We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good year after year”
Review of Duffer's

Duffer's
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Restaurant featuring Home Made Ice Cream. Serving Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Snacks. Lively family oriented atmosphere with Mini Golf and Game Room with Prize Center.
Chadds Ford, Pa.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Consistently good year after year”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here since I was a kid, I took my own kids here growing up and I continue to come here every time I am in the Wildwoods, which is often because my family has property here. The food is very good and the ice cream sundaes are the best in Wildwood. It is decorated to be an old fashioned ice cream parlor, but it is not like the place is in disrepair. It is always clean and kept up. Parking is a challenge but it has been forever. It is in an area where there is no room to grow. As far as being pricey, that I will agree with however they are pretty much on par with every other restaurant here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcmmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    158
    39
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nighttime treat”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Can't beat delicious ice cream from this local hangout. Parking can be tough. But worth the walk. Enjoy

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yes, yummy ice cream, but not perfection”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The packed parking lot and long lines outside enticed us to try Duffer's. We went for dinner AND ice cream (family of four). OK, the "Freedom Fries" (a skillet of perfectly fried curly fries smothered in melted cheese and chopped bacon) IS ridiculously delicious, but should probably not be ingested by anyone over 19 (making my husband and I WAY over the limit). Other than that the food was just ok (don't order kids' mac and cheese for your poor child as we did, it's tasteless). My 'turtle' sundae was yummy and my son's "Chocolate, Chocolate, Chocolate" sundae was...well, full of chocolate (and yummy). (But buyer beware: $8.50 per sundae!!) But my daughter's mint chocolate chip scoop was the bright green kind (ie, fake) and waaaay sugary for my taste. Plus the place is pretty cramped and draped with flowery old-fashioned decor. I know it's meant to be a quaint, old-time ice cream parlor look, but it was a little too sticky sweet for me. Think we'll try another ice cream place next time we're in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Duffer's is a must for us every year. The kids love the games, mini golf and their food served on Frisbees

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Summerfun7-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cool place for family,”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

first time here , had ice cream hot fudge sunday, it was good but not great, the whip cream is to whipped its close to being butter, to thick had this kind of whip cream in fl and it tasted the same , the sunday i had was more hot fudge than ice cream , and its not cheap here also, plenty of ice cream places to go to besides here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dycal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duffer's also viewed

Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood Crest, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Duffer's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing