemary z, Owner at Shore Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi Jen,
So sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are a motel located directly on the boardwalk, the doors are locked after a certain time to keep non registered guests out of the building, we are vigilant of who is entering the motel as any motel owner does. In fact, many guests say they love the fact that strangers cannot enter the premises. A guest has a key card and are told at check in to use your key card to enter. If you needed an extra key card one would have been given to you. Our guests love the fact that they are staying in a safe environment and our main priority is the security and privacy of our guests. If you do not like the fact that we are vigilant of who enters our building, we are sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our family stayed at the original Shore Plaza for many years. Love Rosemary, Sam and family and they have always been accomodating, friendly and ran the original with loving care. We were devastated when the old place burned. Our family booked this past July (2013) three ocean front suites and we were SO happy to be there!

The suites we stayed in (third floor ocean front) are absolutely huge. PLENTY of room for luggage, kids, groceries, etc. and then some. Beds are pretty good and the entire hotel is spotless, which are both unlike other Wildwood hotels. Showers out back to wash off the sand come in handy. Balconies are large and well-equipped for seating & Morey's-watching.

Location is outstanding - steps to the boards and beach. We actually did not use the pool except once since we prefer the beach, but it seemed fine and adequate with plenty of lounges.

All in all, the Shore Plaza is THE place to stay in Wildwood. We are excited to have it back, and since we are 5th-generation of Wildwood lovers, we have found our vacation "home". Thanks, Rosemary and family, for giving us all back our favorite place ever!!!

Room Tip: Ocean-front suites are more than large - 2 full bedrooms, a HUGE living room with pull-out sofa, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patzona31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

my daughter and i just got back from our mini vaca at this hotel and we loved it. from the moment we got there monday thru leaving today, the front desk staff was warm, welcoming and answered all our concerns, questions and gave us ideas for breakfast etc. the pool being up on the 4th floor was fantastic. no onlookers or traffic. very relaxing and pool was warm and area very clean. the added bathrooms up there were a surprise. no dragging water back to your room. if you want to be right on the boardwalk this is the place for you to stay. you cannot get much closer then their location. Being newly renovated our room was beautiful did not feel like a "shore" stay at all. Close the curtains and the room was dark and peaceful even though you are right on the boardwalk. we will be staying here again and also will be telling anyone going to wildwood to give it a try. thanks for making our mother/daughter vaca. wonderful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laura z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Was kind of put off by the newness of the Shore Plaza when I was watching it get rebuilt during the winter and spring of 2011-2012. I thought, "Oh no, the old Doo-Wop, with some Art Deco flair, Shore Plaza that burned down in 2005 is being ruined by this new version". I was still kind of indifferent to the new Shore Plaza when my wife and I stayed there for the first time on the first weekend of June 2012. The stay was perfect, but it still wasn't the real Wildwood that I had pictured in my head.

We decided to come back this June for Father's Day weekend and now this past weekend, August 23-25. We're now totally in love with the new Shore Plaza and think that the old Shore Plaza was good for what Wildwood used to be, but not for 21st century comfort while staying in Wildwood.

This hotel, cannot call it a motel, makes your stay a pleasure. With the elevator, the rooftop pool and hot tub and the excellent staff, you feel like you're in heaven. The Shore Plaza is right on the boardwalk at the border of North Wildwood and Wildwood and is right next door to Gateway 26 and Surfside Pier. What's even better is that it's directly over the best pizza place in the world, Sam's Pizza Palace. Both it and the Shore Plaza are owned and operated by the same family.

Some people have complained about the elevator speed, but that's just the way a hydraulic powered elevator works. Beats using the stairs to haul your bags and stuff up and down like you have to at most of the older motels in the Wildwoods! Towels are provided for the pool and there are soda and ice machines on each floor. There are washing machines located on the 3rd floor, too.

This is now our first choice of stay in the Wildwoods. Make it yours, too, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: The front rooms are the best, but are really tailored to large families and are priced accordingly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmokyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had an excellent stay at the hotel! The front desk women were awesome and kind. My wife, who is a stickler for clean rooms and showers was surprised by the cleaniness of the place; pool, shower, room, hallways, everything!! Great location - steps from the Boardwalk and parking. Room rates were reasonable. Be prepared to wait for the elevator, since it does take some time to reach you when there are a number of people on each floor trying to catch it. My one recommendation is that there should be a hose in the back for washing down the beach chairs and umbrellas. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerrariFanNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
1.1 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
1.1 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#6 of 75 in Wildwood
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#16 of 75 in Wildwood
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brittany Motel
Brittany Motel
#8 of 75 in Wildwood
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Plaza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Plaza Beach Resort

Address: Boardwalk and 26th Street, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Number of rooms: 57

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing