We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair Price, very clean room & close to the Boardwalk & Morey Pier's...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Sands Motel
Ranked #46 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Pennsville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fair Price, very clean room & close to the Boardwalk & Morey Pier's...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

It was our 21st Wedding Anversary. We just stayed one night. The maid was great keeping the rest room clean(clean when we arrived) Great room price for being-main season & AC worked great. Downfall was, the TV didn't go up to loud couldn't hear it in the bed, uncomfortable bed & guests were WAY to loud outside our room until 2 in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunkyTownWildwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    14
    8
    18
See reviews for
38
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Location was great, air conditioner worked great. For this price though I would expect more. I thought I was in a bad sci-Fi movie and got transported back to 1953. Rooms were clean I guess , the pool did look really nice. Rooms were really in need of an update though. They could pull of a 50's theme but it wood require a Lot of work. Shower was terrible and water went from cold to hot without a warning and the shower head was all busted. The toilet was something. Flush that baby and it created a whirling vortex that any hurricane would be proud of. I'm afraid if you had a body part in there when you flushed it that ot would suck you tight down. All in all a place to crash but it should be about $50 bucks

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Interwoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

If you don't want to stay in a motel loaded with rowdy, loud, disrespectful, and rude teenagers stay away from this dump.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachlover8287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovethebeach3710, Manager at Ocean Sands Motel, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Our hotel policy for Memorial Day weekend is any guest checking in must be over twenty five years of age. Memorial Day weekend is a teenager friendly weekend and we at the Ocean Sands try the best we can to keep our hotel family friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wildwood hotels

Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

My wife and I took our grandchildren down for the weekend of 5/21 - 5/23. We found the place online and they had a great rate of $74 per night for a 1 room eff. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the towels were soft. The room was newly painted. Unfortunately it was the scouts beach jam and also senior week. There was one incident with some seniors fighting but the people running the motel took care of it right away. If your looking for a nice clean typical wildwood motel then you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Stayed there for the fall car show on the boardwalk, have stayed there a few years now. This year they have new management. When a few of us returned to the hotel with our classic cars from the boardwalk no parking spaces at the hotel. They were sold to the parking lot directly behind the Ocean Sands when the lot was filled. These are not everyday cars that you would want to park anywhere website states one car per unit should be changed to maybe one car per unit if the spot is not sold . Another rooms garbage was not taken out they had 2 bags of garbage in there room, when she went into the office she was told to put it on top of the dumpster the guest refused. Remember the sour beer face well the manager had it.
Good luck if you stay there!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cargal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

We had 2 rooms for 2 nights at this hotel. We were promised 1 room with a kitchen and one standard room. At checkin, we were assigned 2 standard rooms. After some effort, the issue was resolved.

The location is about 1/2 block to the boardwalk, very close to Morey's Pier. They have a decent looking pool, although we didn't use it. The way the room windows are angled affords some privacy while sitting on the balcony (which was nice).

Inside, the rooms are in desperate need of rennovations. Bathrooms are original (installed in late 1950's?), bedroom furniture appears to be from the early 1980's. Odd plumbing /eletrical problems abound. Believe it or not, the carpeting appeared to have been installed within the last 4 or 5 years. Beds were just okay. Fortunately both the mattress and boxspring were encased to protect from anything living inside them.

Overall, it was barely accetable. A few times i debated telling them we had to leave for another hotel....but alas I made it!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Me215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovethebeach3710, Manager at Ocean Sands Motel, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
What our guest forgot to inform you during the review of our property is that the guest booked and paid for our two of our one room motel rooms. They had requested to be close to each other. The only rooms we had available at the time was a one room motel room and a one room efficiency. The women at the front desk upgraded one of the rooms for them so that they could be near each other. The day before the guest checked in a room cancelled next to there one room motel room. So upon check in the guest received two one room motel rooms, that the guest booked and paid for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

A friend and I spent the July 4th weekend at the Ocean Sands in Wildwood, NJ. We arrived several hours early and were lucky enough to find that our room was "ready." The motel is very basic - no luxuries - just a room with a bed.

The bathroom was dirty. There was a brown filth ring around the tub and urine on the underside of the toilet. We cleaned the bathroom ourselves with Clorox Cleanups. It didn't take a lot of scrubbing, just wiping and the ring was gone. Obviously, someone was just too lazy to do it. Being that it was a holiday weekend, we didn't have convenient alternatives for lodging - so we stayed. However, the initial impression was a lasting impression!

Pros: The good part is that the AC was cold, the water was hot, and the pool was clean.
The boardwalk was close - only one block away and in the middle of everything including the water park.

Cons: The room wasn't clean. The linen was never changed. The bathroom was dirty.

Summary: It wasn't clean, neither the living area or bathroom. The service was poor because it wasn't clean. The front desk people were nice, but I'm more interested in the servicing of my room. The location was great! I was very pleased and a one minute walk to the street let us have a great view of the July 4th fireworks, not the 10:30pm nightly fireworks. The value was fair considering it was a holiday. Normally, though, I wouldn't pay that price. The room was small and adequate, just not clean.

My travel philosophy for non-romantic trips is: a room is just a place to lay your head. Travel to see the town not the room. If you share this philosophy I recommend this spot.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulatlantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Caprice Motel
Caprice Motel
#57 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarem Happy Days
Clarem Happy Days
#37 of 76 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Key West Hotel
Key West Hotel
#5 of 16 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#11 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brittany Motel
Brittany Motel
#9 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Motel

Property: Ocean Sands Motel
Address: 3710 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4714
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Sands is convenient to the new convention center, restaurants and entertainment. We are just steps from the beach and Wildwood's famous boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing